We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“discreet location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 944 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lombok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“discreet location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

located on poppies lane 1, it is a secret green garden restaurant. it is a typical balinese restaurant with more of western cuisine. However staffs are wearing traditional balinese cloths which keep reminding us where we are.. We decided to have the local special, suckling pork, which is quite tasty. draught bintang beer is available which was a great mixed..apple pie was not up to my taste though, too thick dough with less sweet apple, not a correct combination for me, but the banana fritters was fried in a nicely brown color with ripe banana inside, delicious.. will definitely return again in future

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rk-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    511
    139
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kateineholm
2 reviews
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good restaurant with beautiful scenery.

We hade the rijstaffel which was a great amount of food for 2, only for 239 000. The rijstaffel includes 6 different skewers with peanut sauce, 9 different dishes (with shrimps, beef, chicken, lamb, squid and vegetables - something for everyone) and 2 huge servings of rice. This was a splendid way to try the Indonesian cuisine. We absolutely loved the food.

The service was very good and they even gave us free desserts.

We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Karlthulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Kuta, Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went here with some friends. I was so impressed with the Garden in this restaurant, as well as the service and Menu. We chose to have the 'Rijsttafel' or Rice Table. According to the menu, this selection is a ....

"Magnificent Feast of a small tasty portions of Indonesian Delights from all around the Est India. This was the colonial Dutch way to sample the best food of Indonesia"
The price is IDR 239,000 for 2 persons and add IDR 119,000 for each additional person.
Indeed it was a feast for us. The selection was like a heaven of food for us. No regrets. The menu have extensive range of choices for all guests.

To get here is a bit tricky though, The restaurant is located somewhere in the middle of small alley where taxis do not want to come in. So you will have to walk from either end of the road, but not far, actually, besides you get to see the surroundings. The washrooms/toilets is the cleanest I have ever seen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden oasis to eat in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited Poppies early in the evening as we had a 3 yr to keep happy. Set in a wonderful garden setting with water features this is certainly an oasis to dine in away from the madness of Kuta. As we were eating early service was excellent and meals came out quickly which is always welcomed when dining with children. Food was of good quality and tasty. Not as cheap as other places in Kuta but well worth the visit. Will return one day

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gonefarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bad SLOW SLOW service. Food: SO-SO and relatively expensive. Bad Value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were a party of 8 (5 20-27 year olds - one who was pregnant), my husband and I + our 11 year old son.

This was our first night in Bali (not mine but for the rest of my family) so I thought it would be good to introduce them to something Balinese.

The service was so incredibly slow that my pregnant daughter started to feel sick from lack of food in her system.

We had to practically crash tackle them 3 times just to get them to take our order and then we had to wait for such a long time to get our first course (we had to keep reminding them about this too - and the place was only half full). We even had to sit at the bar a few times to try to catch someones eye to ask them to take our order/ask them where our food was.

We've been to Fiji on many occasions so are quite familiar with "Fiji Time" but this place took the cake. Not sure if they just didn't have enough staff or what the story was but it was really bad.

It was so embarrassing and really disappointing.

Go somewhere else, it appears that they are resting on their reputation - which I believe is not too good anymore.

There are better places around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YummyMummyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We very much regret that we did not live up to your expectations that night, and fully understand your disappointment.

We have looked into this serious complaint, and have unearthed some details concerning the evening you dined with us at table 28. Our slowness to take your order, and then to deliver your first course is unacceptable, and for this we apologise. In our defence we are only able to offer the fact that your daughter did not order a starter, and ordered lobster, which does take some time to prepare, and as others in your group did order starters they were served first, along with your child, which might have contributed to your daughter's added discomfort.

We continue to work hard on problems with speed of service, following our recent kitchen re-design, and we most certainly are not resting on any reputation, as to do so would obviously be suicidal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing