We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great feed!”
Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 967 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For over four decades we have welcomed visitors and friends from around the world to these hanging gardens of Kuta, offering them fine dining and calming respite from the ever-increasing hustle and bustle beyond our walls. Our current menu includes several house favourites that remain as popular today as when we introduced them in 1973.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a great feed!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had our family of 12 here to celebrate a 50th birthday and the staff were amazing.
They organised the most moist and delicious cake for us which we were so impressed with.
The food was devine, great prices and such a gorgeous setting.
Everything is clean and tidy, including the bathrooms which were second to none.
Definately recommend this restaurant to all our family and friends heading over to Bali.
If you can get a pinal colada, they come in a carved out coconut shell with amazing detail!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hannricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    532
    145
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pleasant find in a small lane”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

was looking through the visitors book and saw an ad. The car dropped us at the main road. We had to walk through a lane of shops and behold there it was a doorway into the busy outdoor restaurant. We came here for the Rice Table for 2 pax only and we were very satisfied with the efficient service and ambience although it was crowded. The food is splendid.

There are mossies everywhere in Bali. So we took pre-caution. Not an issue

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hideaway gem”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The restaurant is tucked away, but when you are in the place it's really nice the food is great and you can sit in by our own private seating area. Good value for money, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For Bali, Good honest food”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

flavours were very good and steak was just like a good Stetsons steak back in Australia. And it was authentic, so who's to complain about $20 steak as a one off in Bali! Chicken provincial good flavours, chicken overlooked though.All round I would definantly go back. Comfortable quiet atmosphere. beautiful gardens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Slipping....needs a new menu”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been going to Poppies for over 20 yrs. We go every trip to Bali, but this time it just didn't do it for me and the wife.

The menu is dated and the food so so.

It really needs to move to catch up with it's rivals.

When we first used to go here, you struggled to get in, now there are just a smattering of people, when other restaurants are full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing