We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy travelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Staying at the Eco Lodges was made very easy as they met us at the airport and arranged flights, excursions, guides and drivers.

The three lodges we stayed at were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly, the meals were good. I liked the honesty system for the bar in Bali and Flores. I also was great full to be able to leave excess luggage in a secure situation in the lodge in Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I recently spent some time in Indonesia with our adult daughter, a graduate student in evolutionary biology. We stayed at 3 of the ecolodges run by Ecolodges Indonesia -- with the intent to see orangutans and Komodo dragons. We were NOT disappointed, having seen lots of both species! All 3 of the lodges -- Rimba Lodge, Udayana Kingfisher and the Bajo Komodo Lodge provided wonderful places to rest and relax after long hot days "in the field". We stayed 2 nights at Udayana Lodge on Bali en route to see the Komodo dragons, arriving very late at night. The driver, arranged by the Lodge, was waiting for us and it was like arriving at the home of a friend -- without all the formality and delays of checking into a hotel. The place was GREAT -- very pretty setting, comfortable, staff extremely pleasant and the food excellent, with a self-service bar (welcomed after 5 days at Rimba -- a "dry" lodge!). And, we got to meet Nyoman, the intrepid travel organizer who had pieced together a very complicated itinerary for our Indonesian travels, all via email.

We spent 4 nights, 5 days at Rimba Lodge and during the days on a klotok on the river visiting the 3 orangutan camps. The Lodge is very rustic but absolutely charming and considering where we were, we were very comfortable. We had rooms without A/C and I wasn't sure we would survive because the room was very warm but after opening the windows, turning on the fan and using the high quality mosquito nets, we slept just fine. The staff is extremely kind and efficient and the food very good, with a pretty large menu to choose from. We were there at the same time as two large groups of orangutan specialists and we got the sense it was a busy place -- but we did not, in any way, feel ignored or given poor service, because it was just the 3 of us. The boat, guide, everything had been organized by Nyoman and the only thing we had to do was to decide how much time we wanted to spend on the boat each day and what we wanted for our meals! We were there 4 nights and 3 nights probably would have been enough....but it was enjoyable.

We spent 3 nights at Bajo Komodo Lodge on the island of Flores -- one day venturing out to Rinca to see the dragons (again, everything previously organized by Nyoman) and one day lounging at the lodge, swimming and reading. One evening we went into the town of Labuan Bajo and had an excellent dinner at Hilltop Restaurant. As recommended, we went early and saw the spectacular sunset on the harbor.

Both Bajo and Udayana were lovely settings with swimming pools and comfortable common rooms where we were very happy to relax and spend the day. I would describe them as "simple luxury" -- not over-the-top, just very very pleasant.

All in all, great trip and mostly due to the help of the Ecolodges Indonesia travel person -- it is very difficult, in fact impossible, to book air travel within Indonesia from the US. The many car drivers, boats, plane trips -- extremely well coordinated, and all worked remarkably well. When you plan these kind of trips on the internet there is always some concern that things might not work. I would strongly recommend Ecolodges Indonesia to help plan a trip to this part of the world, I would stay at their accommodation again and I'd love to go to their other two lodges!

Room Tip: At Rimba you might want to have A/C but the mosquito nets and fan added to the atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We only stayed one night here on our way to Flores but the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. It is close to the airport but you wouldn't know it as it is hidden in the hills on the way to Uluwata. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and the food good. It is a great location to visit Uluwata and the temple dance is a sight not to miss.
If you want to arrange aa eco adventure to other islands in Indonesia these are the people to book with. The Eco Lodges Indonesia have some fantastic packages to visit some of the more out of the way places and have great lodges to stay at in the areas. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Not only did we stay at Kingfisher Lodge but also at Rimba Lodge in Kalimantan and Bajo Lodge in Flores, all part of the same group. At each of the lodges we were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff - they made us feel like part of the family. We went on several tours organised by the lodges with excellent and knowledgeable guides and were kept informed of all arrangements. All went according to plan. We thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable facilities the lodges provided, and the delicious meals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have stayed at this Lodge about 5 times since 1997 and it is (literally) a green oasis in the pleasant chaos of Bali. I doubt there are more butterflies and birds anywhere else on the island. My colleagues and I were in Bali for a conference. We were collected from the mad-house of Denpasar airport by the courteous staff from the Lodge (included in the room price!) and ferried about 15 min to the 'Bukit' above Jimbaran beach with panoramic views of Gunung Agung towering above the clouds. Check-in was similarly efficient and friendly and our rooms were clean, comfortable, quiet and with the highlight of a Balinese, private garden-shower fed with recycled water heated by the sun. Meals were fresh and inexpensive and my stress levels were at an all-time low. I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trioddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We flew in to Denpasar at 6am and were picked up by Santos as the sun rose. A short trip to the hotel and Santos showed us around and to our rooms. We had not organised an early check in and assumed that we would drop off our bags and kill some time before we could check in however we were given our keys and advised that breakfast would be served shortly. Brilliant!

The buildings and grounds are a perfect quiet place for relaxing and the staff very friendly helpful with organising drivers, taxis, laundry etc but they are not intrusive or pushy. The kids made good use of the pool which we seemed to have to ourselves most of the time. The hotel food for dinner was good quality indonesian but a litle bit more expensive than comparable food at nearby restaurants. Certainly worth it for the convenience and excellent service.

I would recommend the Kingfisher lodge to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in the south of Bali. It has a lovely small hotel charm and is good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have numerous fantastic memories of this wonderful experience ... obviously the most important highlight was the privilege of visiting some of the most exotic and remote parts of our planet, a novel idea indeed!
During our jungle trek on Rinca island, being so close to the Komodo dragons, and learning from the ranger and guide all about the dragons' way of life, was thrilling, educational and exhilarating (Had someone “arranged” for a dragon to be sunning itself at the end of the jetty upon our arrival at Rinca? What luck!) … and the boat ride from Bajo to Rinca was a big adventure, too. Fulfillment of a lifetime dream by spending my birthday in the jungle of Borneo with the orangutans, plus the honour of meeting with Dr. Birute Galdikas at Camp Leakey, followed by the wonderful birthday dinner celebration - and delicious birthday cake - on board our klotok under a full moon and in the company of numerous fireflies made the occasion absolutely unique! We were blessed with wonderful guides in Bajo and Kalimantan (Henrik and Pardi) who were simply outstanding in all ways: friendly, knowledgeable and attentive to all our needs, and they both contributed to making our trip so successful. We have left our two “friends” in their respective jungles, knowing future visitors will be in the very best of care …
The warmest of welcomes at each of the three lodges belonging to Ecolodges Indonesia we visited (Udayana, Bajo and Rimba) will never be forgotten; all staff on duty genuinely made us feel that we had "arrived home", and each delightful one of them is a perfect example of the graciousness and charm radiated by all Indonesians. Not only were all meals so delicious, copious, and beautifully presented (our many photos can prove this!), but the lodge staff made no qualms about cooking different dishes at the wave of a wand, or sending someone down to the local market to obtain a requested fruit, or serving meals at exceptionally early and late times to suit our programme! Accommodations were clean, comfortable and very adequate. At Udayana I had the exceptional and adventurous company of a cute frog in the bathroom during the night ( I should add my newly found friend had entered via the open air – but covered shower area – to keep me company! … and this was just one of so many delightful creatures to be found in the area. The Udayana lodge driver, Santos, was sympathetic and understanding of our special wishes at all times, cared for us with security and comfort, at the same time managing to provide us with a fascinating insight into the local way of life.
Special mention goes to Nyoman Martini (the Ecolodges travel coordinator), who managed to rearrange our programme - due to a last minute flight cancellation - with great expertise and infinite patience, and I wouldn't be surprised if she also had a sleepless night into the bargain!
It is very evident that Meryl and Alan Wilson oversee a marvellous team within the Ecolodges Indonesia group of lodges. Their constant and caring interest and vigilance resulted in our holiday experience being better than perfect. From Spain we send an enormous “Olé!” to everyone and hope to renew friendships again in the not-too-distant future.

Thanks to finding the Responsible Travel web page a few months ago, quite accidentally, I was immediately put in contact with Ecolodges Indonesia. Email correspondence and phone calls were dealt with in a timely and efficient manner, and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending future travellers to have total confidence in this Company.
Indonesia is a wonderful country to visit, and we particularly enjoyed being treated as VIP guests everywhere we went during the low season (January). I deduce that travelling in the off season is most likely a best kept secret! Indeed, it seemed that we were almost the only guests at the lodges visited. For experimented travellers who enjoy flora and fauna any tailor made itinerary offered by Ecolodges Indonesia will surely thrill and delight. The distance travelled, expense involved, minute organisation and planning, far outweigh any negative “mishap” that might occur.
One should travel to this destination with an open and flexible mind, and be prepared to make the most of every minute – no matter what happens. Be prepared for last-minute changes to any tailor made programme (beyond Ecolodges Indonesia’s control), since the vast majority of Indonesian internal flights are frequently delayed without explanation, and there is also the possibility (and even likelihood!) of last minute flight cancellations. When our programme was in the initial stages of planning, I had no idea how complex the routing between Bali and Borneo is (depending on the day of the week - a minimum of 2 connecting flights is necessary and possibly 3!), and didn’t realise what a mammoth task had been placed in Nyoman’s expert hands. In our case, already partly en route to Borneo, we were suddenly faced with a last moment flight cancellation so, understanding of the fact that Plan A was no longer feasible, and trusting that Nyoman would efficiently be working on Plan B, I had gone along on the trip with Plan C up my sleeve. In effect this resulted in us losing one of our nights’ stay at Rimba (a great disappointment!), but we had the unexpected and additional bonus of being able to visit the Borobudur Temple in Java, plus witnessing the destruction caused by the recent volcanic eruption of Mt. Merapi, followed by a relaxing foot massage prior to catching a flight to Banjarmarsin (not originally on our schedule), where we spent overnight (another adventure in itself), before flying on to Pangkalan Bun. All credit goes to Nyoman for being able to rearrange our programme at the 11th hour, bearing in mind that all internal flights appear to be fully booked long in advance!

I find it hard to imagine that our impact on the environment hasn’t gone unnoticed, since our entire trip entailed a total of 18 flights from Malaga back to Malaga – and including stopovers of several days in both Dubai and Kuala Lumpur – at our election.
Evidently many local people have benefited from our visit, in that they have had some more work in the low season. We have tried to purchase arts and crafts directly from the locals and/or in establishments off the tourist track. We tried independently to interact with the locals to provide better understanding and goodwill. However, we felt that the visit with Pardi to the village of Tanjung Harapan on the Sekonyer River – although extremely interesting – was somewhat touristic, in that obviously the locals are accustomed to receiving tourists, and the children were not overly grateful for the candies and other small gifts we bought for them in Kumai prior to travelling upstream. This is most likely an expected “routine”. Nevertheless we enjoyed a fascinating walk through the village and encountered endless photographic possibilities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WideawakeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 58 in Jimbaran
503 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
1.7 mi away
The Sakura Jimbaran
The Sakura Jimbaran
#9 of 114 in Jimbaran
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
2.5 mi away
Hotel Puri Bambu
Hotel Puri Bambu
#3 of 98 in Jimbaran
613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Address: Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range: $29 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge is our first eco lodge, is the centre of our company and is the first small hotel in Indonesia to obtain international eco certification from Green Globe. This lodge is the eco standard for all our other lodges. Situated in beautiful gardens with a swimming pool in the Jimbaran hills of South Bali, the lodge is a perfect base not only to discover Bali but Indonesia through our other eco lodges. Aroud the lodge is a bird sanctuary with two species of Kingfisher, The Javan being the lodge icon. There have been over 50 species recorded in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Hotel Jimbaran
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing