We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Ranked #148 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

we stayed here 26-30 july, in a superior room. fo the price the hotel wasnt bad, it was better than what people have said about it,there are a couple of cracks here and there in the walls, the air con worked perfectly after a hard day of walking around coming back to the rroom was very plesent, the sheets where clean and changed every day, some say the toilets didnt work but we never had a prroblem with it at all, the food was good except for breakfast it wasn't the best but what do you expect fo a cheap hotel,the location of the hotel is very good walking out the back and only 5min walk to kuta square it was very close which was good if you like to shop cos you can walk back to the hotel quickly and drop your things off and go back out again

we stayed in number 134

a tip of advice, if your nice to the staff there nice in return...

Room Tip: choose a standerd refb room over the superior. walk that little bit extra up stair but it will be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    149
    134
    47
    59
See reviews for
89
119
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

After reading some bad reviews we decided to take a chance on the Bakung Sari in july 2012
and were surprised that it wasn't all that bad. after all for $23.00 Aussie dollars a night with breakfast we were not expecting the Hilton. The bathroom was outdated but not enough to complain about, but the pool, room, bar, breakfast, service, & gardens was satisfactory. It
annoys me that people like to complain about Hotels like the Bakung Sari, knowing very well it is probably only 1 star going by the price, but choose to stay there and expect a 5 star hotel.Pay $150.00 per night at a good resort ( and you will probably find faults) and stop complaining.
Alan & Karen, Devonport, Tasmania Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here just for one night (because if you're not a surfer, face it - Kuta is a horrible place to be in), meeting up with the friends we were traveling with. The location of the hotel is pretty good, not so far from the airport, and also a 5-10 minute walk to the beach or city center. The staff at the hotel were very nice and polite, greeting us with a welcome drink after checking in. They wouldn't let us carry our bags to our room (which we wanted to because we were very late to meet our friends) because they want you to tip the bellhops.

We got a room on the ground-floor next to the pool which I really liked because it was very convenient to get to breakfast and to the pool. The room was clean enough, fine to sleep in - but very very very old. The curtains were dirty, dresser beaten, bedsheets worn, air-conditioner prehistoric. Luckily the air-conditioner was working well so there weren't any bugs or anything besides geckos. The bathroom was large, but equally as old. There was crooked flooring, mildew and no towels - But at least there was warm water. (Side note: Our friend did ask for towels, but the hotel said they ran out?! but with further pushing they gave her a key to the store room and told her to get it herself - which she did)

Breakfast was questionable, with no lack of houseflies in the open-air restaurant, so I had everything (meaning eggs and bacon) throughly cooked. I wouldn't say it was amazing, but it was filling. There was a choice of ham or bacon, toast or fried rice, coffee or tea, eggs and a side of fruit.

Our friends who stayed more than one night got a 15minute massage voucher which you can get at the hotel.

Reasonably priced for the area (book through hotel search engines instead of their website), I would come back another time if it was as short a stay as this one was.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked this hotel for a 10 day holiday in Bali. I traveled with a group of friends, 3 grls including me and one guy . The rooms were clean and had a very nice view of the pool , Overall it was a great hotel! the only thing i would complain about is the little choice we had for breakfast . the staff were friendly and i loved the way there was a little chill out area with couches by the pool where you could read and relax in or simply have a chat with my friends. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! It suits people with families , groups of friends n people who love nature as there as trees everywhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lialiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The good: This hotel has a decent swimming pool, good spa and a nice garden. It's not too far from the beach (but still it is a 10-min walk), and surrounded by cheap mini-marts and warungs (eating house). Hotel room is average and basic (we stayed in the old superior room - I think the new rooms are much better).

The bad: The bathroom stinks and the staffs are not very friendly.

Room Tip: The new standard room are much better than the "superior" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my first hotel during my travel to Bali. I was really surprised with the hotel quality in terms of value for money. Below are the main pros and cons.

Pros.
• Big and clean room with nice view.
• Nice staff who are very professional and helpful.
• Nice swimming pool, however it is good till 4 pm after that there will be no sun.

Cons.
• Towels are clean but need badly to be changed.
• Location is little bit far from the beach, you need to walk about 10-15 min.
• Breakfast is a set menu and same everyday.

Even with all the above Cons. It is still great value for money without compromising your comfort. I have enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to budgeted travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

On a last minute trip to Bali to visit a friend I was booked into this hotel,I was pleasantly suprised
when shown my room in the new section was spacious,and the bathroom contained a spa bath. the bed was modern and the room contained a large flatscreen TV. Breakfast was a la carte but simple. Room cleaned ,towels and bottle water replaced daily. Safe deposit boxes free of charge
in security room beside front office.All staff were pleasant and helpful.I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers and I have no hesitation in staying there again.
Stayed June2012

Room Tip: If you like herbal tea take your own tea bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.9 mi away
Bakungs Beach Hotel
Bakungs Beach Hotel
#15 of 20 in Tuban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#99 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Kuta
The Oasis Kuta
#174 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ozz Hotel Kuta
Ozz Hotel Kuta
#106 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali
0.2 mi away
favehotel Kuta Square
favehotel Kuta Square
#107 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakung Sari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Property: Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Address: Jalan Kubua Anyar, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#90 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakung Sari Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Bali, look no further than Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Consulate of Netherlands, Supernova, Kuta Square.At Bakung Sari Resort and Spa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with balcony/terrace, refrigerator, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, satellite/cable TV in each room. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden, spa, outdoor pool, massage. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bakung Sari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakungsari Hotel Kuta
Bakung Sari Resort And Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing