We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karma Jimbaran
Nearby Hotels
$230
RimbaJimbaran.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$305
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$135
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$355
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$660
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$726
$710
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
$257
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
443
154
35
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
154
35
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villavilla bbqprivate poolthree bedroomsister resortseafoodmain bedroomfull kitchenbeach clubclose proximitycooking classkids clubfamily holidaygreat holidayshort walk to the beachgreat villabeautiful resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 648 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Karma Jimbaran over Easter in a 2 bedroom villa with our 2 children, aged 7 & 8 yo – we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our kids absolutely loved it, and it is the first resort in Bali they have literally begged for us to return to again! For those of you not familiar with the Karma concept, essentially their resorts provide 5-star level spacious villa-style accommodation for families with the additional convenience of hotel/resort facilities at a comparable price. I think this resort has managed to strike the balance pretty well and tick most of the boxes – large spacious villa accommodation, excellent spa, fantastic kids club, and great restaurant. This was our 9th trip to Bali in the last 4 years – overall, this resort would figure high on our list of places to return to, and the only reason I didn’t give it a 5 star rating is because we had some maintenance issues with our villa which weren’t addressed during our stay despite us bringing it to the attention of resort staff.

Jimbaran is quite centrally located on the island (only 10 mins from the airport), but it is away from the hustle & bustle of Bali and any major shopping areas. The Karma is in a nice part of Jimbaran with other well known 5 star resorts nearby - the Four Seasons Resort is immediately adjacent to and the new Le Meridien is just down the road too. The advantage is that when you walk out the front of the hotel you are not accosted by local market sellers or drivers as in other busier areas of Bali. The hotel does have a lovely section of beach across the road, and is an easy walk to a local shopping centre (Jimbaran Corner Shopping Centre) with a couple of great cafes and restaurants (eg Grocer & Grind is great for a coffee & juice), but Jimbaran has a completely different feel and is less well serviced as far as shops & places to eat than staying in Legian, Seminyak, or Nusa Dua. The beachfront at Jimbaran is famous for its collections of seafood restaurants, but I must admit we didn’t actually try them. The hip new beach club restaurant for the Four Seasons, Sundara, is directly across the road from the Karma’s front entrance – I kept wanting to try it but we ran out of time during our short stay. The resort is actually only a short distance away from the airport, Kuta (eg Discovery Mall & Waterbom Park) and Nusa Dua, however, there are so many roadworks happening that traffic goes nowhere fast here at the moment! Ordinarily, it should only take you 15 minutes to either of these locations, but we spent 45 mins in the taxi each time. We allowed an hour to get to Seminyak for a dinner at Sardine (which was great by the way!), and found ourselves ringing the restaurant from the taxi twice, and finally arriving nearly an hour late (yes – it actually took us 1.3/4 hours to get there!).

The resort is set on a hillside across the road from the beach. The resort restaurant, spa and kids club are centrally located within the resort grounds. Breakfast was served in the restaurant each morning – the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast menu had a good range, but nowhere near that you would find in a large buffet of a big resort hotel – small price to pay for having a quiet, peaceful breakfast. We had 2 dinners at the resort – an in-villa BBQ (fantastic and a real highlight of our stay – highly recommended!!) and one in the restaurant (great too). We did in-room dining for lunch, and the food was excellent.

The staff at the Karma Jimbaran are wonderful and provide a friendly personalized level of service - gracious, warm, welcoming and always trying to go the extra step to ensure you have a great stay. One morning we enquired after the music that was playing at breakfast, and then when we were unable to find the CD in the local shopping centre, our waiter proudly gave us a copy from his local store the next day. The kids club was excellent – our kids loved the activities, and the pet rabbits. Whilst we were at dinner on Easter Saturday, the girls from the kids club came & left chocolate Easter bunnies on the kids’ bedside tables with an invitation to attend an Easter hunt the next day. Our kids actually kept asking to go back to the kids club and were disappointed when we said we had other activities planned – this was a first for us, and a testimony to how much fun they were having there. The spa was also excellent with great therapists – we enjoyed several treatments during our stay. The Couples Himalayan Ritual was fabulous, and even the kids enjoyed their own kiddie-spa treatments there too!

Guests at the Karma Jimbaran can take a 20 min courtesy resort taxi and visit Nammo’s Beach Club at their sister resort, Karma Kandara. We were initially a bit ambivalent about this as we are so used to great beaches back home, but this was definitely well worth the visit! The beach here, which is accessed via a steep lift, is amazing – completely private and inaccessible to the general public so you are not subject to hagglers on the beach. There is a great beach club there – sunbeds, towels, toilets, showers, great drinks & meals menu – and prior to our arrival the hotel had reserved us a perfect table on the deck looking out over the beach. We only spent a couple of hours there, and could have actually stayed longer!

We were actually upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa for our stay, which was extremely spacious. We had a terrace overlooking a private plunge pool, and the water was always a perfect temperature. The villa consisted of two pavilions: a living pavilion with lounge, dining, kitchen & powder room; and a bedroom pavilion with 2 bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms on the ground floor, and the large master bedroom with dressing room and bathroom upstairs. To get to each bedroom you had to walk outside of the villa – this may prove an issue for families with very young children (ie. kids would have to walk out their door & past a koi pond, go up the stairs along the balcony to our bedroom) and also means you need to leave your bedroom doors unlocked at night for easy access between the rooms (the front gate to your villa can be locked, and there are high brick walls surrounding and in between the villas). The villa itself was fabulous – huge spacious rooms, high ceilings, lovely Balinese architecture, comfy beds, full kitchen, large glass sliding doors with plenty of natural light, comfy furniture, large flatscreen TVs, very clean and tidy. Our ensuite bathroom had a huge oval bath, and the larger of the downstairs bedrooms had an outdoor shower off its ensuite. Whilst we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa, we actually found the 3rd bedroom was unusable because of the musty odour – we tried airing the room out for a day but it didn’t make a difference. This did prove a bit of a nuisance because it was the only bathroom in the villa which actually had fully working bathroom fittings. Every single sink, tap & toilet (other than the unused bedroom) really should be replaced – it was either broken or severely stained & worn, which really did let an otherwise fantastic villa down. The showerhead in our ensuite bathroom was broken which meant that you had to hold the head whilst you showered, and you would end up spraying the entire room every time you turned the shower on (we pointed this out to the front desk staff twice, but it wasn’t addressed during our stay). The downstairs bathroom shower couldn’t be used because the water had a foul odour – we ended up using the outdoor shower most of the time, but unfortunately the water pressure was severely lacking which made washing long hair a nearly impossible task. All these problems could be easily solved with appropriate maintenance and replacement.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay here, and the only reason I didn’t give this place 5 stars was because the plumbing hardware in our villa wasn’t up to the standard expected for a 5 star resort. However, the friendliness of resort staff, the excellent kids club and spa, and the great food, were so good that even some plumbing problems didn’t spoil our stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear CarKri02

Thank you for your very detailed account of your stay at Karma Jimbaran. We are always eager to have feedback from our guests and your very thorough review is valued.
Firstly, we are happy to say that we have upgraded the bathroom fittings since you stay. The new fittings take the bathrooms to another level.

Also, the traffic is actually getting better. With the addition of the underpass at Simpang Siur and the new toll road that is soon to open, getting to and from should be much more efficient.

Your concern about the pool and ponds for families with small children is valid. We provide fencing for these areas upon request for all families traveling with little ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran so that you can see the continuous improvements made. As well you must try the seafood warungs on your next visit, it is a Bali MUST! As well Sundara is great, and soon you’ll be able to experience our new Wine and Tapas Lounge at Karma Jimbaran.


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The villas are bigger than many people's house. They are nicely designed but some bits aren't perfect (we couldn't really lock the gate or the master bedroom or the tv room or...) or older (the leaking taps etc).
You have a plunge pool in the villa and a lap pool at the restaurant (but you won't be able to send the kids to the pool for the day and leave you alone). The restaurant was close to western standards and prices.
JImbaran is a nice place to do nothing but sit about but there are not many nice alternative restaurants very close by this hotel. The beach doesn't exist at high tide. This is quite close to the airport but the rest of Bali is a slow taxi ride past the airport north (and then back).
If you wanted to be at Jimbaran it might be nicer/cheaper to have a villa with your friends than the expense of multiple hotel rooms but it really depends on what sort of holiday you want

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank benandlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear benandlara,

Thank you for your posting your review of Karma Jimbaran.

Your concern about the locking gates has been rectified, as all of the main gates have been fitted with new locks. The villa itself remains completely lockable, and many of the villas locks have also been updated.

Your concerns about Jimbaran being a bit boring are a bit subjective. The next time you’re in town I’ll be happy to show you around Jimbaran as there are plenty of great restaurants, bars, cafes, and shopping. Please contact me the next time you are in town!


Sincerely,

Raymond Saja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed three couples in the villas. Really nice villas with bedrooms and spacious bathroom each. The master upstairs. another ground floor bedroom entry from outside and third bedroom and bathroom off the main living and dining area. This bedroom was supposed only to have two single beds but staff arranged a double bed. We had previously emailed the management to ask for a double in this room and was told not possible so it was a nice surprise to have it arranged when we arrived. Pool good size bigger than I thought it woulld be. Only disappointment was the food. We ordered lunch when we arrived and were very disappointed so we did not eat there again except for breakfast one day. The menu looked amazing so this was disappointing. Good service from all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Tracey615,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Karma Jimbaran. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the villas and the villa pools.

The entire F&B operation has been updated since your stay with menus by a New York City chef as well as a new Wine and Tapas Lounge.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran.

Sincerely,

Raymond Saja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I along with two other couples stay in a 3 bed villa for 4 night from the 15th of April. We all had double beds and bathrooms. These villa a not new and could do with some maintenance work Things I notice only because I work in the construction industry. Overall the villas a clean and tidy.We all had a great time having a privet pool was fantastic. Our happy hour was the best in Bali. The Staff were also the best in Bali they help us with every thing. from good restaurants to the super market.Transport to place, free shuttles to there sister hotel. The staff were very accommodating. The only thing about Jimbaran is that you need a taxi to get to place saying that you can walk to the Corner Store shop and cafe,s and the beach restaurants. This Villa with good friends can be a lot of fun. I would go back.
Restaurants we liked PepNero Balique and the first fish restaurant on the corner of the row of fish restaurants on the beach

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow and mosquito replant
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear NickPerth,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at Karma Jimbaran. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be extremely accommodating.

The Jimbaran area continues to develop and there are even more restaurants, shops, and cafes within walking distance, as well as our new Wine and Tapas lounge at Karma Jimbaran.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Jimbaran!

Sincerely,

Raymond Saja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I recently returned from a trip to Bali where, after spending several nights in a more rural part of the island, we decided to treat ourselves by staying at Karma Jimbaran for our last two nights. We had booked through Expedia and packaged our flights in as well, so when I booked a standard room I wasn't expecting too much.

When we arrived, we had been upgraded to a four bedroom villa with so many facilities we didn't know what to do with ourselves. We told the staff this was far more than we needed and that we were happy to drop down to a smaller room in case other guests needed the upgraded villa, but the staff were wonderful and generously insisted that we were also their guests and we should enjoy ourselves. Reception staff were incredibly helpful, always happy to have a chat, recommend activities, call cabs and always made sure we knew to call on them for any help.

Our villa was luxurious, clean and very comfortable and definitely matched the photos on the website. While there are other reviewers stating that some aspects of the room could be cleaner and looked like they hadn't been used in a while, I think it must be taken into consideration that these are massive properties. With spacious bedrooms and a private pool in every villa, I feel as if staff have provided cleaning to a high standard. If things such as outdoor bathrooms required more cleaning, this would be nigh impossible to provide given the size and scale of the villas.

The location of the resort is out of the way in a quiet area, but for a cheap cab ride ($5) you can end up in Kuta or any other tourist-filled location. We found that walking suited us and were happy to experience local food etc. We didn't find the restaurant to be particularly great, quite standard food and relatively expensive for the quality. We had in-room dining with two main meals and two (non-alchoholic) drinks and it came to a total of around $AU50. Considering we could get a larger, higher standard meal at the local seafood joints about 100m down the road, we found this somewhat disappointing. The restaurant was always particularly quite so the atmosphere wasn't something that lured us their either.

A special mention to that reception staff who looked after us even after we had checked out. My partner and I had a very late flight (11pm) on the day we checked out and after spending all day sightseeing and sweating in the Bali humidity, the staff were kind enough to lend us the Spa facilities to shower prior to picking up our bags later that night and heading to the airport. We were extremely grateful for this!

Great experience and would definitely come back and bring family/friends so we could make use of such great facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Dear AustralianGoat

It's been a while since your great review of Karma Jimbaran and we would love to welcome you back again in the future to experience the changes that we have made to our Karma Lounge restaurant and also try out our latest outlet, Veritas Duo Wine Lounge, which offers the best priced wine in Bali with delicious Tapas dishes to match.

Do let us know when you will next be visiting Bali and it would be great to see you again at Karma Jimbaran!

Kind Regards

Graeme Freeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews