We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mick, Adelaide. S.A.”
Review of Masa Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masa Inn
Ranked #59 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mick, Adelaide. S.A.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Have stayed at the Massa Inn several times. It is a very freindly hotel, cleanand serves a great breakfast It is the best value in or around Poppies. Trnport can be arranged by the staff. There is agreat laundry opposite the hotel. There are two chemist shops within 100 mtrs.

Room Tip: If you are with a family or group. Choose the front area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    165
    50
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
88
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We booked Masa Inn after reading the good reviews but we were disappointed. We stayed in the family room (right above the reception) for 2 nights in June. The room had a double bed and two single beds. Air conditions were working well but the room including the bathroom was dirty. We found a dead cockroach in the bathroom. On the next morning, we found another cockroach but this one was alive, crawling around in the bathroom. There were two chairs and a table on the balcony but they were also covered with dust. We had to use a towel to cover it before sitting on it. Towels and bed linens were old and yellowish. The pools were nice and breakfast was average. As the reception was next to the lane with many shops, we did not get any quality sleep as we were awaken by noises and people laughing loudly in the middle of the night. Service of staff was good. Overall we would have enjoy our stay if we are given a cleaner room and a room away from the reception.

Room Tip: Never get the rooms above the Reception !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

JBR Family of 4 travelling on a budget ( 2 adults, 2 boys aged 13 & 11)

We have just returned from 19 wonderful nights in Bali. Having been there last year we weren't planning on going back again this year however managed to take advantage of a slip up in the Virgin Airlines system and jagged Business Class tickets from Hobart to Bali for $81 return! Thanks so much Virgin Airways. What an experience that was too. Kids will never want to travel cattle class ever again!

Last year we had 3 nights Kuta at Hard Rock Hotel, 3 nights at Tanis Villas on Nusa Lembongan, 3 nights Narasoma in Ubud and finished it off with 10 nights at Club Med. It was an awesome holiday and thoroughly enjoyed every minute at each hotel, however this year we needed to travel on a stricter budget being that it was an unplanned holiday, but one that we couldn't say no to.

Trip Advisor was a great help in helping to decide on where to go this time and we picked some different places which I will detail below. I will try and make it brief but with 19 days of adventure there is a lot to tell. If you would like any further info about anything please ask.

The dollar is absolutely fantastic at the moment and made everything so much cheaper than last year. We changed most of our money at the Money Changer near Bemo Corner (you can find the details on balibestratte.com) They are very professional and we felt safe and comfortable with them. The rate averaged around 10800 rupiah to the AUD. Don't fall for changing for the better rates at the other shops. We heard so many ways that they rip you off it's just not worth it.


First Stop - Kuta
4 nights at Masa Inn, Poppies 1, Kuta. Absolutely fantastic. For $85 per night including breakfast, our family room was pretty basic but had everything we needed. 2 x king size beds, airconditioning, cable tv and best of all you just walked out of your room and the pool was straight there. Masa Inn has 2 pools, the front one is near the entrance and the 2nd is at the rear and is large and a perfect temperature. Lots of lounges around the pool and it became a social area to catch up with other travellers and hear about their day. There was one night that a few young guys decided to have an all nighter. They staggered in to Masa Inn about 5am and decided it might be a good time for a swim. Their voices weren't the quietest and did awake me up but the rest of the family didn't hear them. We really enjoyed the location of Masa Inn. Most times the taxi wouldn't take us up Poppies Lane so they dropped us on either the beach end or Jl Legian end and it was only a 5 minute walk so really not an issue.

Kuta days spent:-
Kids had surfing lesson with Andy at Kuta Beach. $10 for an hour lesson. You can find him on the beach exactly in front of the Hard Rock Hotel purple surfboard which is outside the entrance to the hotel. Whilst the kids were surfing I was enjoying myself with a massage, manicure and pedicure and buying dresses and Bintang tank tops. All at the same time! Hubbie was enjoying himself with a nice cold Bintang!
The boys tried to surf a couple more times but there were huge seas so after a few big dumps that was it. Still gave Andy some money for his time but he understood. Felt sorry for the beach sellers at this time as for about 7 days the seas were very rough so not many people on the beach for them to sell to.

A trip to Carrefore to check out the cost of makeup and moisturisers. Olay Total Effects Day Cream and Night Cream boxed together for $15. Bargain,so stocked up and bought lots of little soaps etc to bring back for gifts. Lots of other nice shops in the centre and a good Food Mall for a cheap lunch.

The Surf Factory Outlets on Sunset Rd are awesome. 3 levels of Billabong, Volcom, Hurley, Rip Curl, DC, Nike. Prices are amazing. Kids were very happy with some great buys. There is also another outlet just down the road called Bali Surf Outlet and that too was great. Rip Curl also has a huge shop just up the road from Carrefore and lots of great items there as well.
You could honestly pay for your holiday if you bought a heap of clothes and resold them on ebay. Quality is top notch and so so cheap.

Kuta Restaurants:-
Bubba Gumps – lunch was great and not as busy at dinners. The lunchtime staff had time entertain the boys with magic tricks. Good fun but not cheap.
TJ's – excellent Mexican. Great atmosphere and good prices.
Treehouses on Poppies 1 – great for lunch. Cheap and nice. Meals are huge.
Bamboo Corner – so cheap. Great food. The cheapest dinner we had on the whole trip. Came to $23 for the 4 of us and that included 2 large bintangs, 2 milkshakes, 4 mains including lobster!
Beras Merah Restaurant at the Adhi Jaya Resort had the metre long satay and that was good fun. Food was average but the experience was worth it. Kept singing the Satay song for weeks after!
Couple B – watched the first half of the AFL Grand Final here whilst we had lunch. Great service, good food. Headed to Kuta Townhouses to watch the 2nd half as the kids were so hot and we knew there was a pool that they could hop in to whilst we watched the rest of the game.
Teppanyaki (opposite Couple B) – absolutely fantastic. We arrived quite late and it was my hubby's birthday so we wanted to do something fun. The staff were amazing and we all got to try catching the food they threw at us plus try the cooking and throwing too. Kids had a ball and the staff really made it a fab night out. An expensive meal in Bali terms - $100 for the 4 of us but if we did the same in say Melbourne it would have been 3 times as much.
Secret Garden – average meal. Nice setting but nothing worth raving about.

Lovina

We booked our 4 night stay at Villa Agung and were so happy with our choice (thanks Perthlovetotravel for your recommendation – they speak very highly of you). For $72 per night including breakfast our family room consisted of a double bed and bunks. The bathroom was open air and really lovely. It's fun having gecko's watching you have a shower. It didn't have a TV but the kids just didn't miss it and the mini bar was good and cheap. The kids brought their iPads with them and everywhere we stayed had wifi so they were happy.

Villa Agung is about half way between Singaraja and Lovina. It's right on the beach and the restaurant is just beautiful overlooking the sea. The sunsets were amazing. Its owned by an American couple, Gus and Sandy and they were so lovely. Always going out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay and full of interesting stories.

Lovina days were spent:-

Nyoman, Villa Agung's right hand man, organised for us to Swim with the Dolphins at Melka Excelsior Hotel and that was so wonderful. I had read a lot of different reports on this however we felt that the dolphins were very well looked after and really seemed to be enjoying themselves. The swim for the 4 of us cost around $280 and included a dolphin show and then a 40 minute swim with Rocky and Johnny. It was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. There's nothing like being kissed by a dolphin and then being wizzed by two dolphins around the pool holding on to their top fins. We all had grins from ear to ear for days to come. The photos the staff took on our cameras for us were fantastic and they also presented us with a number of photos that their photographer took, all included in the price.

Nyoman also organised for us a Sunrise Dolphin Cruise the next morning. Cost was $7 per person and we headed out straight from the beach in front of Villa Agung at 6am. It was a beautiful morning, the water was dead calm and we were all excited about spotting some dolphins. It took about 20 minutes before we were surrounded by them. There were about 6 boats like ours all bobbing around enjoying the scene. Hubby commented on what on earth was coming towards us on the horizon and before we knew it about 50 boats were heading our way. We couldn't believe it and unfortunately that was the end of the dolphins. They obviously disappeared and we headed back to our hotel. So grateful that we had our 30 minutes with them before the others turned up. One of the benefits of not staying right in Lovina I guess. Apparently in peak season there are over 200 boats out there. So may sure you go out early.

We brought a suitcase of kids clothes with us to donate somewhere and Gus told us about an orphanage in Singaraja run by a Dutch couple, so he took us there to drop the items off. They were so excited to receive them and it is a lovely place. The children are well schooled and it was spotless. They even have a library and music room. We felt so priveleged to have been able to donate something. Next time it will be books as well.

Our driver, Wayan took us to Sekumpul Waterfalls. Walking down to the falls I started worrying about how on earth I was going to go walking back up all of the steps. The falls were really beautiful and not for everyone as we had to go through some slippery rivers to get there. The walk up was horrible. I am not very fit so by the time I got about a third of the way up I could hardly breath and heaven behold I spotted a scooter and asked the owner how much to take me up to the car park. $1 was the answer and it was the best $1 I have ever spent. I arrived about 20 minutes before the others and had a great chat with the couple who run the little shop at the top. They had a 6 month old beautiful little girl and I had a lovely time learning all about their culture (including how they used the umbilical cord as a bracelet for her) whilst they were quizzing me about mine. They loved hearing about kangaroos and koalas and couldn't believe that we don't pick up the road kill and take it home to cook! What a waste they thought.

The Banjar Hot Springs and Buddhist Temple were interesting. 13Yr old and I didn't try the Springs as we weren't feeling up to it (dodgy belly) but it looked like fun. Bit slimy on the bottom of the pool apparently and it's best to go in the morning when there aren't so many people.

We then had a well deserved day of rest at Villa Agung which was fantastic. We were the only people there and it was so quiet and relaxing. Spent the day having massages by the pool, swimming, reading and catching up on emails. Just $7 for an hour massage from the lady on the beach. Even the kids had one. Make sure you ask for Wayan. She was awesome.


Lovina Restaurants:-
Ate 2 nights at Villa Agung. Meals were really lovely and well priced. Enjoyed our chats with Gus too. He's a very interesting man.
Sea Breeze Restaurant at Lovina waterfront to watch the sunset. Nice meal but eaten alive by mozzies. Lovina is really only about 200m x 200m in size so very happy that we were staying at Villa Agung as it was much quieter, nicer and cleaner.
Nyoman's Warung was a few doors along from Villa Agung. Interesting owner, so decided to eat here and I had the seafood bbq, cooked on the beach and serenaded by the staff on their guitars and drums. Unfortunately I think my meal gave us an upset tummy for a couple of days. It was so beautiful that I had hubby and 13yr old try it. 11Yr old didn't want to and he was the only one without numerous visits to the loo so that's the only reason I feel it was this meal to bring us undone!

Amed

3 nights next at Blue Star Cafe and it was excellent. For $48 pn including breakfast we had a 2 storey bungalow. Double bed downstairs with open air bathroom and the kids had matteresses on the floor upstairs. What a bargain.
Although it was aircondidtioned, the room was so large that it was hard to keep cool. Didn't matter though as they also supplied fans so that did the trick. I had a massive bag of washing done there and it came to $6. Why on earth would you bother doing it yourself.
The staff at Blue Star were beautiful. In particular Wayan. She was pretty much in charge of the place and is possibly the most beautiful Balinese girl we saw. Everything was taken of with a great big smile. We didn't want to leave.
We met the owner on our first night but she was very busy opening another restaurant as well as volunteering at the school, so obviously trusts leaving the running of the place to Wayan. There are only 3 rooms in total here so you need to book in advance and it's well worth it. It has a great big tree on the beach with lots of lounges under to shade you from the hot sun, but you need to put your towel out on a lounge so that the local massage people don't take them over!

Amed days spent:-

Best thing about Blue Star is that it's right on the beach and you take about 2 steps out in to the water and you are immerced in an aquarium. The coral is pretty dull. There are a few brightly coloured pieces of coral here and there but the fish are incredible. I think we snorkelled about 5 times a day it was to good. Heard about other places that were also worth a visit such as the Japanese wreck but basically we were so chilled out and happy with our spot that we couldn't be bothered going elsewhere. Getting in and out of the water was a bit of a challenge as it's slippery black crushed rocks and they are very hot. We bought a couple of sets of snorkel, masks and flippers at Carrefore whilst in Kuta but could have hired some right next door to Blue Star for a couple of dollars. We paid about $30 a set for ours but I wanted to know that they were ours and clean. Also got to bring them back with us so will use them again.

Amed Restaurants:-
We ate at Blue Star for dinner 2 of the nights. Mostly because 13yr old still had a dodgy tummy from Lovina and he didn't want to venture too far from the comforts of home. Meals were really nice and well priced.
Had a beautiful lunch at Villa Ganesh and met an interesting Perth family with lots of tips of what to do in the area. Kids were happy eating there as there was a lovely pool right next to the restaurant that they could use.
Dinner at a restaurant up the road which was excellent. Cannot remember the name of it but it had a mural on the wall of Bob Marley and they had live music this night with a great trio playing the guitars and drums. Packed out and really nice meal too. Great atmosphere.

8 nights left and we didn't have anything booked:-

We decided to leave the last part of the holiday open to see whether we wanted to try some other places, however the kids really missed the fast pace of Kuta and wanted to go back to the big smoke. Bugger. I wanted to try something slightly quieter so suggested we look at Legian. We found a 1 bedroom apartment at the Jayakarta which was quite cheap so had our driver drop us there. The apartment was ok so we thought we would have lunch at the restaurant there and decide what to do. The pool was huge, loud music, noisy, kids everywhere, no shade, no spare sun lounges. And very expensive (as are all resort restaurants). We decided 'No Way' ,this is just not us. Although it had everything we thought we wanted, 3 pools, tennis courts, on the beach, even the kids didn't want to stay there.

I parked hubby and the kids at a bar nearby with the bags whilst I wandered down around the area looking at a few other hotels that I had read about. They were all nice but nothing compared to what we had enjoyed at the Masa Inn. So guess what? We hopped in a cab and headed back to the Masa. Got in to our previous room and everyone was happy. Why we didn't just go there first up still bugs me. Wasted about 4 hours of our holiday going through all of this chaos but ended good in the end. Was good to see some other hotels though for future reference.

I did finally get my way in regards to staying in Legian and we booked our last 5 nights at Jocs Boutique Hotel. I found a great deal on a website for a family room for $58 a night. No breakfast in the price but that meant we could go out and try some other restaurants and we found some lovely places for breakfast. Our favourite was Coffee Corner just across the road as the meals were so yummy and cheap. Another great place was the Surf Shop in Legian St where the kids played 8 Ball and we checked our emails.

Jocs is a really nice hotel and in a fantastic location. The one way streets can make it a bit of a hassle sometimes getting around Kuta/Legian so we found that at Jocs we could get dropped off at Grandma's Hotel and we were just 1 minute walk away. There were 2 pools in the hotel but the one on the ground floor was freezing. The other was on the roof and was more like a big spa bath. There was also a rooftop bar but they only opened that on our last 2 nights. The rooftop was also one of the only placed hubby could get wifi so he spent quite a bit of time up there. He has an HTC phone but iPads and iPhones didn't seem to have the same problem.
Our room was modern and had everything you needed except somewhere to dry wet bathers/clothes. Our bathroom was a bit smelly. Like someone had smoked 100 cigarettes in there, but that didn't bother us too much. Just a spray of perfume or deodorant fixed that. All in all I would stay there again.

Restaurants:-

We spent a day in Seminyak as I wanted to see whether it would be somewhere we might stay next time. The shopping was nice, the footpaths are atrocious. Worst in Bali. Had a fantastic meal at Ginger Moon. Hubby had read about it in a Jetstar magazine a while back and it was probably my most favourite meal of the whole trip. Highly recommended.
Indo-National Restaurant – excellent. Big, busy, clean, Aussie run, great meals.
Sheppy's on Melasti St – nice breakfast. Attracts lots of repeat customers so must be good.
A definate must is dinner at Yogi's Restaurant. It's a little tricky to find but Trip Advisor has the details. The meal was awesome and well worth a visit. Unfortunately we left it will our 2nd last night so didn't really have time to book a day in advance for their seafood platter. We had their 'daily special' meals and they were excellent. Really enjoyed our dinner and it's highly recommended.
Ours Restaurant on Garlic Lane - our final supper. Nice meal, same menu as everywhere else. Friendly staff. Nice way to end our holiday though.

Kuta/Legian days spent:-

Last minute shopping at Discovery Plaza.
Sunset drinks at Joseph's Bar.
Whitewater Rafting trip organised by our driver. He took us to Brahama Whitewater Rafting and they were fine. Lunch was pretty average though. Cost about US$50 pp. Our driver then dropped me at Ubud to wander the shops and we were to meet back up at Clear Restaurant which was an experience in itself. Everything was super healthy and they had the best juices I have ever tried. The boys arrived back late from rafting so I had lunch there too and it was fantastic. The toilet is an interesting experience. I am sure we could have organised a cheaper rafting experience from Kuta but the convertible trip and me having Ubud 'alone time' was so well worth it. Loved this day.

Another day we ventured over to Sanur. We have friends who rave about Sanur but we really hadn't spent any serious time there before. What a lovely place it is too. Our Blue Bird Taxi driver was extremely happy to take there us as during APEC most of the drivers suffered greatly with the airport being closed and therefore didn't make any money. He had made just $5 the day before and wife was not very happy. He told us that “No Money, No Honey”. He was great fun and actually lived in Sanur so knew the place well. It was hubby's birthday so we wanted to do something memorable and thought Sea Walking might be fun. Before we knew it, our driver had us at the counter booking us in. I didn't think I would handle this, bit too claustriphobic for me, but hubby and boys were super excited. Not a cheap experience but something memorable and that's what it's all about. I went out on to the pontoon with them to photograph it all. Lucky I did because 11 year old freaked out at the last minute and couldn't go down. All a bit too much unfortunately with the helmet and the suction sound as it goes underwater. 20 minutes later hubby and 13 yr old were back and all big smiles. Sounds like it was an amazing experience and the photos taken underwater were great. But expensive so we only bought 1. Again probably could have purchased the walk cheaper if we had have planned it ahead of time. Doesn't matter as it's all cheap compared to Australian prices.

Had a lovely lunch at Stiff Chilli Restaurant and the on to a fantastic Italian restaurant to get the boys an icecream.. So many flavours to choose from and so cheap.

All in all we really enjoyed our quick visit to Sanur and would definitely consider a stay there for 3 or 4 nights next time. The hotel Puri Santrian, where the Sea Walker leaves from, looked amazing. Expensive but beautiful. Bit like Club Med really.


Drivers:-
Funnily enough, nearly all of our drivers were called Wayan.
Wayan who took us to Lovina and on a day trip to Uluwatu was awesome. He is the driver for a friend of ours who has a couple of villas in Seminyak and he is a really cool guy. He has an airconditioned 7 seater plus a red VW convertible, which we took on a trip to whitewater rafting whilst I spend a few hours shopping in Ubud. Really cool experience driving through the country side with the roof top down. Hearing the sounds of life in the villages was really cool.
Cost of drive to Lovina $60
Cost of drive to Uluwatu $50
Cost of drive to Ubud/Rafting in convertible $50

Wayan our Lovina driver, was organised by Villa Agung, and he was excellent. Great English and full of interesting stories. Wayan also took us to Amed via Kintamani and hen took us to a great restaurant in Talumben with beautiful views of Mt Agung.
Cost of drive to Waterfall $30
Cost of morning trip to Hot Springs & Budist Temple $25
Cost of drive to Amed $60

Wayan our driver from Amed to Legian was organised by Blue Star and cost $50. He wasn't much of a talker but that suited us at the time. Took us to Tirta Gannga Water Palace and Blue Lagoon on the way which were both fantastic.


Other memorable experiences and tips:-

We had sunset drinks each night in Legian at Joseph's Bar. He is located right at the end of Melasti Street, through the gates to the beach and first bar on the right. What a great guy. His name isn't even Joseph but that didn't matter. Small bintangs were $1.50 and Smirnoff Vodca Coolers were about $1.80. Our second time there he made us feel like family and we just kept coming back night after night.
Wayan is the local masseur and she is fabulous, giving the boys lots of love and attention and insisting they call her Grandma Wayan. She would do the rounds of the beach goers each night drumming up business and she remembered everyones names. Everyone was a long lost friend. Didn't get a chance to have a massage from her but that will be on top of the list for next time. Actually, come to think of it, I never saw her giving anyone a massage. Not quite sure how she made her money! Maybe as Joseph's Bar was always full, possibly because of her chatting to everyone, he would slip her some rupiah.

We ventured up to Seminyak one sunset to laze back in the bean bags at Crystal Palace. Lots of fun watching the sun go down, listening to live music and sipping cocktails. Well worth a visit.

We had heard a lot about Potato Head so walked and walked one day in Seminyak in the hot hot sun to find it. What an unreal place it is but you really need to get there early in the day to get a day bed.
And bring lots of money to spend as their drinks list is fantastic but not the cheapest by Bali standards. The architecture alone is worth seeing. We had just had a quick drink here and then headed back to our hotel for a quick swim before sunset drinks on the beach.

Fixed Price Shopping:-

Ketut's fixed price shop on Garlic Lane – what a money making business this is. She is one switched on woman with people queued up to pay her money. She just sits there adding up your purchases which include pretty much everything you need and handing out lovely cold bottles of water. Worth buying something just to see her in action. You will find out where she is on Trip Advisor. She has everything from Bintang Tank Tops to Gucci Handbags. Bought lots of great things here.

Dianne's fixed price shop – she has moved to the airport side of Sun Island Hotel (near the Dynasty). Again she has everything that you need and is such a character. She has even ventured in to tailoring and day tours. We bought from her last year and would highly recommend her.

We read somwhere on Trip Advisor to bring a power board to charge iPhones, iPads, etc which was great advice. Only thing we discovered over there is that it had 3 pins and our converter only had 2 holes. Luckily hubby could remove the bottom pin so all was good. This was a really great idea. We had our things charging in the one place and quite often there was only one power point in the hotel room so that solved a big problem. Happy everyone with charged electronics.

We tried to only go in to shops that had 'offerings' outside the shop. This meant they were Balinese shops and we felt so much more comfortable shopping with them. They always had a smile whether we bought or not. Not like other shops where we have been sworn at on previous trips if we hadn't bought.

Fake tshirts.tank tops, dresses will shrink so buy a size bigger than you need. Their colours will also run so wash seperately!

Only use Blue Bird Taxi's around Kuta/Legian etc, but make sure that they put their meter on immediately that you get in the cab. Many times, later in the night, they would try and charge us a fixed price like $10 to take us the same distance a $1.50 ride would normally cost in the day time. Just walk on and you will find another driver very quickly who will use the meter. We always ended up tipping that driver more than the ride so he won out in the end for being honest.

Your bill will usually include tax and service tax so there really is no need to tip unless you feel that they really deserve it. Which in most cases we thought they did. And they are so appreciative if you do. 50c or a dollar will give you the biggest smile in thanks. It's worth every cent just to see that.

The service from the Balinese is outstanding and I really understand now why people go back year after year after year. They make you feel like you are part of their family and they genuinely enjoy your company and looking after you. Take some special little gifts with you as you will meet so many people who make your holiday so special.

They even remember you even if it's 12 months since they last saw you. How they do that is beyond me but we saw it happen time and time again. It really is quite hard saying goodbye to them but the comfort lies that we will be back again, sometime soon, and they will most likely remember us!

They live so simply and it really makes you think of what really is important in life. There's total chaos on the streets yet there is no malice. They have nothing yet are so grateful for what they do have. Their family means everything and they all look after eachother. What a beautiful way to live.

I truly hope you enjoy your holiday and 100% know that you will.

Take advice from other people's experiences on this website and others but please make your own experiences too.

Travel safe and have fun!

Cheers
Jackie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank PeteandJackie7018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were travelling in a group of 5 x 20-27 year olds (one my pregnant daughter and her husband), my husband and I + a 11 year old.

We arrived at the airport and were welcomed with a sign from Masa Inn, welcoming us to Bali (my husband and I had been to Bali before but the others had not).
Everything could not have gone smoother and I was so relieved (we had gone thru this scenario with different accommodation the previous year and we were left almost stranded at the airport).

2 couples + a child stayed in the Balinese rooms & the rest in a triple room to the front of the property near the front pool.

All rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy (although the bathrooms are old and outdated) but we didn't mind as we were moving on in a few days to Nusa Lembongan / Ubud etc and just wanted a clean and secure place to stay for a few days and for the youngies to find their feet and do some market bargaining/shopping. It was ordinarily hot during our stay but the airconditioners were all perfect.

The staff were absolutely outstanding and I can't thank them enough for their hospitality.

The property is actually really quiet for being right in the middle of the action and it was sooooo easy to get everywhere. We would often pop back in at all times during the day for a quick swim in one of the 2 pools just to cool down then we'd be back out again.

Amazing place.

I even left a few DVD's behind + my Ipad cord and they had kept it for me (we stayed in Seminyak later on in the trip and we swung past and grabbed it.

The free breakfast is enough to get you on your way for the day and quite adequate (remember that I had a pregnant daughter and a 11 year old son with me and they were very satisfied).

We will definitely be back and I urge you to do the same thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YummyMummyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba, Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed at Masa Inn several times (5). Friendly staff and well maintained grounds, They have a better than average free breakfast menu and very cheap Bintang beer in their restaurant area. There two pools that are maintained every day. If you have difficulty climbing stairs book lower rooms. The free wifi is pretty good speed but a pain you have to enter complicated user/password... Good thing is you are right i the middle of things on Jl. Poppies1, plenty of decent restaurants within a few minutes. Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo as they do not supply any, but if you forget there are three or four small shops located very close where you can pick up some cheap. Air con was very good every time.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherman O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Bajo, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nicely equipped clean rooms. Hot showers with almost too much water pressure. A poolside room with A/C, hot water, 5 minutes from the beach, hotels and bars everywhere, laundry on site, huge included breakfast, mini marts right across the street from reception. Not a single complaint. I stayed here on three occasions and will be back for certain.

Room Tip: You pay less for the upper level rooms, but I like being poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBurds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this place more than thirty times in the past few years. Price includes breakfast which is wholesome and tasty. Accommodation is clean and comfortable.
Location is excellent, a short walk from the beach, and handy to many good bars and eateries. Will be staying there again over Christmas and in the new year. Get a room upstairs out the back overlooking the large swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#126 of 252 in Kuta
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#149 of 252 in Kuta
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#10 of 252 in Kuta
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yulia Beach Inn
Yulia Beach Inn
#57 of 252 in Kuta
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#46 of 252 in Kuta
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuta Angel Hotel
Kuta Angel Hotel
#74 of 252 in Kuta
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masa Inn

Property: Masa Inn
Address: Poppies Lane I / 27, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Kuta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Number of rooms: 314
Also Known As:
Masa Hotel Kuta
Masa Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing