We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali without Idiots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Ranked #11 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bali without Idiots”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My (new) wife and I landed in the heat and bussle of Bali, 2 days after our wedding. We were met by one of the nicest people I have ever met, and proceeded up the hill, away from the thumping pubs and yobbos who like to populate Kuta. What a difference 20 minutes makes!! If you like great service, awesome views (and sunsets) and a clean bed, this is the place for you. Incredibly helpful staff, a wealth of information and a relaxed atmosphere awaited us at the Udayana Lodge, I only wish we had a month to spend there instead of a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
47
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Found on the internet for proximity to airport 15min taxi ride away. A truly hidden gem in secluded gardens very quiet and relaxing. Staff were very helpful.Wish we had found it earlier. Practiced eco principles as well.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley60jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Great oasis in the middle of a hectic city. Birds, lizards, snails on the grounds are fantastic. Well kept pool for those hot afternoons. Great people running the place. Check out their other lodges in Flores, Borneo, and Sumatra.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zooguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

My husband and a friend/colleague of ours traveled to Bali in mid-October primarily to use it as a jumping off point to get to Komodo to see the dragons. We stayed at Udayana based on the recommendation of one of their colleagues. Denpasar is a very busy city and we needed to stay close to the airport for all our connecting flights. Udayana provided a perfect compromise of convenience and feeling like we were still able to be close to nature.

The grounds are lovely and we were able to see many species of birds (love the white-breasted waterhens running around the grounds) as well as squirrels, lizards and tree snails. The proprietors are a lovely and fascinating couple whom we were able to occasionally spend time with during breakfast or dinner.

I had never spent time in any part of Asia or Indonesia and was amazed at how easy it was to get around without knowing a single word of Indonesian. A driver (Santos) met us at the airport and was always ready on time or early for any of our other journeys. We were even able to arrange to have Santos drive us to West Bali (a 4-5 hour journey!) to visit the national park there. The rest of the staff was always very pleasant, courteous and helpful and the food was good too. Our departure flight wasn't scheduled until 10:00 P.M. and they let us keep the room to come back and shower before boarding the plane for the (seemingly endless) flight around the world back home.

This is by no means a luxury resort, but we did have A/C in all of our rooms and mosquito netting around the beds. They made sure we had access to bottled or treated water at all times and we loved the outdoor shower. Obviously that might not be a plus to some people, but we don't mind those sort of things in an eco lodge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.4 mi away
Kila Infinity8 Bali
Kila Infinity8 Bali
#25 of 57 in Jimbaran
97 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
433 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Sakura Jimbaran
The Sakura Jimbaran
#6 of 112 in Jimbaran
69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
2.1 mi away
Bali Breezz Hotel
Bali Breezz Hotel
#9 of 112 in Jimbaran
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Property: Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Address: Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge is our first eco lodge, is the centre of our company and is the first small hotel in Indonesia to obtain international eco certification from Green Globe. This lodge is the eco standard for all our other lodges. Situated in beautiful gardens with a swimming pool in the Jimbaran hills of South Bali, the lodge is a perfect base not only to discover Bali but Indonesia through our other eco lodges. Aroud the lodge is a bird sanctuary with two species of Kingfisher, The Javan being the lodge icon. There have been over 50 species recorded in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Hotel Jimbaran
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing