We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Ranked #224 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not fantastic”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We book into this hotel after our first one was awful. This one looked cleaner but there were still lizards in the room. We went even sure how they got in. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain and there went any towels provided. The Internet wasn't very strong and the electricity kept cutting out so the air con did as well.

It is ok for a budget but there are better ones available for a few pounds more.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    159
    140
    50
    62
See reviews for
93
128
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Absolutely no complaints for the price paid. We arrived early but they allowed us to checkin straight away. Stayed in the older style room with balcony overlooking the pool. Great sized rooms, cleanliness not bad, comfy bed, good air con, fridge but no kettle, hot water and water pressure a bit sporadic and excellent wifi ( we were in room 333). Had no towels in the room upon arrival but requested them from the cleaning lady and she was happy to oblige. Room was serviced daily even though we didn't put up the please clean the room sign. Pool and garden surroundings were very nice. Breakfast was fresh with a few options and more than enough to fill us up until lunch (we have read previous complaints about this and think people really expect way to much for the price paid). On site restaurant had a variety of dishes all at very good prices - also an on site spa but was cheaper to get massage down the road. Location was superb a 5- 10 minute walk to Kuta centre and Kuta square. An Indomart, laundry and a selection of great local warungs were located just outside the hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 333 had good wifi Try the local warungs outside - yummy and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked 4 nights at this hotel and it was a bit of a disappointment to say the least. To begin with we arrived at 12.30 and were told the room would not be ready until 2pm although my booking did say early check-in was available so I don't know what they consider early but I thought 12.30 was reasonable.
When we were taken to the room the gardens & pool area did look nice & I think this is probably what sells the place as the room sure didn't. The bed was fine if you don't mind the odd hair but towels are rather grey & frayed. The general cleanliness of the room wasn't great, I think they sweep the center of the room and that's it because there was a lot of dust around the edges and behind the TV, we even found broken glass under the bed when retrieving something we'de lost.
The bathroom is a wetroom which is normal but also held the only plug socket so if you need to charge anything be very careful, again it was just grimy & my husband had to clear hair out of the drains before the water would run away.
The walls in this place are paper thin and we were woken every night by our neighbours coming in & very early one morning when a fight broke out in the room next door because they didn't want to pay the girl they'de brought back the night before. I had to phone reception to send security to sort it out in the end but got no apology or explanation from them. I do realize that the hotel is not responsible for guests behavior but I feel they should have done more, especially as there were quite a few families staying, if i'de had children with me I would have been mortified.
Breakfast is included but whilst the actual food is ok the service leaves a lot to be desired, your coffee may end up in the cup or the saucer & after waiting ages for orange juice & sauce we decided it was easier to fetch it ourselves which earned us a scowl from the staff.
This could be a nice place but the general lack of customer service and cleanliness just ruins it.
I realize that a lot of people will read this and think "you get what you pay for - don't expect 5* at 2* prices" Believe me I wasn't, we normally stay in much cheaper places than this one and have found them all better than this. Try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTDave381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

India
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

At first I was little hesitant to book at Bakungsari since this was our first trip to Bali and we wanted to stay close to the Discovery shopping mall and the beach. From the few reviews that I had gone through earlier, it seemed that the hotel was good km away from both the places and far from all the action. However, after doing a bit of my own research I felt a little more confident and went ahead with 2 nights booking in a superior dbl room at an unbelievable price of 22usd per night with breakfast. The kids enjoyed their stay thoroughly. Since we had requested a room on the higher floors, please remember that there is no elevator in this hotel and climbing up 3 storeys with small kids can be quite tiring. The hotel serves very basic breakfast which for a small eater can last him through lunch time. There are few good local restaurants just outside the hotel which serve Indonesian food at a reasonable price. At roughly US$3 you can have a sumptuous meal including a fruit juice or a soft drink. There are convenient stores including a mini mart in front of the main gate. The hotel has a back gate which opens into a lively lane selling local handicrafts and souvenirs and with numerous massage and spa par lours. About 200 meters walk down this lane leads to the famous Kuta square and further 50 meters is the beach. Be careful of the local shops displaying higher exchange rates for foreign currencies. They try to Cheat customers by manipulating and diverting their attention. Always get your currencies changed at authorised banks and shops. Overall a good hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ejazz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Some rooms are better maintained then others. Bathrooms are smelly and mouldy. Breakfast was ok. Good for budget travellers. Would stay there again for budget accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni_Dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang, malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

recently stayed for 5 nights and we found it to be perfect for what we need. it is a 2 star property and do not expect too much. we got the renovated room which is really spacious (really, more spacious than hard rock hotel which our friend stayed) with flat screen tv, mini-fridge and comfortable bed. wifi was ok (better than nothing or to pay for) and breakfast is good. not buffet but you can choose between pancake, fried noodle/rice, toast with either omelette, sunny side up or boiled egg with a glass of tea/coffee and orange juice/fruit. the pool is nice (dont expect resort style) and you could swim up till 11pm.

location is great. not right on the busy yet noisy stretch but close to everything. just rent a bike (opposite the hotel) and go around. right beside the hotel, warung nikmat is must try. delicious home cook indonesian food.

staff is friendly and helpful. the only downside is, each day after they make up the room, we need to request for towel.

overall, value for money stay and definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for newly renovated room. if possible not 3rd floor as they do not have lift/elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArminGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in April 2012. Location is pretty good, as it is just a 5-10 mins walk away from the famous kuta beach, and also near the shopping streets. Be sure to request for the new rooms. New rooms are clean and pretty comfortable. Bathroom is also clean and decent, but with no mirrors. No lifts in the hotel, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. Breakfast is a set meal, which you can choose from bread, pancakes or rice. Swimmimg pool is also clean and good for tanning. Reasonable hotel in consideration for the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Kuta
The Oasis Kuta
#266 of 338 in Kuta
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#164 of 338 in Kuta
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
favehotel Kuta Square
favehotel Kuta Square
#163 of 338 in Kuta
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bakungs Beach Hotel
Bakungs Beach Hotel
#17 of 21 in Tuban
306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#115 of 338 in Kuta
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#167 of 338 in Kuta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakung Sari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Property: Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Address: Jalan Kubua Anyar, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#134 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakung Sari Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Bali, look no further than Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Consulate of Netherlands, Supernova, Kuta Square.At Bakung Sari Resort and Spa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with balcony/terrace, refrigerator, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, satellite/cable TV in each room. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden, spa, outdoor pool, massage. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bakung Sari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakungsari Hotel Kuta
Bakung Sari Resort And Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing