We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveler rating
289
96
46
17
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
96
46
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scoopon deal hourly shuttle local shopping centre hotel bali junior suite movie room beautiful hotel steam room buffet breakfast interconnecting rooms rooms are great extra bed pleasant stay the hotel offers quiet area front office away from the hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 472 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Strange one this. we booked our holiday with Voyage Prive the company that assures quality and luxury at the very least. Initially we bought a suite but a few months later was told that this hotel doesn't have suites and the info we originally payed for was a typo. After lots of discussion we had no choice but to accept a small refund and accept the no suite option. All along Voyage prive cutting their cloth to suit them. All the glitters with voyage prive is not gold!
This hotel was advertised a 5* luxury well it certainly is not luxuary or 5*. It's a 3* at the very best. Upon entering the room and a quick look round. The bath room looked like it had been wiped down not throughly cleaned there were black hair in the shower (not mine I'm blond and hubby bald). The towels grey, and pillows stank..I had them changed twice. The floors were never cleaned.
Breakfast caters for Asian palat and very limited to western breakfast. No fresh milk it's uht stuff. I notice the fridge never got cleaned once in the week we were there, there were filthy finger marks all down the front, the staff are slow and inattentive.
The bar is a nice area but the drinks are well over priced so decided to eat and drink out. With voyage prive we were under the impression we got half board but had to make the trip into town 2 miles away to take either lunch or dinner from a very limited set menu. No got if your vegetarian or vegan. Upon arriving we were told by the bellboy that we weren't allowed to use the other pool and japanise restaurant as this was for the Chinese and japanise only (why? ) then the staff members stated he didn't like them anyway. So unprofessional.
The pool area is ok and not too cold but I keep getting a smell of gas which stopped me from wanting to sit out and sunbathe. The whole place could do with an injection of cleaning and personality from its surroundings and staff although it does have some nice qualities. The roof top terrace, the fish in the lobby, the gym and spar area (but these are sex separated and the men's didn't work the entire time we were there which was a disappointment). There was one member of the front of house staff which stood out for us and was helpful the rest wasn't that helpful or polite which I haven't experienced here before in Bali. I think the staff do need some training in western ways of customer service, funny though that on our last two days the breakfast staff were more attentive after mangement were I. Supervising. I wouldn't pay again to come to this hotel and defiantly won't ever book with Voyage prive again. Save your money.

Room tip: Don't bother.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sophianrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Sophianrob,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay at The Sintesa Jimbaran. I am disturbed to hear that you were disappointed by your experience. We value all guest comments which help us to continually enhance our facilities and services.

We are taking this comment very seriously to investigate this matter. Our guests satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in not only meeting individual expectations, but exceeding them. I am committed to ensuring that we address and resolve each point you have made.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We will relay your constructive feedback to department concern for improving our services and quality

Once again thank you for choosing us, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Heny
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. In terms of outside perception it looks lovely when you arrive, a bit “conference hotel” but comfortable. The staff were very inattentive when we checked in, not overly welcoming and even worse on check out! We were escorted to our room, which on first appearances was comfortable, despite the smell of damp. We dumped our bags and went to have a look around the hotel, when we returned we noticed that someone had been in our room, which we found strange (they jammed paper into the electricity key card dock, as we’d taken the key from here, this was how we noticed). We raised it to reception and they said they’d sent someone to check everything was ok. We then noticed money had gone missing from our room, totalling about £30. We then noticed a loud squeaking noise coming from the air con unit. We chose to pop out to see the beach and hoped that it was a temporary issue. When we returned the same noise from the air con, we adjusted some settings and hoped for the best. No joy. My husband jumped in the shower, which on turning on the tap, the tap fell off the wall. With these issues we called down to reception to ask them to look at the air con as it was going to be difficult to sleep! They sent some engineers up who tried to fix the issue but eventually offered to move us. This was comical! They showed us a few rooms, one had the same problem with the air con, the other had a balcony which opened out into the corridor (picture below - who designed this!) and another which we finally settled with. The fun didn’t end here, the air con in the new room hadn’t been switched on when we moved and we quickly realised it wasn’t working! Our room was 29 degrees Celsius at times. When we called down to reception, again they sent up some engineers who pressed a few buttons, but nothing changed. The room was dirty (dead bugs and hair on the headboard of the bed), hot and just generally tired. The tv had a strange screen burn that showed up constantly. We were then offered to move rooms again for the second time, again this was comical as the rooms we were offered, one had the same issue and the other had the squeaking air con. We also had some change left on the side stolen from our room for the second time, a lot less money than the first time but still frustrating. We explained this to reception that theft had happened but nothing was done. Breakfast was terrible, limited offering and held in the bar. For a 3 year old hotel there shouldn’t be these issues. This hotel is not 5*, had we not been under the impression we would be staying at a 5* hotel we may have been more understanding. This hotel could be great if managers trained staff correctly, actual maintenance was carried out in the rooms and customer experience was something that’s important. I know I’m going to get a generic response to this review, but I feel management for this hotel should really look at some of these downfalls and address them. We moved rooms twice, and both had multiple issues! Stay at this hotel at your own risk, be cautious with your belongings and don’t expect 5 star.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank hannah3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Hannah3433,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay at The Sintesa Jimbaran. I am disturbed to hear that you were disappointed by your experience. We value all guest comments which help us to continually enhance our facilities and services.

We are taking this comment very seriously to investigate this matter. Our guests satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in not only meeting individual expectations, but exceeding them. I am committed to ensuring that we address and resolve each point you have made.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We will relay your constructive feedback to department concern for improving our services and quality

Once again thank you for choosing us, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Heny
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights from 3rd to 5th sept. Judging by all the previous negative reviews I agree.
Upon arriving to check in at 4:00 our room was still not ready. Very surprised as check in is at 2pm. There was a family arguing also with staff as they were waiting three hours to check in. Not an ideal start here.
To be fair once we checked in around 4:30 we had a fantastic apartment. Very clean and spacious and modern room. Shower is very small as I’m 6ft1. Breakfast was ok it’s in the bar which is stinky. Pool average, very cold temperature. Staff English is poor they don’t understand much. Hotel is newish three years open as I had asked. We ate out the 2 nights. Taxi needed and very cheap as you’re on a hill which didn’t bother us. Shuttle to beach every hour. Very small shuttle.
Most of the staff are polite but has its drawbacks. Lacking service in a lot of areas. I know the management will respond saying they’ll make improvements but somehow it’s only words.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 659noels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Noel S,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay at The Sintesa Jimbaran. I am disturbed to hear that you were disappointed by your experience. We value all guest comments which help us to continually enhance our facilities and services.

We are taking this comment very seriously to investigate this matter. Our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in not only meeting individual expectations, but exceeding them. I am committed to ensuring that we address and resolve each point you have made.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We will relay your constructive feedback to department concern for improving our services and quality

Once again thank you for choosing us, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,
Heny,
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed it.The reception staff were clueless, rude and slow at everything. The breakfast and coffee offered were appalling!The shuttle is way to small for all guests wanting transfer.No proper arrival greetings or goodbyes.The only positive thing was the check-out before 12, noon.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fitnessgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear fitnessgirl86,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay at The Sintesa Jimbaran. I am disturbed to hear that you were disappointed by your experience. We value all guest comments which help us to continually enhance our facilities and services.

We are taking this comment very seriously to investigate this matter. Our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in not only meeting individual expectations, but exceeding them. I am committed to ensuring that we address and resolve each point you have made.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We will relay your constructive feedback to department concern for improving our services and quality

Once again thank you for choosing us, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,
Heny,
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in late July 2018. We chose this hotel based on reviews read. We expected it to be fairly quiet and it was. It is a newish hotel and it is clean, tidy and the staff are friendly.
The buffet breakfast (included with our booking) is quite good. A mix of western (bacon/sausages/eggs/omlette/pancakes, etc.) and local cuisine.
The pool is clean and large. The prices for drinks and meals are reasonable.
Perhaps our only 'caution' is to say that because Sintesa is up-the-hill it is very quiet, and you can't really stroll to shopping etc.
The hotel shuttle, which runs hourly up and down the hill, is handy and takes you to shops, massages, beach, etc.
It was possibly even quieter than we expected. That wasn't a real problem as our goal was to read, rest/chill, swim, and catch some sun. We accomplished this!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrowneDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear BrowneDog,

Thank you for choosing us to stay here, please allow us to apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and did not meet your expectation. Indeed our hotel is located in the hills of jimbaran and we have great view at the night from the rooftop on 7. You can see lights of the hotel in the jimbaran beach also airplane landing in ngurah rai airport in our rooftop.

We thank you again for sharing your feedback and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to show you the truly standard of our resort. We will always be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
Heny,
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews