We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
288
96
44
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
96
44
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scoopon deal hourly shuttle local shopping centre hotel bali junior suite movie room beautiful hotel steam room buffet breakfast interconnecting rooms rooms are great extra bed pleasant stay star hotel the hotel offers quiet area front office
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 467 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2017

I stayed here on a 10 day Scoopon deal which was great value with the many drink,foood and massage vouchers. The outstanding element of this hotel is the staff. They work tirelessly to make your stay comfortable as possible. The restaurant was a standout with delicious food served with a wide an interesting menu.
Was the stay perfect? No, but the staff did everything to make my time as comfortable as possible with a upgrade to an Executive Suit for free when I was woken up by a an adjoining room. A previous reviewer referred to the Chinese element and I agree with everything she said.
But this problem is not isolated to this hotel and is a problem all over Bali. This should not take away from the hotel nor the wonderful staff who make this hotel so special.
The staff, the room, Restaurant were all outstanding.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patrick50H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, General Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Casimir44,

Warmest Greeting from The Sitesa Jimbaran,
Thank you for choosing us to staying here and I am honored to read your positive comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.
It is indeed my privileges to learn that you had wonderful holiday with us. I will always be delighted to welcome you back in the warmth hospitality of our resort.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Our group of 10 of us booked this through my scoopon deal. Firstly the good points. The staff were very welcoming and polite and tried to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The pool was a decent size and provided some shade next to the sunken lounge. Beware of the tiles around the pool as the floor is highly slippery! We had 6 kids with us from 7-15 who enjoyed the floating beanbag chairs and pool towel service. After a mix up with rooms on arrival days after issues with my friends at this hotel, I was upgraded to an Executive room. This room I cannot fault apart from NO bottle opener, the fridge not working efficiently and the noisy air con for a new hotel. Otherwise this room had plenty of space for our family and 2 balconies, 2 toilets, 2 tvs and lots of free water supplied. The Bar was as pictured and not very busy on our stay a few weeks ago, so service was both quick and friendly. The vouchers from scoopon for this deal were VERY restrictive and there was a choice of cocktails and unfortunately, only a 3hr window for massages each day and booked atleast 2 days in advance (we didn't get to use any) The hotel does NOT have any shops close by and walking up and down a hill with kids was our group idea of relaxing! The shuttle was hourly and you had to arrange to stop at alternative places to eat or buy supermarket items. Shopping centre style shops DO NOT exist near this hotel. The menu in the restaurants was also restrictive and mostly caters for the Asian or indo taste and over priced for kids meals at $10 each for what they were. The lobby is large and very well furnished, the grounds well manicured but the noise in the hotel (doors shutting) and (scooters coming & going under our room 2125 most of the night) was ok for a couple of days. The beds are EXTREMELY hard and a few in our group woke with sore backs daily. For myself and my son who are allergic to mozzies, this was NOT the ideal hotel, which led us to again complain to the management after many other issues. The management were polite, but told us we needed to resolve the issue with Scoopon and after being bitten night & day, we checked out of our deal 3 nights early with many unused vouchers and at another $300 expense to us for another hotel. The breakfast is served near the pool and the food was not hygienically presented with yoghurt & fruit left out in dishes for the entire breakfast time. Very poor breakfast for a 5 star also. My friend also experienced stomach issues after several days of eating here and we then had to utilise taxis or shuttles to eat out. The kids club looked good although our kids did not want to go in there and the hotel was lacking some needed maintenance with loose fittings in most toilets and things you wouldn't expect from a newly opened hotel. Part of the hotel was still unfurnished in rooms and there was no money changer at the desk. I went to a 4star hotel aswell as our group for less than I paid per night and had a better experience. I only stayed 4 nights out of the 7 and still had many unused vouchers and they refused any kind of refund or to even transport us to the new hotel. am currently awaiting a reply for the dispute about the standards for my money I lost with scoopon.

Room tip: Executtive rooms and Junior suite were the better choice
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, General Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Barbara L,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. we were disapointed to read that your last stay with us was not up to your expectation and we sincerely apologise for this.
we strive to provide a superior service experience for our guest and only from detail comments from our valueable guests that allow us to keep on improving our quality of service through continous training to our staff.
we hope this experience will not impair your trust in The Sintesa Jimbaran. We would to welcome you back to our resort for a better stay.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

We bought a Scoopon voucher for 7 nights' accommodation at Sintesa.

Highlights:
- friendly staff
- breakfast
- clean, comfortable rooms
- quiet location
- nice grounds and public areas

Conditions apply to Scoopon bookings that are not advised when booking:
- restricted menu for meals is average
- massages included are feet and shoulders only and not flexible and are limited to between 2pm and 4pm each day. Very inconvenient times.

All in all a pleasant stay however couldn't help feeling a bit like second class citizens because we booked on Scoopon which would have been fine had we known when booking.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SimonO1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, General Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Simon O,

Thank you for your lavish praise towards our hotel. We are so delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will certainly share your kind review with our entire. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We do hope to welcome you back to our resort for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Firstly the staff within the Sintesa are wonderful- very accommodating and friendly!
The location of the Sintesa is somewhat isolated and it was very quiet within the hotel, at times were felt like the only ones there. The rooms are average size with nice balcony and views. The let down in the rooms was the cleanliness of the bathrooms which was poor for the size and scope of this hotel. While the breakfast was lovely and a highlight, the options and quality at the restaurant is lacking. Again we were often the only ones dining which was strange. The roof top is a nice extra however is under utilised and resourced. The area of Jimbaran is cute and the seafood dinners on the beach are lovely. While we had a pleasant stay I will look for another hotel in the area for our next stay

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annakW662TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, General Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear AnnakW662TU,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. we were disapointed to read that your last stay with us was not up to your expectation and we sincerely apologise for this.
we strive to provide a superior service experience for our guest and only from detail comments from our valueable guests that allow us to keep on improving our quality of service through continous training to our staff.
we hope this experience will not impair your trust in The Sintesa Jimbaran. We would to welcome you back to our resort for a better stay.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Just back from a week in Bali staying at The Sintesa on a Scoopon deal.
It is a great hotel perched on top of the hill in Jimbaran. Literally right on the top.

The good :

There's lots of good by the way.

Pick up from airport was professional, easy and without fault. Bottled water in car for us and a great driver to reacquaint us with the Bali roads.
On arrival we were given a refreshing welcome drink and a timely check in.
As we checked in before designated time we were shown to The BarBer to wait until our room became ready. The staff took our bags up to the room and came and gave us room keys and our vouchers while we were having a drink and bite to eat.

We booked a Junior Suite and it was very clean, balcony with two chairs and a side table, super big very comfy king bed with great pillows, dressing room off the nice bathroom. Tv plus DVD player.
Always plenty of bottled water. Some in fridge, bar area and bathroom on arrival and restocked daily.
A few complimentary mini bar items were appreciated for our arrival too. (Couple of cans of coke, a kit Kat, nuts and crips of some sort).

The pool is great - having an undercover area fantastic to escape the sun. There were plenty of sun loungers available and the lights over the pool at night made it a nice place to have a quick dip to cool off.

Massage vouchers on the deal can only be used at certain times of the day(arvo) and fill up extra quick. I only ended up using 2 of mine as we were generally out and about in the arvos. They consist of half an hour of foot and leg, then half and hour head and shoulders.
The gym and exercise room were situated next to the spa.

Meal vouchers can only be used in Agin Agin restaurant (not room service) and were 3 courses per voucher. A choice of about 5 or 6 set menus of generally good quality and quantity. You can also use your cocktail/beer vouchers while having dinner.
Again there was about 5 or 6 choices for the complimentary cocktails.

The Sintesa management have obviously listened to guest feedback and now have a group Breakfast area and a non group eating area at The BarBer. This was very much appreciated for reasons I'll put in the not so good.
Buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and items changed regularly.

The free shuttle to the beach was fantastic and would drop us anywhere en route. There's a new restaurant complex called Samasta which also has a fantastic Sereh supermarket and The House of Trap plus a nail salon which we got dropped off at regularly.

Other reviewers have mentioned the road leading up to the hotel and my experience is that some taxis seem less than keen to accept the ride as a result of this or you may pay more for your ride. Just to be aware.

We had some minor room issues with the safe and our room door but they were resolved immediately by the very capable friendly and efficient reception staff.

The not so good :

This hotels clientele is predominantly Chinese. Please be aware of this. They generally do not have the same filter of what's socially acceptable - pushing, spitting, dripping straight out of the pool to the lifts etc etc

Unfortunately a new party arrived late one arvo and were given rooms around ours on the same floor.
The yelling, running and slamming doors finally got enough for me by 2am when I became a crazed woman and started yelling at them to shut up in return.

Needless to say I dragged myself to reception the following morning and Kerry kindly arranged to move us.

Done.

The staff at The Sintesa are great in true Balinese style. Special mention to Kerry and Ratna at reception, Derry at breakfast and the gorgeous girl at Angin Angin restaurant who was just delightful to deal with (sorry her name escapes me). They all deserve special mention as do the guys who drive the shuttles.

Al in all amazing value at this hotel on the hill.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jilliwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sintesa Jim... B, General Manager at The Sintesa Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear Jilliwil,

Thank you for your lavish praise towards our hotel. We are so delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will certainly share your kind review with our entire. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We do hope to welcome you back to our resort for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews