We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambience”
Review of Ketupat Restaurant

Ketupat Restaurant
Ranked #723 of 967 Restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Resturant
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We found this late in our stay at Kuta and wished we had found it earlier as it was within walking distance from our hotel (Grand Kuta). We had seen it earlier in the day, liked the menu and so had the taxi drop us off there after a day trip. The setting was just amazing at night though it was nice during the day. The lighting, pool, and entertainment all contributed to this amazing, romantic ambience.

The food was nice too and beautifully presented - nasi padang or one of those which comes in this huge platter with bits around the rice mound.

We had a lovely time with our two boys (4 and 10). The entertainment was a bit loud but I gather they were trying to create atmosphere as the patronage was rather low. Despite that, we loved the experience and enjoyed the entertainment though at one point, my husband froze when he was asked to go up to sing at my son's request. :)

Sitting next to the pool, eating and chatting .... worth a visit! I believe the prices were reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    12
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely setting and a good meal ...”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had been to the old Ketupat (on Jalan Legian) on several occasions previously and had generally been satisfied with the experience. On this occasion we went to the Ketupat on Jalan Dewi Sri (Sunset Road) as the Jalan Legian restaurant has closed.

The setting of the Sunset Road Ketupat is lovely: a large teak pavilion from Java situated in front of an inviting pool with tables scattered around the courtyard. It really is a very beautiful oasis in an industrial and commercial area.

The menu at Ketupat is extensive - to say the least. It is difficult to make a choice there are so many options but the task is made easier by photographs of each dish together with good descriptions of the components. Our starters of curry puffs and spring rolls were piping hot and very good. Our various mains including crumbed calamari, sarong prawns and variations of nasi goreng were also all very pleasant.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the entertainment - a duo - were pleasant. Ketupat is definitely ed Bali familya place for a relaxed family meal rather than for a night of fine dining. We will return to Ketupat in the near future with our extended Bali family - they will love it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

With a menu as ambitious as Ketupat's, it's no wonder they don't execute it well. If you want a crash-course is pretty much all typical Indonesian dishes, it's there, at least to get an idea of how good it could be. Portions were small, prices not especially good, but not expensive, either. I don't think I would bother returning.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSkiSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The food array is good. delicious and superb ambience

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ida87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and setting, great menu, will revisit on our next trip”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We visited Ketupat Restaurant (Jl Dewi Sri) in Jan 2012 and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and our entire evening. We had previously dined at Ketupat when it had a second restaurant in Jl Legian, so we knew what to expect with the amazing menu and the beautiful atmosphere around the pool. Reading the menu itself it quite something, and there is always another dish we want to try so we will just have to go back again and again! The staff at Ketaput (Jl Dewi Sri) were excellent and their customer service was second to none with minimal wait for our meal. It was such an amazing evening, really enjoyed it! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eccythump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketupat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ketupat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing