We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
475
167
36
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
167
36
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villavilla bbqprivate poolvalley viewthree bedroomsister resortseafoodmain bedroombeach clubcooking classkids clubfamily holidayshort walk to the beachgreat holidayoutdoor showergreat villabeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 698 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stumbled upon Karma JImbaran online and was attracted to the photos of the rooms, which led me to book a 3 room villa for 6 adults, 2 kids and 1 infant.

Our flight was delayed and we arrived Bali 2 hours later much to our dismay, but was warmly greeted by the airport transfer driver arranged by Karma Jimbaran. We came to the resort and was somewhat surprised by the small reception and was fearing that the villa was nothing like the pictures on the website.

We were driven up to our villa and were prepared for a disappointment. But to our pleasant surprise, the villa was marvelously huge and beautiful! We were even more pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a 4 room villa! The interior and exterior of the villa were tastefully designed. The adults were WOWing at the sheer beauty of the villa, while the kids were excitedly running in and out of the rooms and close to jumping into the private pool. The bathrooms were big and you have the option to bath outdoors. Though the villa has aged a little, this can be overlooked easily. The villa has almost everything complete for our family of 9 to live for the next 4 days, including free wifi.

The breakfast at Karma Lounge was pretty good, Eggs Benedict being one of the favorites. The kids enjoyed themselves at the Kids club, learning to bead necklaces, bracelets and donning Balinese costumes. The Spa massages could have been better with more strength to un-knot the knots.

Overall, we were all very happy to have chosen Karma Jimbaran and would come back again. Friends who saw the photos we posted on Facebook were also marveling at the villa and asking for more pictures and recommendations, which we happily provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purrlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Purrlyn, thank you for your review of our proud resort. The villas are exceptionally spacious as you have noted and perfect for families especially when the kids club who provide a fantastic service (as happy kids are happy parents) is included in our rates so wonderful added value for our guests. I do appreciate your comments about the age of the villas but rest assured knowing we do have have a very stringent ongoing preventative maintenance program in place to ensure we stay ahead of these wonderful villas becoming tired, especially given the elements we have to endure and our consistently high occupancy. Our team enjoy what they do and I am very confident this reflects in what we do in all areas and the guest experience we can create as you enjoyed. I look forward to seeing you when you are here next.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in a 3 bedroom villa, they were great, big roomy, fixtures modern and wonderful plunge pool in the middle. The Australian manager was very helpful and informative and attend to all our maintenance issues right away (front office staff not so much). Good location right across the road from the beach and it was nice to get back to the villa's after a busy/noisy day out and have a little bit of quietness and own space. The children 7&9 loved the plunge pool and being in their own room away from the grown ups, especially the outdoor shower. The kids club needs air conditioning and more activities for the kids to do - they didn't stick to the list once although the kids loved the Balinese dress ups and the scuba diving lesson. We loved the nightly turn down service when they turned up 6 night out of the 10. Would definitely recommend these villa's, not 5 star but well worth it for what we paid. We will be back next time we go to Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Lisa M, thank you for your review and your lengthy stay with us. Our villa products are wonderful, spacious with everything else you mentioned and more. We are very proud of our product, our team and what we provide to our guests. While I appreciate some of your notes about responsiveness and consistency, we are far from perfect and I am glad you have noted this as these postings are read out daily in our morning briefings, so are a wonderful training and development tool for our teams right across the board. On occasions some of our operational items do misbehave during a guests stay, but when issues do present themselves it is the recovery that is paramount to fixing the guest experience and I do believe we were able to do this well as you have mentioned you would return. I look forward to this occuring and anything I can do to assist in making this happen, I am only a phone call or e-mail away.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom villa with friends and I was very happy with the experience.

The villa is beautiful, with a small plunge pool and great living / dining room. The kitchen is fully equipped and I was very happy that they accommodated our request for additional (many) cutlery for a party that we threw for friends during the afternoon. They also cleaned up the place very quickly after the guests left. The rooms are nice, very standard villa rooms that you would get in most upmarket Bali properties.

Location-wise, it is very nicely located across the road from the beach club and beach, so do bear in mind that there is no beach front in this property.

Service wise, they are not the most responsive of staff, but I find that this is a problem in many villas - you generally don't expect the service quality of 5-star hotels, so it is something that I can live with. But they do tend to your requests eventually, and in true Indonesian hospitality, always very courteously.

The breakfast is pretty good, and they have a nice lap pool in the middle of the property.

Will definately go back.

Room Tip: Request for a villa close to the restaurant and pool as some rooms are quite a trek away.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear walkingheels, thank you for your belated posting from June and we greatly appreciate your heading! While we do not disagree, there is a lot of quality competition and product that surrounds us which is very fortunate for everyone, especially our guests. Places like Ayana, 4 Seasons and Intercontinental are wonderful products with fantastic reputations we are just a different product to all of them mainly because of our 3 and 4 bedroom villas which are fully self contained with own private plunge pool, relative to hotel style accomodation. We offer all the same services, just a very large villa which also makes it feel more homely. I appreciate your note on the responsiveness, also glad that beyond this our team provided an "above and beyond" approach for your function during your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future to enjoy again our product and team.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and i spent 6 nights at Karma Jimbaran and loved every second of it. The villas are immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. The location is perfect with the beautiful beach of Jimbaran Bay just footsteps away, along with the beach front restaurants a short 2 minute stroll, away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Legian however only a IDR50000 (AUD$5) taxi drive away. The staff were exceptional, greeting us by name and going out of their way to assist us in any way possible. We will be recommending Karma Jimbaran to our friends and family and will not hesitate in returning their ourselves upon our next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear EmmaB, thank you for your review of our property and thank you for choosing to stay with us given the volume of quality competition and options that surround us. Besides the genuine Balinese approach of our team in all areas, what sets us apart is our quality villa accomodation with all the services of a hotel. For couples, families or friends travelling together there is enough space, privacy and quality accomodation for all, in one giant villa instead of 2-3-4 hotel rooms also with you own private plunge pool and self contained features. A huge bonus and benefit to not just you as our guests but also to us given the quality of the accomodation and services on offer. We all look forward to your returning and if I can assist in making this happen, please feel free to liaise with me directly on gm@karmajimbaran.com
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Karma Jimbaran is just gorgeous. Five star accommodation, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and well located. We travelled with our 3 kids aged 8, 6 and 20 months and stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. We found the accommodation a little difficult with the toddler. The resort kindly put up some 'pool fencing' which provides some barrier but is not totally safe so one still needs to be on guard. The 3rd bedroom of our villa was accessed via stepping stones through a beautiful fishpond so we had to get more fencing to barricade that section off to keep our toddler out of the pond so couldn't use that bedroom (as none of the bedrooms had internal access between them, we couldn't have put the little one in there anyway as we couldn't have heard her from the master). The master has a large dressing room area and the villa provided a great portacot with mosquito net so it wasn't an issue having her sleep with us. The villa is beautifully done in Balinese style with separate pavilions leading onto the garden/courtyard but the lack of internal access between the bedrooms can be an issue with younger children. The older girls were a little freaked out initially that they would have to go outside their bedroom and up the stairs to get to us should they need us at night, and to be honest, it did concern me that I wasn't able to hear them at night. The resort helped us out with a baby monitor to make this easier. There was also an issue in that the toddler could fit her head through the vertical struts on the balustrade outside the master bedroom so could have fallen through, so we had to try and cordon off the stairs as well to restrict her access up the stairs.
Other aspects were fantastic for the kids. Apart from loving their own plunge pool, they adored kids club (the ladies were fantastic with them), and the restaurant had a great kids menu.
Charles, the food and beverage manager, is a credit to the resort. The restaurant has a great menu, is well run and the food is lovely. The BBQ dinner is well worth doing. We had a number of meals in the restaurant as well as some in the villa, and all were great.
In terms of location, Karma is just across the road from the beach - very easy access. We had a great dinner at the Four Seasons (walk along the beach to the left) with a magnificent view. We also had a great dinner at the Intercontinental's beach bar (along the beach to the right). If you're not a huge seafood fan, this is a great spot to see the sunset, sit with your feet in the sand and have a great meal while avoiding the crowded beach restaurants at Jimbaran.
Visiting Karma Kandara (free shuttle) is an absolute must. Absolutely gorgeous with it's own private beach and only about 20 mins away.
We also spent a couple of days as day guests at Grand Hyatt at Nusa Dua (fabulous pools with water slide and great beach) and the Nikko Resort (much the same). The beach at Jimbaran Bay is fine but it is a public beach so not quite as clean as these others.
So overall, if our kids were older, or we were travelling with other couples, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mum3191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear mum3191, thank you for your review on our property and identifying the most important aspect of our business, our beautiful Balinese team. The kids club, landscaping, spa, food and beverage teams and all our team front of house or behind the scenes contribute to what is a true guest experience. I absolutely respect your points on some of the design inconveniences you encountered, but glad we were able to provide a service or above and beyond mentality to nullify many of these. The villas a wonderful and spacious to cater for families (large or small) as well as friends or couples travelling together. Jimbaran is no longer the sleepy fishing village it use to be, with many wonderful dining options and activities now finding there way down south of Kuta and Seminyak. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and your experiences outside our property. We are very lucky to have some wonderful products around us and we all prefer to work with each other than against each other, to maximise the guest experience which is wonderful for you as the guest. I look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to liaise with me directly on gm@karmajimbaran.com if I can assist with your return.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews