We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing garden setting and Indonesian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 949 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For over four decades we have welcomed visitors and friends from around the world to these hanging gardens of Kuta, offering them fine dining and calming respite from the ever-increasing hustle and bustle beyond our walls. Our current menu includes several house favourites that remain as popular today as when we introduced them in 1973.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing garden setting and Indonesian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this restaurant on the very last night of our trip, after hearing many good things about it. I wish I found it earlier in our trip!

You walk in off the busy market lined street through what could easily be a portal that takes you to a Balinese garden paradise. it was very quiet, green, leafy and relaxed. Winding pebbled pathways dotted with tables hidden throughout the garden made any table a private getaway. My husband and I chose a table over looking the pond for dinner.

We tried the star item on the menu, the dinner that allows you to sample each of the best of their dishes, an Indonesian/Balinese feast. It came out on a lazy susan style spinning board with around 8 dishes, it was plenty of food for the two of us, we were very full afterwards, satisfied. It came with a side of friend rice and boiled rice, and also came with kebab meats on coals. Was very good! Presentation was amazing, we couldnt help but take a thousand instagram pics and sharing with our friends back home before eating :)

Overall, an amazing dinner and I am sad we found this gem on the night we were going home, id love to go again. It was a wonderful way to end our Indonesian adventure trip, though.

Minor issues - a few mozzies around the pond once the sun sets so remember the aeroguard, and during a relatively quite time before it got busy, my hubby tried to flag the attention of a waitress who was not busy for about 5 mins trying to order himself another drink. She must not have noticed him even though she was looking our way and eventually someone came over. Otherwise, service was good and staff friendly. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheekyChops_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    517
    140
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every time we go to Bali we visit this restaurant at least a couple of times during our stay.

The food and staff are exceptional.

You must try one of their famous pina coladas they are heaven in a coconut.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No trip to Bali complete without going to Poppies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited Poppies twice during our recent holiday , we have some fussy teenagers and it was a favourite of all of ours! Cheap as chips to eat in Bali and Poppies is just the same .You would never imagine a beautiful restaurant behind that brick wall and is quiet even though all the bikes are buzzing up the lane!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I always go to Poppies when I visit Bali.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My holiday in Bali would not be complete without a visit to Poppies Restaurant in Kuta.
It's hidden away off a busy little street and when you walk into this pretty garden restaurant after a hot and noisy time shopping in crazy Kuta you feel like you have stepped I to a hidden paradise! I love this place and wish we had something to rival it in Queensland.
I have been there many times since 2005 and first discovering this gem and its never crowded or teeming with people. Maybe I should keep my mouth shut and not be telling you all about this place to keep it this way!
The food is always excellent, service is too. The menu hasn't changed at all but I'm so glad as I always love their Nasi Campur , which is a traditional Balinese dish that gives you a taste of lots of different things. Some places have the larger version of this called a Rijistaffel and is great to share. My husband had the fish and we shared some Spring rolls which are called Lumpia .
One of the other reasons I go there is for their world famous ( so they claim) Piña Colada.
I don't care if its only lunchtime I'm having one ! They are served in a carved coconut In The shape of a Barong. Yes I do think its the best piña colada I have ever had.
Poppies has it all, pretty garden setting so its a lovely cool place to sit and relax, great food and service and the best piña colada !
Yes the prices are a bit expensive by Bali standards, but its still cheaper than Australia for what you get and well worth it i think.
Don't miss the opportunity to visit Poppies while you are in Bali, I wish my photos would load from my IPad so you could see now beautiful it is......oh well guess you are going to have to visit soon and see for yourself!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debinqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poppies is poppies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Possibly the oldest haunting ground for veteran bali travellers. Still greqt meqls for great value. Still a bit dark though, but not horrible by any means. I just love the seafood platter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jono H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing