We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 949 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For over four decades we have welcomed visitors and friends from around the world to these hanging gardens of Kuta, offering them fine dining and calming respite from the ever-increasing hustle and bustle beyond our walls. Our current menu includes several house favourites that remain as popular today as when we introduced them in 1973.
Eersel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nice small garden restaurant,after walked in Poppies 1 (very small street,sometimes u must stop to walk if motorcycle come :p) its like little oase place for u. Good food and price not expensive. I could say enough cheap compared w other restaurants in Bali.
I eat "tongseng" and myboyf eat "soto ayam" all good included drinks. Hope someday I can back to there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    517
    140
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

very good location!is near kuta beach!very taste traditional food!the only probled is rats...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIMITRIOSMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great escape from kuta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Took a while to find it in the alleys even with a map but it was a great retreat from the craziness of the town. Good place to catch a Break. Prices were reasonable the calamari was average but the garlic bread delicious. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Heard so much about Poppies Restuarant but was disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My sister in law raved about Poppies Restaurant and we had it on our 'must do' list. The setting is amazing - a true oasis in the middle of an incredibly busy Gang. The service was average and the food was OK/good but not as amazing as we had hoped. Pretty expensive too (relatively speaking). Perhaps our expectations were too high? Would I go there again when we visit Kuta next year because we were so impressed? Probably not.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inedible food, undrinkable drinks:”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We are so disappointed to write, but surely feedback can only help Poppies Restaurant. We stayed at Poppies Bungalows & were delighted to find the lush & pretty Poppies Restaurant a few doors away. My partner had eaten there before & commented that it used to be very busy & he had never seen it so quiet. I ordered a Banana Daiquiri which tasted odd. We ordered Nasi Goreng & Skewered Prawns - but both dishes were tasteless. We arent fussy eaters - in Bali we'd eat & enjoy Nasi Goreng anywhere but not here. It wasn't expensive, but life's too short for bad food.

We think Poppies Restarant needs a new Chef. We hope this feedback helps them.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing