We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karma Royal Jimbaran
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“So relaxing.”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Can't recommend this enough.
Royal Bali Beach Club is a wonderful oasis of comfort and relaxation. Having travelled fairly extensively over Bali, the wife and I were nicely surprised at how relaxed Jimbaran is. There is no pressure to purchase, no hawking on the streets, and a very casual attitude toward tourists. It feels as if you’re a part of the area, not jut a visitor.

We are members of the Royal Bali Beach Club, having joined in 2008. This is our first stay, in fact, our firt visit to Jimbaran, since we joind. The place hasn’t changed. It is still spotellessly clean, the grass kept mown, the paths swept, the pool sparkling and the rooms pristine. Marble everywhere, two airconditioners, a lovely balcony overlooking the tranquil gardens, a king bed and a brilliantly appointed ensuite. The kitchenette has a microwave, toaster, jug, coffee maker and a bar fridge stocked with the basics: beer, soft drink, choclate and water (for a charge).

The staff are all spectatcualrly polite. They all speak English, albeit to varying degrees but those with whom you need to have regular contact are quite fluent. The driver is also fluent in French and German!

The staff were excellent upon arrival, the checkin smooth, the room ready and the place spotless.
My wife and I stayed here for a week 7-15 October 2011. We had had a bad experience with a Royal Resort in Thailand and we entered with some trepidation. However, upon arrival, our fears were allayed. Komang from front-of-house was exceptional; he showed us to our room, had the porters organise our bags, showed us the air-con controls, the use of the safe and the various appointments of our room. He also explained about the weekly meeting held on Sundays to welcome new guests to discuss activities and he also explained the hours for meals and room service. He was, coincidentally, the chap who checked us out and drove us to our next hotel. What an asset he and all the staff there are to the Royal Bali Beach Resort.
The meals were presented well and well cooked. The breakfast menu heavily relied on serving hot meals with, or comprised of, eggs although the banana pancakes and the nasi goreng were spectacular!
Pool-side snack and drink service was available from 9am to 7pm. The pool itself is only 1.3m deep and is small by many standards by, seeing as there are only 16 rooms, it wasn't crowded at any time. And, while there are only 12 loungers, there were always a couple free for me and The Boss to settle into and soak up some sun and read books from the small library in reception.
The beach is not accessible through the Intercontinental Hotel across the road anymore as the security seem a bit more strict. We wanted to enter the grounds to check out the dinner menu and were turned away. Why is anyone's guess.
However, for those wishing to go to Jimbaran Beach, the walk takes about 10-12 minutes along the road. This road also accesses the multitude of cafes and seafood restaurants which line the upper portion of the bay between the Intercontinental's beach frontage and the Four Seasons' beach frontage (which is currently being demolished and rebuilt).
The Menega Cafe is the pick of the bunch. Go the Jumbo Prawns (four to a kilogram!)

The KSpa (the inhouse spa) is very expensive. They ask IDR250,000 for an hour Bali massage while next door (to the right as you exit) you can get the same massage for IDR70,000. Admnittedly, we didn't even enter the KSpa but the place next door was clean and, although the women's English was okay at best, the quality of the massages (The Minister for War went there daily, I went twice) was great.

One other thing, Jimbaran isn't a hard-hitting all-night party town (thanfully) and the majority of the people you see are in the 30-50 age bracket, strolling around, enjoying the hassle-free walking. If you want late night partying and high-intensity shopping, go to Kuta or Legian.

It was, without a doubt, the most relaxing holiday week I have ever spent.
Are we going back next year? Well, The Boss brought up the idea, so I guess that's a definite "Yes" .

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9, it is on the ground floor right near the pool and restaurant area. You have to walk p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TheOracleofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    64
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed there in june in a 1bd apartment(timeshare exchange), loved the place, kids loved the pool but the wonderful people that work there make your stay remarkable, they try to accomodate you and nothing is too much for them when you ask something, from the housekeeping to reception.. to great food, excellent chefs, great stay, would like to go again, smiles all the way:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lidiaostafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 10 days in September 2011. It was one of the best places we have stayed. We loved the location, the hotel, the room, the pool, the food & the staff. All in all it all added up to a great holiday and can't wait to get back there. We stayed in Room 2 just behind reception - so we got great wifi reception as well. It was my birthday when we were there - they gave me an amazing arrangement of flowers.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 just behind reception - so we got great wifi reception as well. I also believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this Royal Resorts timeshare resort reluctantly. Our friends from the UK, who were staying there also, wanted to stay there (due to cost) even though they had stayed there in 2006 and were disappointed with the facilities available in the Jimbaran area. We would have preferred to stay in Legian or Sanur. Anyway, we were pleasantly surprised as were our UK friends.

The resort itself is quite small as is the pool. There were occasions when there were no lounges available at the pool. ALL of the resort staff were excellent (restaurant, reception, maintenance) and they enhanced our stay. A special mention to Ms Made in the restaurant.

As for our 1BR room, we were very pleased apart from the position. We and our friends had adjacent rooms on the first floor with joined balconies which is what we requested. However these rooms are at the front near the road (Jl Uluwatu) which was quite noisy when sitting outside and talking. Overall it was OK. Rooms 2,3 would have been better, but were not adjoining. The rooms were well appointed and clean (no, no rats that we saw). The water fountain with a large water bottle (35000 Rp) was great - better than carrying bottles of water from the shop. We all thought that the balcony areas could use a paint.

Being timeshare, there was the constant flow of prospective clients being shown through the resort as you laid by the pool - a bit annoying but that's timeshare.

As I said, the staff were excellent and very responsive. We had some minor problems with the room (light globes, rattly A/C, smelly drains) but these were fixed VERY quickly - like 5 minutes!! Also, every night staff came and turned down the bed and brought mosquito coils for the balcony.

We and our UK friends were very happy with the facilities around the resort, although no tourist markets that we found. The were 2 supermarkets nearby - Tam's about 50m away and a Circle K about 8 mins walk south. La Fausta massage spa was excellent and about 10m away and cheaper than the resort's KSpa. As for restaurants we can recommend Pepenero's Italian about 3 mins away by taxi (at Temple Hill), Cafe Chocolat (owned by a Belgian guy) and Grocer & Grind, both in the new Jimbaran Shopping Centre about a 5 minute walk away. Then of course, right next to the resort is Villa Balquisse which has a restaurant you can use for breakfast and dinner. Also the resort has a restaurant which is quite good. We had breakfast there most days and some dinners - reasonable prices. These were all that we found in the area (apart from the Intercontinental over the road). For anything else, travel to Kuta or Legian for 40000Rp-50000Rp. We ate twice at Indonational in Jl. Padma in Legian, a favourite of ours - great food, good prices.

For money changing, I found the best rates in Sanur (about 9000 Rp to AUD1) but the resort rate was OK, there was a trustworthy Money Changer also about 20M north with about the same rate as the hotel, and for Aussie's, there is also a Commonwealth Bank ATM near the Money Changer if you run out of Aussie $$ to change.

Lastly our friends love to lie on the beach. In '06 they found nothing but this time we found that some of the fish restaurants on the beach will hire 2 lounges and an umbrella for the day for 50000Rp so our friends were rapt!!! It made their holiday (apart from our company of course :)).

So overall, the holiday worked out better than expected and the resort was nice.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 8 were at the front and had road noise on balcony but OK. Rooms 2,3 are best but not adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My 2 girls have 5 young children so to be able to leave the kids in Australia for 5 days with their Dads while we enjoyed RBBC Jimbaran was such a great experience. Thanks to the staff for your relaxed, friendly but professional service, especially the magnificent girls at KSpa, where we endulged ourselves with many beauty treatments - the best I have ever experienced at very reasonable rates. The food was lovely and the staff delightful

RBBC Jimbaran is a small establishment offering everything needed for a most relaxing holiday in clean, comfortable surrounds.

Barb Goldberg
Australia

Room Tip: Try to stay facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have been coming to Royal Bali Beach Club for many years as Royal members, but this is the first time as "Elite" members, and so stayed in an "Imperial" room. We have stayed in this room before it was "upgraded", but were frankly disappointed. It is a very large 1 bed aprt, and the main upgrade is the bathroom, which has had new marble wall tiles and separate shower fitted, but unfortunately, the lovely stone bath has been replaced with a modern plastic one, which spoils the ambience and "Bali-ness". The huge bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is now equipped with a larger fridge freezer and 2 ring hob. The resort, having only 16 aprts is very intimate and friendly, which is why we like it here, but it is not really the place to take children.
As always the service is excellent, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We feel that the food in the restaurant has improved with a wider menu. The suckling pig on Friday was great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

V small place but staff is good. Pool is very small. Food is v average. I would not go there again. Chandidasa is a much better optio but remember you'll be away from the kuta beach then. We took two days here n 5days at chandidasa

Room Tip: Go to the beach through intercontinental . That is awesome.food at the beach is too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poonam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
17.5 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#82 of 198 in Ubud
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#17 of 57 in Jimbaran
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#5 of 57 in Jimbaran
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.3 mi away
Balibaliku Beach Front Luxury Private Pool Villa
0.5 mi away
Karma Jimbaran
Karma Jimbaran
#9 of 57 in Jimbaran
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Jimbaran

Property: Karma Royal Jimbaran
Address: Jl. Uluwatu no. 18x, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Jimbaran: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#24 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Royal Jimbaran 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Resorts: Royal Bali Beach Club at Jimbaran Bay, located adjacent to the beautiful beach of Jimbaran Bay, offers an exclusive private holiday experience to always remember. The resort is truly first class with sixteen luxury one bedroom apartments, each fully air conditioned with private balconies or courtyards. The pool area is breathtaking and offers the perfect place to relax after a day at the beach, a shopping trip to nearby Kuta or a day excursion around the island. A short walk along the beach will lead you to Karma Jimbaran with the famous di Mare Restaurant. So if it is high quality cuisine you are looking for or the budget priced fresh seafood served by the beach shack restaurants, then Jimbaran Bay offers the best of what’s available right across the spectrum leaving you spoiled for choice night after night. The Royal Bali Beach Club is only fifteen minutes from Denpasar airport and central to most tourist attractions on Bali. The beaches and golf courses of Nusa Dua and the shopping mecca of Kuta are fifteen minutes away in a taxi, and the boat harbour and Waterbom Park are 25 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karma Royal Jimbaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bali Beach Club At Jimbaran Bay Hotel Jimbaran
Karma Royal Jimbaran Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing