We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need new toilets and to wash bed sheets between guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Ranked #148 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed March 10, 2011

On arrival we descovered that the hotel tell was much much other than the photos on the websites. I stayed with my boyfriend and we had a friend in another room. We were on the top story, which we finally got to after 3 flights of stairs.

The toilet was used once and from then on didnt work, all it did was make a driping running noise if it flushed. At around 1am i was fed up with the noise and couldnt sleep so i went to the front desk to complain, a man came to the room took the back off the toilet, grabed the shower head and filled up the back of the tank. And then it worked for two flushes but took like an hour of running toilet noises to fill up. Then even filling it with the shower head didnt work to shut it up.

When we decided to go to bed i rolled down the blanket and looked at the pillow to find lots of little black hairs from a mans head. And then we found stains on the sheets and blankets from were food was dropped on them and just wipped off. The sheets and blanket probably hadnt been wash in months. Im so glad i took my own pillow to put on top of the hotels one measly pillow.

Our friend came running into our room after going to have a look in here room and drop off her case. She had found off tuna cans that we wide open in her fridge. Here room smelt discusting. So it seems to us they dont change sheets, or clean the fridge and this was only after being there not even 6 hours.

First shower experience was horrible, it smelt discusting you have to stand in the yucky looking bath and use a rusted shower head that squirts out only cold water unless its run for 10 - 20 minutes.

Although the hotel isnt all bad the pool is massive and perfect tempreture. But when you look at the pictures you see a swim up bar. But do you think there is any one serving at that bar?
Well no there isnt and it looks like its been used once years ago and only for that photo.

You will find if you have dinner at your hotel that the menu picture is of a differnt hotel all together.

We also found out on the last night that the ice this hotel uses is massive chunks. So we suspect it wasnt safe.

I didnt like this hotel at all.,

I really didnt like this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 459 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

Bakung Sari is a disgrace to the lovely natured people and places of Bali

Our night of arrival, we arrived at around 9pm to heavy rain and staff sleeping in the reception. When we comfirmed our booking, us 4 girls with about 9 suitcases between us were made to carry it through practically a river that was a pathway and up 3 flights of unsafe wet stairs when the porter followed behind us.

In the 2 rooms we had, there was mould on the fridge, on the cieling, in the bathroom, on the bedheads! Dirt and grime in the bathtub and bathroom. as I was so exhausted i lay down to sleep.. only to wake up 10 minutes later with several bedbugs/ticks around my arm and face.

A friends bed had wet yellow stains through the sheets and huge blood stains on the towels.

We slept on wooden chairs in the reception until morning when we could change hotels.

This place is filthy and made us physically sick!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littleone08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Went over for New Years with friends (A Bunch Of 18year olds) We have all been over 3 times before this but thought we'd try something a little cheaper save everyone some money, bad idea.

- The Bar run out of vodka on the first night & we didnt see any again for the next 2 weeks we were there.
- The swim up bar was non existent
- A fellow traveler had $450 stolen from her suit case whilst out. ( presumably by room service)
-They had double booked our room so after the 2nd night we all had to swap over rooms.
-the staff at the desk were not friendly/helpful at all.
-Ive stayed in over 5 hotels across bali never have i had the porter wait in the room & demand a tip, but of course wouldnt expect anything less from Bakung Sari.

All in all it was a bad experience in the hotel & I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kai_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Sometimes, as the old saying goes, 'you get what you pay for'. This is a very basic, run-down, 1-2 star hotel and we stayed one night which was more than enough for us.

On arrival, the reception staff seemed a bit preoccupied. Not sure they understand what 'customer service' is or how to deliver it...

There are no lifts, so how delighted were we to haul all our luggage up 3 flights of steps with no help or offer of assistance..

From there, we tried to sleep in the less than inviting bed and both woke up itching all night as there seemed to be bugs in the bed and sheets. Hmmm, nice...

The bathroom looks like it came from prison.

Other than that, its cheap, fairly well-located and you get breakfast. That's it really.

Good for a cheap one nighter but not really a place to stay and relax. There are better places for that.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We staying at Bakung Sari from 8Dec - 11Dec 2010.When we arrive around 9 pm no potter to help to carry our luggage,our room at level 3...no lift.Not suitable for family with small kids,they not provide any hot water in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We booked by late rooms for 12 days, on arrival were told had to pay cash in USD .This they calculated by converting from AUD to IDR to USD all at very low exchange rates.
Gardens were good ,our deluxe room on "new wing" was dirty ,shabby ,towels were old like the room. Also had to wait 2 hours to get any towels.ALL STAFF SERVICE WAS POOR ESPECIALLY AT RECEPTION.
We only stayed for 2 days then checked into another hotel (Satriya cottages)
When we tried to check out one staff said ok and another said no and no refund for days not used . After much argument they let us check out with refund for 9 days but we only got cash for 8 days . This the worst hotel we have stayed in ,in Bali

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My first check in was a late night, The reception was small only about 2 staff working during that time, rooms rate was ok. paying about USD 31 per night for Deluxe. the room was given a basic facilities of Mini fridge, hot water, make up table an a balcony. Our room was include a balcony, however the view was a roof top view. nothing interesting about it. The breakfast was a very limited selection set.

1. Coffee or tea
2. Fruit salad or Orange Juice
3. Pancake, fried rice or fried noodles.

If you are Asian traveler, don't expect them to give any attention for you even a morning wish.

You can ask for a simple map from the reception as the way to the Kuta beach and also, they can help you to contact the Taxi to sent you to the air port.

Overall it's a budget hotel, what's you expect??

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hau1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Kuta
The Oasis Kuta
#199 of 254 in Kuta
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#114 of 254 in Kuta
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
favehotel Kuta Square
favehotel Kuta Square
#115 of 254 in Kuta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bakungs Beach Hotel
Bakungs Beach Hotel
#17 of 22 in Tuban
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#78 of 254 in Kuta
238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amaris Hotel Legian
Amaris Hotel Legian
#67 of 87 in Legian
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakung Sari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Kubua Anyar, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#93 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $18 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakung Sari Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Bali, look no further than Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Consulate of Netherlands, Supernova, Kuta Square.At Bakung Sari Resort and Spa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with balcony/terrace, refrigerator, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, satellite/cable TV in each room. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden, spa, outdoor pool, massage. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakung Sari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakungsari Hotel Kuta
Bakung Sari Resort And Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing