We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal with great view”
Review of Sundara

Sundara
Ranked #4 of 251 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sanskrit word for "beautiful", Sundara pays tribute to the glowing sun that warms Bali's hottest beachfront restaurant and bar. Enjoy a casual lunch of light, shareable cuisine ideal for soaking up the salt-air and panoramic views. Lounge away the afternoon on an ocean-front bale, sun-splashed daybed or table on the open terrace overlooking the 57-meter infinity edge pool, just steps above the surf. For dinner, Sundara transforms into one of Bali's most sophisticated dining experiences, with a Modern Asian-inspired menu that can be served as individual portions or for sharing with a companion or group. After dark, the beachside ambience becomes candlelit and sexy with the island's most tantric avant-garde cocktails.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2,435 reviews
837 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal with great view”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Sundara (formerly known as PJs) is at The Four Seasons at Jimbaran Bay. We had a wonderful meal here two nights back. Lovely setting, overlooking the Jimbaran Bay. The Four Seasons did a fantastic job in taking down PJs and building this fantastic outdoor/ indoor flowing space serving the most delectable dishes. I had the barramundi and loved it to the last tiny bite. Splendid service from the staff and a delightful ambience all over the restaurant. We will be back again - most highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    190
    53
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

If you looking for a place for dinner and drinks on the water watching the sunset then this is the place. We were told Rock Bar was the place to be at sunset but Sundara had the atmosphere of a chilled out bar and the views were amazing without the epic queues and loud music. Tucked away on the water in the Four Seasons resort so away from the noisey main beaches. Food was brilliant and the service great. Try the Snapper with Bali seasoning. This is a must do for a romantic afternoon and dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Good sunset place”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Good food , nice place, good service. Nice swimming pool, they have a beach too. The staff are friendly, they like to give complimentary food . There's also a bathroom that people can use. Overall, a wonderful place, I recommend people to go there.

Helpful?
Thank Edison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience... amazing food”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My partner and I visited Sundara for my birthday dinner while at Bali. We decided to go across to Jimbaran Beach a few hours early to sit by the pool and swim. The team at Sundara are exceptional. The pool on the beach is amazing and a great way to relax. Showers and towels are provided.

We were then escorted up to the restaurant for dinner being shown to a table over looking Jimbaran bay and the sunset. The service and food were amazing. We had Mahi Mahi and the beef rib which just melted in the mouth. After dinner Sundara's wait staff brought me a slice of cake with a candle and sang happy birthday.

I highly recommend a visit for either a relaxing afternoon by the pool, dinner or both!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We'd been recommended this place by the lovely manager at Potato Head, so took a taxi from Kuta to here (approx 60'000ird) and arrived about 10:30 am. All the day beds were already booked which proved to be a blessing in disguise, although we weren't to know that until much later. We sat/slouched/lounged on the sofa under the tree with an unimpeded view of the pool and ocean. Surfers were trying their luck down the beach to the right and we also had a great view of two you local lads surfing the tiny break dead in front of the pool. Gins n tonic were had, cold beer, reading and it's possible a snore was heard from time to time from under the tree. After great effort we slipped into the superb pool to revive. Service was a prompt and attentive. The bar snacks we ordered were OK but really not delicious. The rice paper rolls were thick and chewy, the tuna tartare crackers interesting but just ok. When a sunbed did become available we shifted down there but quickly realised that our private view of the beach was now interrupted by other guests walking by all the time, noise from the pool, smokers.

This was the most blissful day however in a serene and beautiful setting, a rare day when we did absolutely nothing and loved all of it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngatiawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundara also viewed

 

Been to Sundara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing