We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair”
Review of The Jimbaran View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jimbaran View
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Overall a very average stay.

The hotel room is tidy. Room serviced twice a day. Bathroom had a moldy smell but all surfaces appeared to be clean. The housekeeping staff did a very thorough job, often taking a good 25 minutes in the morning to clean the room. However, being a hotel that is less than a year old, the interior appeared worn, marks on white walls, chipped paints etc.

The pool area was clean and very pleasant to use. Thr H Spa was also clean, good ambience and fairly priced.

Locally however is very poor. It is in the middle of a very busy road which is very difficult to cross, roads at the proximity of the hotel is largely unpaved and very dangerous to walk on especially for my 3 year old child. There are very minimal small stores nearby. It was often hard to get a taxi, we waited 30 minutes for one.

Breakfast is exceptionally poor. As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel caters for large groups of South Eastern Asia tourists and their etiquette especially at breakfast has a lot to be desired for. Quantity of food was inadequate to say the least, one guest from the south eastern asia group attempted to steal my 3 year old's pancake, which was just ridiculous. Breakfast room was often dirty. Breakfast area was consistently undetstaff. I had to cook my own food at the noodle stand.

Rooftop bar while the view was amazing, menu was limited and way overpriced. I visited once and had no desire to return.

Because of the clientele, common area tend to be unpleasant and noisy. Our room opened to the pool and it was very noisy at night, with inconsiderate patrons ignoring the closing hour of the pool. There were also the daily unpleasant sight of men smoking on the balcony while wearing only undergarments, and all balconies face each other!

While customer service was not the best I have experienced, staff were all friendly.

We left after 3 days despite having paid in full up front. I would not stay here again bases on the location and unpleasant clientele.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, Manajer Umum at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear MelbPam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your recent experience. We are delighted to learn that you had a great time at our swimming pool and in our H’Spa.

In the same time, we apologize for not meeting your expectations for the breakfast. We really appreciate your constructive feedback and we have discussed it also for immediate action plan.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future so we can show you our best. Please, do not hesitate to contact me if you are travelling back to Bali.

Best regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for The Jimbaran View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 413 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel was only 8 months old when we stayed in February 2014. We got a good promotional rate of about $45 per night for a very clean, modern-style room. The pool was very nice, and the spa was clean and the masseuse professional, although massages are available in the area for much cheaper. Wi-fi was variable - fast until the hotel was crowded, and then very slow. Our sleep was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large, modern and clean. Plenty of electric plugs. Our 4-year old daughter liked the kids play room which was clean and neat - not overstocked with toys, but enough to pass an hour or more.

The only negative was that this location is popular with large group tours. We were there for two nights/three days, and each day the busses came in during the late afternoon and the hotel filled up. The desk clerks handled this efficiently, so we had no problem getting assistance for our requests, but if you're not at breakfast before 7:00 AM, the breakfast room was filled, the lines were long, and a lot of choices were quickly gone as soon as they were put on the buffet.

There are hundreds of hotels in Bali in all price ranges. Some are the most romantic and luxurious in the world. If you're looking for romance and isolation, this is not the place. If you're looking for a medium-sized clean and new hotel at a reasonable price, this is a very good option. The actual trip to the airport is more like 25-30 minutes, though advertised at 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter, but a further walk from the lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ObservantGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, Manajer Umum at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear ObservantGuest,

Thank you again for taking your time to express your feedback about HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran Bali.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel, The H’ Spa experience, the cleanliness of room and also the kid’s club facility. In the meantime, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during breakfast.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My friend bought a seafood buffet dinner deal upfront at Harris Jimbaran Rooftop restaurant. We have made reservation before we arrived in Bali and even send a reminder to them during the day we are going for the dinner. The response was "ok, no problem". However when we arrived at the restaurant, there was actually a private party with a band and the whole place was occupied. We were placed next to the band and were surrounded by school kids screaming of excitement. There was no way we could eat in peace. When we went to get food from the buffet line, most of the food are gone and whatever left looks pathetic.
After we complain to the supervisor, only they shifted us to a table at the back away from the band but the whole atmosphere was just not conducive for a nice dinner. I was actually having a headache with all the commotion.
Though the staff became very apologetic and got the kitchen to prepare new food for us and gave us complimentary drinks, at the end we still couldn't enjoy the dinner.
Our feedback to them is they should have let us know there's a private function that night and we could have come another day. It cost us 150,000 Rps for both way taxi to get there and all we could think of that night is to quickly finish the food and get out of there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hui54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, Manajer Umum at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Hui54,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran and we would like to thank you for took your time to share your feeling about us.

We were greatly concerned to hear about the circumstances, you were disappointed due to the dinner experienced at our rooftop due to in the same time we had group dinner for 250 pax. We must admit that the service you had received was not in line with our standards. On behalf of the all the players from the hotel, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future so we can show you our best.
I will be more than pleased to welcome you back in our property. Meanwhile, I remain at your disposal for any further information.

Best Regards,
Louis Poisson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is my 1st time stay in Jimbaran area on my 6th visit to Bali.it around 25min by cab to Kuta/Legian & Uluwatu area wz great cafes & awesome ocean view.Hotel provide free shuttle to Pandawa beach which is 20min away wz calm sea to swim & local food stall:Other than these, nothing much nearby Harris bukit hotel: only found out on last nite there's a Irish pub juz few steps opposite & a Thai restaurent ard the corner.On 1st day morning breakfast, lots of Chinese tourists at cafe & it abit 'chaotic' & food runout very fast. On my 2nd-4th morning, things seems better with lesser crowd.Big clean room, nice pool & friendly staff: overall it a nice stay here: prob have to improve the magnetic room card as happened several times when it not working & gotta go to receptionist to exchange. It kinda annoyed after a day outing & nite clubbing.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, Manajer Umum at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear TJsin,

May we extend our grateful to you for your kind words about HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran. It is an honor to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us and we are more than happy to learn that you enjoyed with our Pandawa beach shuttle service, the cleanliness of the room as well as our players’ services.

We would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

THey have realy friendly and helpful staff. They tried their best to converse in English and that's great. It started off when they pick us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel in their personalise Orange coloured Van with awesome interior.

Got our Harris room as per our booking and free Wisbisana Water Sports Voucher and free entrance ticket to Klapa Pecatu.

The room was relatively small. Every room seems to have a balcony facing the pool. We got our rooms cleaned and towel changed everyday.

Breakfast was okay. Not much choices. But you have to go at 6.30am because once its over 7am the China tourists will start coming down for breakfast and take mountains of food leaving the buffet plate empty and they don't queue for their foods . I was queuing and waiting for mmy waffles and when its ready theres 6-7 china tourists came running with their plates asking for the waffles which the chef made for me. I literally shove them aside and handed out my plate to the chef. The restaurant was filled with their loud voices too.

The pool was great . I don't know if this is good but they don't seems to have put much chlorine in the pool water. It doesn't have that strong smell of chlorine like other pool. Hence, I don't know if the pool water is clean enough. Oh, did I tell you that its cloudy too. Meh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shlih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, Manajer Umum at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Shilh,

Thank you for taking your time to express experience about HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran Bali. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In the same time, we apologize for not meeting your expectations for the breakfast experience.
Related with the pool treatment, please be aware that we have daily treatment in place and we tend to avoid strong chemicals such as chlorine. Daily tests of the water are also done to make sure the Swimming pool is harmless for our guests.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future so we can show you our best again. Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can arrange your next visit.

Best regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our three nights stay at Harris Jimbaran. We're happy with the room on 5th floor facing the pool. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. However, there was a large number of guests from China (yes, they're noisy and can be very annoying, especially at breakfast time). Early mornings in the breakfast room are usually very crowded, and it is very hard to get a table. To get to any food you have to line up and when you eventually get to the food, it has run out. The staff did not replace the empty dishes quickly enough and only put out a little serving at the time to cater to a large amount of hungry Chinamen. If you decide to go later to avoid peak time, say 8:30am, most of the time many of the dishes have run out. Not good enough, Harris Hotel! Because of this, I will not go back here.

Room Tip: Stay but don't have breakfast here!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, General Manager at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear jydavis,

Thank you for taking your time to express your real feelings about HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran Bali. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your three nights stay with us and we are more than happy to learn you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and its pool view.

Your feedback is very important for our future improvement especially regarding your breakfast experience. We had been discussed together with department heads concerned what was happened to you to correct the situation as we take this issue seriously and I will do everything possible to ensure this type of problem does not occur again.

One more time, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that we still have an opportunity to serve you again in the hotel.
Please accept our apologies regarding this matter.

Best regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay in this hotel.
Still very good value for money. But this time the hotel was invaded by a hirde of Chinese tourists, some of them with a complete lack of education (smoking in the restaurant, interrupting and passing in between 2 people having a conversation...).
However the Balinese service is always as patient and smiling as before.
One one negative comment: the room cleaning and service was disappointing (bathroom still a bit dirty, towels not changed).
I would still recommend this good money/value hotel, especially if u have ur own transportation (location a bit in the midle of nowhere, but close (with a taxi or car) to Jimbaran seafood restaurants (nice diner), Uluwatu temple and Pandawa beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISBJB, General Manager at The Jimbaran View, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Anne E,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, also at the same time we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

We put the priority on your valued feedback about room cleaning and services. We must admit that the service you received did not meet our standards. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future so we can show you our best.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future at HARRIS Hotel Bukit Jimbaran Bali.

Warm regards,
Louis POISSON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.1 mi away
MaxOneHotels at Bukit Jimbaran
2.9 mi away
PRAMAPADA Hotel Jimbaran
PRAMAPADA Hotel Jimbaran
#32 of 57 in Jimbaran
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Bay View Hotel and Convention
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kila Infinity8 Bali
Kila Infinity8 Bali
#27 of 57 in Jimbaran
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sintesa Jimbaran
The Sintesa Jimbaran
#11 of 57 in Jimbaran
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
CK Villas Bali
CK Villas Bali
#9 of 11 in Ungasan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jimbaran View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jimbaran View

Address: Jl. Raya Uluwatu 2000X | Ungasan Kuta Selatan, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#25 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jimbaran View 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jimbaran View ...Over viewing the stunning Jimbaran Bay, 15 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 10 minutes to Uluwatu Temple, Dreamland Beach, Pandawa Beach, New Kuta Water Park, New Kuta Golf Course, and 2 minutes to Garuda Wisnu Kencana, this 4 star hotel features 245 rooms and Suites and numerous facilities designed for a Friendly stay whether you are in Bali for leisure or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jimbaran View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jimbaran View Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing