We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”
Review of Sundara

Sundara
Ranked #3 of 264 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Sanskrit word for "beautiful", Sundara pays tribute to the glowing sun that warms Bali's hottest beachfront restaurant and bar. Enjoy a casual lunch of light, shareable cuisine ideal for soaking up the salt-air and panoramic views. Lounge away the afternoon on an ocean-front bale, sun-splashed daybed or table on the open terrace overlooking the 57-meter infinity edge pool, just steps above the surf. For dinner, Sundara transforms into one of Bali's most sophisticated dining experiences, with a Modern Asian-inspired menu that can be served as individual portions or for sharing with a companion or group. After dark, the beachside ambience becomes candlelit and sexy with the island's most tantric avant-garde cocktails.
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Absolutely fantastic staff and associates. You may see a plane taking off, realising that your time may soon be up in Bali. So, as you sip your incredible cocktail and knowing that the kids are having a great time at the kids club next door, enjoy THE MOMENT

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    203
    59
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricy, but so good”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a pure luxury and indulgence restaurant. The food and service was great and the view was wonderful. The prices are very high though so expect to pay what you would pay at a good restaurant in any big city around the world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellingblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service, attention and genuine care doesnt get much better!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Staying in a Hotel not far away from the 4S, we went to Sundara Restaurant after a recommendation.
We are a Family od 2 plus our 7yr old Daughter, and i made a simple online booking in the afternoon for 8pm. (Just wrote in comments, pls a nice table)

Immediately i got confirmation and 5 minutes later a mail from Guest Services that my booking is confirmed but unfortunately the main Restaurant is full, and they will locate us to the patio, aswell with a great view..

So we arrive, very nice place, athmosphere and where shown to the patio (which is perfect and i would by all means have taken a seat, but the smily friendly Hostess said they have a table for us in Restaurant now.

We were brought to a nice table, near an enclosed open kitchen , so you can follow all the cooking action.
We were welcomed by the staff in a super friendly manner and then even by the restaurant manager who introduced himself and said that just now a table became availlable near the window with a nice breeze, and (as he said he saw the comment about a nice table) he like to offer us the one, (and pointed to a beautiful table at the open window area.
We moved, had super cocktails, perfect actually and a super meal

The staff was sharp, proffesional and friendly, BUT all with a sense of ultimate hospitality proffesionalism, meaning they stood next to you when you had a question, and they were not there when you were in conversation. Simple great!

The Staff gave us info about their day offers, their club, etc etc... Super !!

We had foie gras and octopus as starter - both super tasty, then a steak and crab spagetti, all perfect., good desserts, one of the best Margaritas i ever had... So i had another..

This was a stunning Restaurant and a real experience.

Thanks Sundara Team

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great for drinks and sunsets”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited as a couple for drinks and sunset watching. We had picked JImbaran for our specific sunset viewing date and were considering where to park for it. Having stayed at Four Seasons previously (not this trip though) but before Sundara had been built, I thought it might be interesting to go and check out the new facilities.

Note that Sundara is actually a separate complex from the actual Four Seasons resort (you do not need to go through Four Seasons to access it) . The restaurant is basically split into three sections. One is a small indoor "bar", the second is an indoor "dining" area which spans two floors serving continental/western fare, and the third is a larger outdoor seating area with an infinity pool, tables, and recliners for swimmers, beachgoers, and folks who just love outdoor seating.

Given we were just there for some drinks and sunset watching, we were accordingly located on the "bar" side". Initially the window seat we needed was occupied, but the waiters said they would let us move once the table opened up (we arrived a bit early on purpose). Most of the bar seating is sofa. After about half an hour we were moved to our preferred seats.

Alcohol selection is pretty typical of a hotel bar--there's a long list of standard cocktails and spirits, while the hotel offers a few specialty sections. We ordered--drinks took a fair bit of time to arrive honestly (some 20 minutes)--not sure if that is the norm, but if they weren't in a rush, neither were we. While there were no nuts or chips provided in the bar area, the restaurant periodically sent out complimentary pizzas and tapas for all guests to have a bite--this was nice, though I personally would've preferred some dry snacks.

We ordered two cocktails initially and were in the restaurant for almost four hours--we were never bothered to order more nor asked to move--top notch courtesy and service in the meanwhile. In the end we did order a second round just before leaving for dinner just for the sake of it.

The Sundara complex is styled in ultra-modern and luxury fashion--very nice--but is also priced accordingly. Expect first-tier city hotel bar prices. Unfortunately, as mentioned earlier, we headed elsewhere for dinner, as Cuca had caught my interest before Sundara... but perhaps another time.

Did I mention the sunset was unbelievably beautiful? And yes, Sundara is probably the most comfortable (air-conditioned) public place you can see it from in Jimbaran. Free wifi too in the hotel for those who care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank notoriouslyFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing service, we simply left....”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

my wife and I are guests at the four seasons, on our honeymoon. we took our son (2 years old) for a light dinner at Sundara, based on the recommendations from hotel staff and all of the reviews placing it at the top of the list of places to eat in bali. of course, we did not make a reservation so shame on us. however, the hostess put us in the bar with an undetermined wait...though the table and view were spectacular. we ordered drinks and a chocolate milk for our son and this is where the chinks in Sundara's service armor appeared. After 20 minutes passed and we watched two other tables served drinks before us - one of which had kids that ordered chocolate milk, both tables of which were seated only minutes before receiving this their drinks - my wife inquired about our order with another waiter. after waiting another 10 minutes with no results, we made the decision to leave and return to the resort where we are now ordering room service. the funny thing is the waiter followed us out the door with a chocolate milk as if nothing ever happened. unfortunately, we expected a bit more given the circumstances of our visit and the money we are spending at the resort as guests....we will not return, though we believe the restaurant is far more worthy than this incident and the low rating they are receiving tonight. service is everything for the four seasons, which is why we are return guests and always stay at a four seasons when travelling. my wife was upset, my son was not happy, and I am simply disappointed....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fire4efect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing