We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of La Joya II Biu-Biu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Joya II Biu-Biu
Ranked #7 of 103 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The perfect place for those searching for quiet place, ocean views, and quality time to your family.
No need to say much. It's perfectly hidden, not crowded, beautiful views at day and night. Don't forget to explore the beach under the cliff of the hotel ( bring your picnic food & drink)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayatri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

La Joya II was the first hotel we chose to stay in while spending a little over two weeks on the paradise island of Bali. We wanted to get way from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and have some relaxation time to settle from the jetlag, and my did La Joya II deliver just that. The hotel is set upon a small cliff edge with sweeping ocean views. Choose to laze around (or in) the pool that at a certain angle would be mistaken for being an infinity pool, or sit back and relax on the shaded seating are right on the cliff edge overlooking the sea. We saw some great sunsets from this point along with many starry nights sipping a Bintang listening to the ocean crash against the rocks below. It was an ideallic paradise, exactly what we expected from Bali. Further to this, is wasn't pretentious or 'posh', it was 'just right'.

A short 10 minute walk along the country road south, you will come to La Joya's sister hotel where you can hire mopeds, get a massage or make use of the larger, more luxurious pool area. From here you also have access to some of the coolest beach bars in Bali that are scattered along the beach below the hotel. We watched surfers do their thing while the sun set from here, while (once again) sipping a Bintang beer on sun loungers along the beach. As I said, paradise.

The rooms at La Joya II were clean, fitted with mosquito nets and air-con. Bean bags for lounging on the elevated porch. There were two beds, one large king size downstairs and one triangular corner unit bed on a mezzanine floor above. Fond memories were made at La Joya II and we would very happily go back. If you want to get away from the relentless tourist hassling of Kuta (and the cry of "motorbike taxi") this is your place! From here we hired mopeds and travelled down to the south of the island exploring different beaches and sights, you can also get up to Jimbaran for some beach BBQ although from our experience it is hardly worth the rather extortionate (for Bali) prices you will pay for a meal there. You're better off getting some sea food elsewhere along the coast.

Also, a massive note to all - USE BLUEBIRD TAXI'S. They are cheap, safe and reliable. If a hotel in Bali says you cannot get a metered taxi they are lying, give them a call the operators speak great english and they WILL access the majority of the island, despite what some hotels might tell you. You'll also find that a £20 journey in a private taxi (usually without seatbelts in a worn out vehicle) will cost you about £3.00 in a government supported Bluebird taxi - further to this, their vehicles are usually new with seatbelts. I hope that helps you all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

La Joya Bui Bui is the smaller/sharper priced and more quiet version of La Joya which is about 900 meters further down the road. While the larger La Joya is right next to Balangan Beach, it does not have the views and feeling that La Joya Bui Bui has. La Joya Bui Bui has amazing cliff top views and you can soak in the pool in the evening and watch planes silently coming into the airport many miles away. It also has it's own small beach and the infinity pool is great.
The owners only speak French but are very friendly and the staff there speak many languages. They are amazingly courteous and go out of their way to help you and the food there is very nice at an ok price.
The only Minus is it's remote location and the local taxi drivers who sit outside will rip you off unbelievably compared to local rates. Avoid them at all costs and use the phone in the bar/restaurant to order a taxi from elsewhere on the island. In doing this we managed to get consistent trips to Kuta at 150,000 IDR each way, where as the taxi drivers outside were refusing to go for less than twice that price. Pretty much the only let down of this amazing and beautiful place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that has a view to the sea. They are not any louder and the foot traffic is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_Poothly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cliff top view was incredible. This was the least touristy/lively place we stayed at but the absolute best view. I agree that it is remote as some people have noted and I must admit that we arrived and we both secretly panicked ever so slightly about how we were going to fill our time!! We're not mad party animals but we like a bit of life and activity. Very quickly we adapted to having complete peace but with also very reasonably priced driver who took us anywhere we needed and it was the same driver took care of us for the whole time we were there. There are so many beautiful beaches nearby easily reached by taxi and Jimbaran is excellent for fish restaurants (my boyfriend does not usually eat fish and he loved it here - there is nothing but fish on the menu!! - get there for sunset). A perfect end to our trip and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

La Joya Biu-Biu is smaller and more secluded than La Joya at Balangan Beach.
It has it's own good points such as the infinity pool that looks off to the Indian Ocean.
The view and sunsets there are amazing!
I stayed for 4 nights with my family of four and it was perfect.
The resort is quirky boutique style in a tranquil garden setting with pets, ducks and geese waddling about the grounds.
We received friendly, welcoming local service from all the staff.
There was a nice mix of international guests staying at the time ranging from couples to large families, my children had no problem playing with the pets and other children without any language barriers.

The resort is remote but you can hire a bike/car or arrange for taxis to take you out and about.
You can also be taken to La Joya nearby to hang out for a change of scenery.
My family and I are experienced travelers to Bali, so we chose to surf, take morning runs, relax poolside and beach comb or snorkel in the low tide at the nearby beach.
We also explored the Balangan, Bingin and Uluwatu area for restaurants and local warungs for great food, there's many options.

There's heaps to do if you look for it, no need for TV.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanita189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is quite good with a nice swimming pool and an amazing view. The whole place looks really much better than in the pictures displayed. Rooms are spacious, confortable and charming : we slept really weel during the three nights we spent there. The hotel is unfortunately quite far from the civilization and is not very well know by real taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked our accommodation for 7 nights and stayed for three and one of those was because we didn't arrive there until 2:30am. We found that we were too far out from any thing of interest. Drivers and Taxis couldn't find the place as the signage was really poor and we were literally in the sticks. The scenery & views were magnificent. However, don't stay here if you like to sleep past 4:30am as there were so many roosters going crazy. The bungalows don't have fridges and there was no TV, which I just assumed they would. We also found it difficult to communicate with any form of management/reception as they were not on site. The care taker has four Rottweiler dogs on site which are very friendly but, who enjoyed marking their territory on our outdoor bean bags when we were foolish enough to leave the gate open. We attempted to obtain a refund as we thought we had reasonable grounds for one: but were refused.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.7 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
3.2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 62 in Jimbaran
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
#25 of 62 in Jimbaran
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in Jimbaran
3,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
0 mi away
Milo's Home
Milo's Home
#4 of 103 in Jimbaran
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya II Biu-Biu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya II Biu-Biu

Address: Jalan Pantai Balangan, Biu-Biu, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Joya II Biu-Biu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your La Joya II Biu-Biu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Joya II Biu-Biu Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing