We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice garden restaurant”
Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 967 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For over four decades we have welcomed visitors and friends from around the world to these hanging gardens of Kuta, offering them fine dining and calming respite from the ever-increasing hustle and bustle beyond our walls. Our current menu includes several house favourites that remain as popular today as when we introduced them in 1973.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice garden restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

it has a nice garden restaurant and the deco of the place is good too.
the chicken liver is special but i think the other food could be a bit better even tho they are all acceptable.
The location is a bit off the main street and it took us a bit time to find it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sleepymice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    532
    145
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“beautiful food & surrounds”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I first visited poppies 20 years ago! the food, service and setting are still as delightful now as they were then.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mim1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with authentic Balinese food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away in an alley on poppies street is this beautiful garden restaurant with authentic Balinese cuisine. We had only Balinese food through out our trip and these guys had the best food at the best prices. If you're in the kuta/legian area, do not miss this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashisharun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is Everything!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is great the food was beautifull a little more expensive than some other restaurants in Kuta but it was well worth it!!! Its a very quirky place where you sitting in like a "backyard" type of atmosphere definatley worth trying!!! Will be back for sure!!!
Try the PINA COLADA.... The presentation will suprise you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJHassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Behind a small wooden door in Poppies Lane lies this wonderful hidden restaurant. We were delighted to find Poppies again after dining here 14 years ago! Tables are scattered throughout the garden for a serene dining experience. Extensive menu with very reasonable prices. The service was excellent despite being busy. This is a popular restaurant so arrive early or book ahead (online). Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing