We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Journey of Dining”
Review of Cuca

Cuca
Ranked #2 of 252 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cuca serves SIGNATURE cuisine made exclusively from the best and freshest local ingredients. We are a casual dining destination that tempts you with three reasons to come: tapas, cocktails, and desserts, and three spaces to experience: an interactive and exciting food bar, a relaxed and intimate dining room and a chilled out garden lounge. Choose the space that suits you best and come with an open mind and an empty stomach!
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Journey of Dining”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had dinner with my partner on Sept. At first when we saw the menu we were confused what to eat. But the waiter there explained it in a way that makes you feel tempting to try it.

When the food came, we were surprise with the appearance of the food. It is very unique and when you taste it, then you will find out why they are no. 1 ranking in tripadvisor among others in the same area. It is soooo delicious, tasteful, every bite of different food always surprise you in a nice way. That's why it is like a journey of dining!!

Virginia, the owner, is also very pleasant, humble to approach our table, asked about how's our food, making sure that everything is up to our expectation. Special credit to Mr. Kunto Aji as well, restaurant mgr, who gave us suggestion of the foods..

We will come back again to try the Bali Breakfast for dessert!! Bcoz we weren't able to try it...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliTraveller0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,626
    236
    96
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is breathtaking, amazing”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited during the last week of October. My wife and I had 5 different plates, and dessert and they were all delicious. Cuca has a special way of blending different ingredients you would never think of, and they are absolutely delicious. We had the opportunity to meet the Chef, which was a great person! He spoke Spanish perfectly with us and was very welcoming, (we are from Mexico) A MUST in Bali.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosendo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb. Great food. Great staffs”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were amazed and spoilt with the taste and the look of the food as well as the attentive staffs
The place itself is fantastic, dimly lighted and spacious.

I came there with my wife and 10-month old daughter who were sleeping all the time we were there. We did not bring our usual baby stroller and -as she was asleep - it is impossible for her to be put in baby chair.
However, to our surprise the staffs - without us asking - had initiative to move one of their sofa to our table so that we can put her there. This is a wow factor to us. They get us as many pillows as well to make our baby comfortable.
This is so fabulous... Instead of eating with one hand we can devour those delicate food freely :)
The food were great. They look great, they taste great

No wonder this 4-month old place is getting a great vibe in tripadvisor. Love this place. We will surely come back again in our next visit in Bali

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuw2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was raining and I just wanted to order room service from the hotel and relax for the night. My wife forced me to go to Cuca and I have to admit that she was definitely right (on this one). We arrived during the rain and were met with dry towels to get ourselves dry. Once seated, we looked at the menu and decided to go with the Chef Tasting Meal which was described to us as a "surprise". I was a bit worried, but quickly found that there was no reason to be. The dishes brought out to us were some of the best I've had. The worst one ranked among the best that I've had in Bali. And the best, well, I can't even describe it without drooling.

The waiter was extremely knowledgeable and excited about the dishes. The chef came out and made us feel comfortable and very welcome. The staff was extremely attentive. When my wife's napkin fell off her lap to the floor, a waitress was immediately there to retrieve it for her and ask her if she wanted a new one.

When we finished, we were welcomed into the kitchen for a picture with the chef and the rest of the staff. After dinner, we were treated to a couple of final drinks at the bar. A taxi was called and they gave us umbrellas to get us out to our car. Truly felt like a VIP.

I'm not a food critic, so I can't really right a just review, but the food was fantastic and the service was amazing. We will definitely be returning here on our next trip to Bali and recommending this as a #1 choice for any friends visiting. Absolutely amazing evening. I only wish they were located near our home so we didn't have to go all the way to Bali to eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“1 plus 1 is 3”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Flavor wise, excellent. Am impressed for a restaurant of this quality and this price. Usd60 per pax with wine is cheap for the quality I got.

Ate there 2nights in a row. Will definitely be back,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bendychair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuca also viewed

 

Been to Cuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing