We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and above it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and above it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent one night here after 10 days elsewhere on Bali, then 7 days on a liveaboard dive boat, before heading to the airport. If you prefer the traffic noise of the city and want a TV in your room, this is not the place for you. Very good food in an open dining room upstairs, made to order. A total of 8 rooms, all on the terrace level. Balinese outdoor shower. Efficient, quiet air conditioning. Totally comfortable bed. Set amongst a multi-specie forest. Clean pool. A taxi ride from anywhere, but only "minutes" from the airport (probably 25 to 50 minutes depending on traffic).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moncho48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Friends,

We wish to send you a belated thanks for your review about our Udayana Lodge property. You emphasised many of the important aspects of endeavors.

Alan Wilson,
Founder and Chairman,
ECOLODGES INDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
46
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great 5 night stay at the Kingfisher Ecolodge. It was good value for money and our family of 4 stayed in two very comfortable rooms. There was a beautiful common seating area with a full library of books and magazines where we would read in the evenings and help ourselves to beverages in the bar fridge where we'd just write down what we took. Up on on a hill it was quiet, with only the jungle sounds breaking the silence. The staff was friendly and helpful and we ate at the restaurant several times where the food was very nice. The chaos of Kuta seemed a long ways away even though it's close the way the crow flies. The traffic issues in Bali mean that Kuta takes a while to get to. Jimbaran beach was a short drive away with Santos, the friendly driver, often available to take you. If you want quiet yet close to the action, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Friends,

I am catching up on reviews of our Udayana Lodge and wish to thank you for your report emphasisng to us as managers the gentle peace and quiet of this place.

Alan Wilson,
Founder and Chairman,
ECOLODGES INDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my second stay here and it didn't disappoint - it's a beautiful little hideaway, where you can feel the stress leaving you as you walk through the door. The owners are unobtrusive but kind and welcoming, and the staff look after you with genuine warmth. If you want television, nightclubs and direct access to the beach then this won't be for you, but if you want greenery, plenty of space and a lovely atmosphere then you should try it. There aren't many places where you can sit at breakfast and watch sunbirds feeding in the tree-tops at eye-level just a few meters away - this is one of them!

Room Tip: I stayed in the same one both times but I think they're all fine - it's only a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastridinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The ride to this lovely little lodge was a bit bumpy due to recent construction around the area but it is well worth the visit.

Located in a university campus, Udayana Eco Lodge (locals recognise this place without the "Kingfisher") is so peaceful and tranquil that I could not believe I was just 15-20 minutes away from the bustling airport and Kuta.

I was greeted by super friendly and helpful Kadek who also speaks good English, she immediately made me felt at home. All 10 rooms are on the ground floor with lovely garden view. The rooms are spacious and all are equipped with garden bath and recycle bins. There is also a little kitchen, guests can refill their bottles and make coffee or tea.

The upper floor is all common area with a large living room with cozy sofas and loads of books to read. There are a lot of nature-related books and magazines, some are even written by the founders of the lodge!

Restaurant serves very good seafood. Ask the staff for recommendation and you will not be disappointed. If you fancy cold drinks, you can help yourself at the Bar. They trust clients to record on the checklist and charge when you checkout.

Since the lodge is surrounded by natural plantation, I have seen different types of plants, birds, frogs and butterflies. There is also a nice swimming pool and a few routes around the lodge which you can walk and watch birds and butterflies. Borrow a walking stick from the office and go either early morning or late afternoon. You may also ask a professional birdwatcher to accompany you if one is available (an advantage to be staying in the university area!).

One of the highlights of my stay is to meet with one of the founders, Mr Alan Wilson. During breakfast, he will walk around and greet everyone warmly. He kindly shared with me his story and vision in setting up and expanding the eco lodges (Udayana is not the only one!). I really admire his effort in helping the locals to be benefited by the ever growing tourism whilst preserving the natural beauty of Bali.

Alan said, to him this lodge is the truly 5-star experience of Bali. I cannot agree more.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacklynnBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is a world away from the hustle and bustle, high up and away from it all. Close to the airport so a great place to begin or end your holiday in Bali.
It can be a bit tricky to find the first time, as others have said, so if you are coming under your own steam make sure you get directions from them first.
However it is just a short taxi ride to Jimbaran centre (temple/market/beach) and ths staff are happy to call taxis for you whenever you need one.
The upstairs dining and library area is beautiful, with the hotel rooms being fairly standard but well appointed. There's a big emphasis on environmental issues such as recycling which we really welcomed. I wish all hotels had opportunities to recycle like this.
We were travelling with our 3 year old daughter and although the atmosphere was very quiet when we arrived, staff made her feel welcome, even getting out a toybox which kept her occupied! She also loved the gardens and of course the pool which is in a lovely secluded spot down the hill a bit.
Breakfasts are lovely. All meals are beautifully presented with lots of nice touches. At first we thought the fixed menu dinner sounded expensive at 150,000 Rp per head, but it was absolutely delicious and the service excellent, so it was well worth it. And much more refined than the tourist traps down on Jimbaran Bay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

On the advice of a friend, we booked a stay at Kingfisher lodge after a hectic 3 week West Papuan bird watching trip. Boy....what a great place to relax. Fantastic staff service from Kedek & her team... great food... & I loved the "honesty Bar Service...serve yourself". The pool was wonderful during the heat of the day & the room was cosy, clean & comfortable. It was great to not have a TV in the room... although one was available in the guest lounge room if you got desparate. Fortunately, we wernt that desperate as we just enjoyed the Lodge's surroundings.
So... idf you want a break from the hustle & bustle of Kuta & alike...but still want to be close to the Airport & city.... do yourself a favour... book a stay here. If ever we head back to Bali, this will be our choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We managed to get a cheap rate through Agoda to this lovely eco lodge. As it was last minute and a Sunday it had not got through to the staff yet but this was not a problem as they gave us a big warm welcome like long lost family and quickly made up our room with fresh flowers and brought us a welcome drink. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with a pleasant open air bathroom and terrace to the front. This overlooks a beautiful garden and then down to the lovely pool area (little used by any other guest when we were there). The dining room is nice, and breakfast adequate. They prepared dinner for us the first night but we were later getting back than we expected so it was a little cold unfortunately. Still, tasty. The honesty bar is a nice idea. Free tea and coffee. Lovely lounge area with extensive library.

We didn't have time to explore the grounds but the birds and butterflies are apparent everywhere. The staff are very special here. They are just genuinely lovely people and were great with our 4 year ols. I think children are a bit of a novelty here as it is mainly older people.

One problem is finding the place! The address is not actually correct and the one sign off the main road is small and just says Udayana Lodge (nothing about eco or kingfisher). Then it is quite a way up a bumpy track going uphill before you reach the place. Even our taxi driver who lives in the area got lost. But once you know where it is you are fine. Perhaps arranging a pick up from the hotel or getting exact directions would be wise. Having said that, traffic allowing, it is only about 20 mins from the airport. Nothing within walkable distance but fine if you have a driver or your own transport.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
1.0 mi away
The Sintesa Jimbaran
The Sintesa Jimbaran
#10 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Puri Bambu
Hotel Puri Bambu
#3 of 84 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Belmond Jimbaran Puri
Belmond Jimbaran Puri
#6 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Property: Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Address: Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge is our first eco lodge, is the centre of our company and is the first small hotel in Indonesia to obtain international eco certification from Green Globe. This lodge is the eco standard for all our other lodges. Situated in beautiful gardens with a swimming pool in the Jimbaran hills of South Bali, the lodge is a perfect base not only to discover Bali but Indonesia through our other eco lodges. Aroud the lodge is a bird sanctuary with two species of Kingfisher, The Javan being the lodge icon. There have been over 50 species recorded in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Hotel Jimbaran
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing