We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry”
Review of Ketupat Restaurant

Ketupat Restaurant
Ranked #728 of 967 Restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Resturant
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sorry”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had heard and read good things about this place. Tried to contact them to see if we needed to make a reservation but were ignored.
We wont be trying again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonPhotographer, General Manager at Ketupat Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were unable to make a booking with us. Our staff are currently being trained in English. Should you ever come back to Bali we will offer you a complimentary cocktail. Kindest Ketupat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    12
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow Service...over priced”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ambiance was excellent, spacious,lots of carved wood,very traditional style, it is also bed n breakfast, it has several rooms at the back, got entertainment(guest can sing if they like).
Service was slow, looks like they don't have enough waitress, we ordered nasi campur,it didn't taste good, we are local people so we know what nasi campur supposed to taste like.Price wise, it was expensive for local standard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swancity88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant, Great Atmosphere, Lots of Mosquitos”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I visited Ketupat last nite with friends. It was my first time there, and I was surprised by the setting, so many carved wood, from table, chair, cabana, everything.
We arrived at 8pm sunday night, and the place was empty. Only 2 tables were occupied.
They have lots and lots of choices of Indonesian cuisine. Much more than most restaurants in Bali.
We didn't have to wait long for our food. I ordered jackfruit curry with ketupat. It was good, the portion was normal.
They also have a small playground just behind the restaurant, its good for the kids.
The only bad thing I can say about the restaurant is the mosquitos, just so many of them, so don't forget to apply mosquito repellent if you go there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F_E_Mayleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Outstanding gado gado!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The restaurant was recommended by our chaffeur as we didn't want to eat hotel food ( Laguna resort) . We ordered nasi campur, gado gado and vegetarian spring rolls. To our surprise, the gado gado was really delicious! However, I could taste the MSG in the nasi campur. Ketupat was the best restaurant we had in Bali. We will surely go there again if we go to Bali!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmyBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Building; Decent Food; Average Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

[NOTE: We really don't appreciate Indonesian/Balinese food.] We offered to take our Balinese friend and family out to eat anywhere of their choosing. (We don't eat red meat, so that limits some of the choices.) They took us here. We had no idea what to expect and as it was their choice; we had no chance to read TA before arriving. The building is stunning; hate to think about how much rainforest was devastated to create this beautiful architecture. The inside has some cases filled with silver jewelry for sale. (Different- but not our taste.) The serving staff spoke reasonable English, but had short memories. (The bill was to go to us, not our friends which lead to a fast snap of the arm when the bill went to them.) The menu is long so come prepared: drinks (alcoholic or not) // noodles; rice; meat // ala carte or platters. Then narrow it down from there. (“Rice table” requires at least one day’s notice and a minimum of 4 people. This is really something to consider.) Drinks were as usual highly priced. One of us only had water (in a glass) which was charged- double price for half as much as a bottle from a mini-mart. We had two appetizers: corn fritters (nice, but a very small portion); some filled puffs (OK, but quite oily). The locals had Nasi Goreng Kampung (they are simple folks), which was presented nicely and the same size as a local warung portion. They had no comments. The teenagers had platter dishes (Nasi Kuning & Ketupat Lebaran) which was only half finished by them. I'm not sure if this is reflection on the food or simply being teenagers. We had one order of Mie Goreng Bedugul. As we live in Taiwan, these noodles were not tasty to us at all. (It is not only this restaurant as we didn't find any noodles we liked while visiting.) The last entree was Wajan Sawah, a roast duck dish. The duck was overcooked and a minimally-sized piece. The dishes inside this platter, including quail eggs, were tasty. We also ordered two side dishes of vegetables: fern tips and green beans with bean sprouts. The bean dish was good. The fern tips were good but had a covering of a local semi-spicy sauce which covered the taste of the vegetable which might be the local way but sort of defeated our purposes in ordering vegetables. The platter dishes are large and can more than fill an average eater. It was a mistake to order appetizers and sides of vegetables with these platters. (What wasn’t finished became take away and served as our lunch the next day.) The food is served attractively and all of the surroundings add to that. There was also live music for a birthday when we were there, which added to the atmosphere. This restaurant sits on a property that also serves as a hotel-like complex with an inviting looking swimming pool. The cost is high by local standards, but by international standards this was a tremendous bargain. You have servers dressed in traditional Indonesian style inside a beautiful building (if you can get past that rainforest issue); food served attractively at a beautifully hand-carved table (rainforest!) with live music; fairly priced- thus 4 stars. Please note that like most places we ate at in Bali, MSG must be used in the cooking. We paid for it the next day. If you are MSG sensitive, you might want to have this printed out in Indonesian and carry it with you. We will on future trips. This was the only big night out we had on our trip and overall it was quite good. We would return *with* our MSG note in hand.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jashock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketupat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ketupat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing