We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma Jimbaran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karma Jimbaran
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and had a great time including the pool which was relaxing to all. We stayed in a 3 bedroom hall including a master bedroom which was on the first floor. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnychadha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sunnychadha14,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience at Karma Jimbaran. We are delighted that you’ve enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
See you soon in sunny Bali!


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    117
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
215
145
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week, Villas are very luxurious & clean. The living area that looks over the pool is just magic and a perfect place to relax. The only down fall for us was the noise of traffic, and the location, had to take a taxi to get to everything. There were no shops, markets or restaurants within walking distance. But we still had a great time.

Room Tip: Try not to get no 27, as it is the closest to the road behind, so it is a little noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devereux1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear devereux1950,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience at Karma Jimbaran.

There are presently two separate strip malls that are being constructed, both within short walking distance, and both will contain shops, markets, and restaurants! These are still a year off or so, but in the meantime, the seafood warungs are only a short stroll down the beach, as well as the restaurants and shops at Jimbaran corner which would be a 10 minute walk from the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran.


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Despite all the reviews, pls be forewarned. As this review is to serve the purpose of giving a honest review of our stay in Karma Jimbaran.

We stayed in Karma Jimbaran for 4 nights, and it was the worst experience we had in a villa in Bali. Its such a shame as we were always surprised by the quality of lodging and the service rendered in all our stays in bali, no matter how established the hotel or villa is.

The experience started on the first day as there was NO water supply, the staff told us repeatedly that it was going to be ready in 15 mins from 9pm. We will reeling in disbelieve that not only did it took till morning for the water supply to return, no phone call was forthcoming as all 9 of us were waiting to wash up, flush the toilets for the entire night! the only good thing was that mineral water was given as a last resort to allow us to brush our teeth with; and that only happened when we asked for it!

On the second day, the air conditioning in several of the rooms started to breakdown, this was followed by the kitchen and other electronics malfunctioning. The air conditioning continued to breakdown throughout our stay in the villa, some of us were left sweating into the night. At all times, there was no initiative, or solution provided to us, we gave up halfway trying to get help and had to bear with the discomforts until we left. The Villa manager didnt even have the decency to explain the situation.

so to say that our only saving grace was our time out of the villa. I reckon requirements such as water supply and for electronics,kitchen and air conditioning can be perceived as basic requirements for a villa establishment like Karma.

To all of you reading this, try to avoid this villa establishment in Jimbaran. Perhaps their sister villa in Karma Kandara was managed differently, but this experience was such a shame to the reputation of bali i will avoid the Karma chain altogether.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Selvi_Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Selvi_Pan

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at Karma Jimbaran.
We take your comments very seriously and will use them in our efforts of ultimate guest satisfaction.

The water supply issue you’ve mentioned was the result of heavy digging machinery outside of our resort rupturing a water main. The staff were conveying to you the information as it was received from the local water company. This issue was beyond our control and although we have back-up tanks, they were quickly depleted. Since this incident, we have increased our tank capacity to ensure a similar incident does not reoccur.

It was unfortunate that the AC units Freon had expired during your stay. Although the AC’s were quickly recharged, we are empathetic of your experience and perception of our resort with these two compounding issues. We take great pride in our guests overall experience and would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Karma Jimbaran, or the stunning Karma Kandara.

Please contact me directly and I will ensure that your next experience is the proper Karma experience.


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Karma Jimbaran is a great place to stay for two families traveling together ( our case) or for bigger groups. For this Bali trip, we booked ourselves in 3 different villas, Karma Kandara being our first stop. Our 4 Br villa was definitely spacious, having big sized rooms and high ceilings and a decent sized pool. Each room was well appointed and each family did not feel short changed as 3 out of 4 bedrooms felt like it was a Master's Bedroom. We had the opportunity to visit the sister resort
Karma Kandara but we felt that the Jimbaran property is much more suited to families as it has a homier feel & is more private. Don't forget to cross the street for sunset drinks at the Four Season's Sundara bar as well as have an Italian dinner at Pepenero..very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marga_philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear marga_philippines

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Karma Jimbaran. Karma Jimbaran is indeed the ideal resort for couples, friends, or families that are traveling together. We will soon debut our Wine and Tapas lounge which will feature great boutique wines paired with contemporary and traditional tapas in a Moroccan-esque décor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran.

Sincerely,


Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights and had the best time, the rooms were amazing, the was in one of the villas with 3 rooms all rooms were occupied by the same party, I was in the mater room upstairs with the on-suite, the room was very spacious, clean, just amazing, there was security on site so the safety is not even an issue. There is not much happening near the resort but the taxi to Kuta and Nusa Dua was extremely cheap. Will definitively go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMaroubra2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear SydneyMaroubra2035

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay at Karma Jimbaran. There has been continuous development both within the resort as well as outside the resort in terms of dining, lounging, and shopping options. We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran!


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Karma Jimbaran over Easter in a 2 bedroom villa with our 2 children, aged 7 & 8 yo – we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our kids absolutely loved it, and it is the first resort in Bali they have literally begged for us to return to again! For those of you not familiar with the Karma concept, essentially their resorts provide 5-star level spacious villa-style accommodation for families with the additional convenience of hotel/resort facilities at a comparable price. I think this resort has managed to strike the balance pretty well and tick most of the boxes – large spacious villa accommodation, excellent spa, fantastic kids club, and great restaurant. This was our 9th trip to Bali in the last 4 years – overall, this resort would figure high on our list of places to return to, and the only reason I didn’t give it a 5 star rating is because we had some maintenance issues with our villa which weren’t addressed during our stay despite us bringing it to the attention of resort staff.

Jimbaran is quite centrally located on the island (only 10 mins from the airport), but it is away from the hustle & bustle of Bali and any major shopping areas. The Karma is in a nice part of Jimbaran with other well known 5 star resorts nearby - the Four Seasons Resort is immediately adjacent to and the new Le Meridien is just down the road too. The advantage is that when you walk out the front of the hotel you are not accosted by local market sellers or drivers as in other busier areas of Bali. The hotel does have a lovely section of beach across the road, and is an easy walk to a local shopping centre (Jimbaran Corner Shopping Centre) with a couple of great cafes and restaurants (eg Grocer & Grind is great for a coffee & juice), but Jimbaran has a completely different feel and is less well serviced as far as shops & places to eat than staying in Legian, Seminyak, or Nusa Dua. The beachfront at Jimbaran is famous for its collections of seafood restaurants, but I must admit we didn’t actually try them. The hip new beach club restaurant for the Four Seasons, Sundara, is directly across the road from the Karma’s front entrance – I kept wanting to try it but we ran out of time during our short stay. The resort is actually only a short distance away from the airport, Kuta (eg Discovery Mall & Waterbom Park) and Nusa Dua, however, there are so many roadworks happening that traffic goes nowhere fast here at the moment! Ordinarily, it should only take you 15 minutes to either of these locations, but we spent 45 mins in the taxi each time. We allowed an hour to get to Seminyak for a dinner at Sardine (which was great by the way!), and found ourselves ringing the restaurant from the taxi twice, and finally arriving nearly an hour late (yes – it actually took us 1.3/4 hours to get there!).

The resort is set on a hillside across the road from the beach. The resort restaurant, spa and kids club are centrally located within the resort grounds. Breakfast was served in the restaurant each morning – the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast menu had a good range, but nowhere near that you would find in a large buffet of a big resort hotel – small price to pay for having a quiet, peaceful breakfast. We had 2 dinners at the resort – an in-villa BBQ (fantastic and a real highlight of our stay – highly recommended!!) and one in the restaurant (great too). We did in-room dining for lunch, and the food was excellent.

The staff at the Karma Jimbaran are wonderful and provide a friendly personalized level of service - gracious, warm, welcoming and always trying to go the extra step to ensure you have a great stay. One morning we enquired after the music that was playing at breakfast, and then when we were unable to find the CD in the local shopping centre, our waiter proudly gave us a copy from his local store the next day. The kids club was excellent – our kids loved the activities, and the pet rabbits. Whilst we were at dinner on Easter Saturday, the girls from the kids club came & left chocolate Easter bunnies on the kids’ bedside tables with an invitation to attend an Easter hunt the next day. Our kids actually kept asking to go back to the kids club and were disappointed when we said we had other activities planned – this was a first for us, and a testimony to how much fun they were having there. The spa was also excellent with great therapists – we enjoyed several treatments during our stay. The Couples Himalayan Ritual was fabulous, and even the kids enjoyed their own kiddie-spa treatments there too!

Guests at the Karma Jimbaran can take a 20 min courtesy resort taxi and visit Nammo’s Beach Club at their sister resort, Karma Kandara. We were initially a bit ambivalent about this as we are so used to great beaches back home, but this was definitely well worth the visit! The beach here, which is accessed via a steep lift, is amazing – completely private and inaccessible to the general public so you are not subject to hagglers on the beach. There is a great beach club there – sunbeds, towels, toilets, showers, great drinks & meals menu – and prior to our arrival the hotel had reserved us a perfect table on the deck looking out over the beach. We only spent a couple of hours there, and could have actually stayed longer!

We were actually upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa for our stay, which was extremely spacious. We had a terrace overlooking a private plunge pool, and the water was always a perfect temperature. The villa consisted of two pavilions: a living pavilion with lounge, dining, kitchen & powder room; and a bedroom pavilion with 2 bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms on the ground floor, and the large master bedroom with dressing room and bathroom upstairs. To get to each bedroom you had to walk outside of the villa – this may prove an issue for families with very young children (ie. kids would have to walk out their door & past a koi pond, go up the stairs along the balcony to our bedroom) and also means you need to leave your bedroom doors unlocked at night for easy access between the rooms (the front gate to your villa can be locked, and there are high brick walls surrounding and in between the villas). The villa itself was fabulous – huge spacious rooms, high ceilings, lovely Balinese architecture, comfy beds, full kitchen, large glass sliding doors with plenty of natural light, comfy furniture, large flatscreen TVs, very clean and tidy. Our ensuite bathroom had a huge oval bath, and the larger of the downstairs bedrooms had an outdoor shower off its ensuite. Whilst we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa, we actually found the 3rd bedroom was unusable because of the musty odour – we tried airing the room out for a day but it didn’t make a difference. This did prove a bit of a nuisance because it was the only bathroom in the villa which actually had fully working bathroom fittings. Every single sink, tap & toilet (other than the unused bedroom) really should be replaced – it was either broken or severely stained & worn, which really did let an otherwise fantastic villa down. The showerhead in our ensuite bathroom was broken which meant that you had to hold the head whilst you showered, and you would end up spraying the entire room every time you turned the shower on (we pointed this out to the front desk staff twice, but it wasn’t addressed during our stay). The downstairs bathroom shower couldn’t be used because the water had a foul odour – we ended up using the outdoor shower most of the time, but unfortunately the water pressure was severely lacking which made washing long hair a nearly impossible task. All these problems could be easily solved with appropriate maintenance and replacement.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay here, and the only reason I didn’t give this place 5 stars was because the plumbing hardware in our villa wasn’t up to the standard expected for a 5 star resort. However, the friendliness of resort staff, the excellent kids club and spa, and the great food, were so good that even some plumbing problems didn’t spoil our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear CarKri02

Thank you for your very detailed account of your stay at Karma Jimbaran. We are always eager to have feedback from our guests and your very thorough review is valued.
Firstly, we are happy to say that we have upgraded the bathroom fittings since you stay. The new fittings take the bathrooms to another level.

Also, the traffic is actually getting better. With the addition of the underpass at Simpang Siur and the new toll road that is soon to open, getting to and from should be much more efficient.

Your concern about the pool and ponds for families with small children is valid. We provide fencing for these areas upon request for all families traveling with little ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran so that you can see the continuous improvements made. As well you must try the seafood warungs on your next visit, it is a Bali MUST! As well Sundara is great, and soon you’ll be able to experience our new Wine and Tapas Lounge at Karma Jimbaran.


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The villas are bigger than many people's house. They are nicely designed but some bits aren't perfect (we couldn't really lock the gate or the master bedroom or the tv room or...) or older (the leaking taps etc).
You have a plunge pool in the villa and a lap pool at the restaurant (but you won't be able to send the kids to the pool for the day and leave you alone). The restaurant was close to western standards and prices.
JImbaran is a nice place to do nothing but sit about but there are not many nice alternative restaurants very close by this hotel. The beach doesn't exist at high tide. This is quite close to the airport but the rest of Bali is a slow taxi ride past the airport north (and then back).
If you wanted to be at Jimbaran it might be nicer/cheaper to have a villa with your friends than the expense of multiple hotel rooms but it really depends on what sort of holiday you want

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank benandlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear benandlara,

Thank you for your posting your review of Karma Jimbaran.

Your concern about the locking gates has been rectified, as all of the main gates have been fitted with new locks. The villa itself remains completely lockable, and many of the villas locks have also been updated.

Your concerns about Jimbaran being a bit boring are a bit subjective. The next time you’re in town I’ll be happy to show you around Jimbaran as there are plenty of great restaurants, bars, cafes, and shopping. Please contact me the next time you are in town!


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.0 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
#15 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
1.1 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Jimbaran

Property: Karma Jimbaran
Address: Jl. Bukit Permai, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Jimbaran 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spacious villa product with genuine and friendly Balinese service, Karma Jimbaran offers 3 and 4 bedroom villas all with their own private plunge pool and fully self contained features including full kitchen, dining and living areas, satellite TV, Flat Screen TV and Home Entertainment Systems in each villa. Also inclusive complimentary in each villa is high performance wi-fi access and our famous kids club... as happy kids are happy parents. All bedrooms have en-suites so whether a couple, friends travelling together or families (large or small) there is enough space and privacy so you can all enjoy your time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Karma Jimbaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Jimbaran Hotel Jimbaran
Karma Hotel Jimbaran
Karma Jimbaran Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing