We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to heaven”
Review of Milo's Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milo's Home
Ranked #5 of 97 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place is like heaven!!!! Exactly what I was looking for. You have a wonderful view of the sea and the bungalows are extremely beautiful and the furniture is traditional Balinese style. 3 minutes away from the bungalow there is a small bay with hardly no people. Wonderful experience. I extended two nights as in this place I was able to come down from the bustling everyday life. The staff was very caring and always had an ear for me to make my stay even better.
Little drawback: If you want to go somewhere for dinner you have to call a taxi as it is a bit away from other touristic places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Milos for 5 nights with our young family. It is a fair distance from anything, the walk to Belangan Beach took about 10 -15 minutes. We hired scooters from here and drove to Uluwatu which was a nice day out. The food is a bit pricey so we ate mostly at the Warungs on Belangan Beach which were great and cheap and loads to choose from. There is a nice walk down some steps to a very small private beach which is nice and quiet. The pool was small but refreshing and the breakfast was lovely. We thought the bungalows were very cute, they are built fairly close to one another but they were clean and comfortable and the grounds were well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool, they look the best. Our room was at the top of the walk way which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Milo's Home has very nice Bungalows to offer! You have to be a nature lover in order to enjoy your stay here. The sound of animals and insects might keep you awake at night. The pool facing the ocean is a nice place to relax and enjoy the sun along with a drink from the Bar. Nect to Milo's home you can enjoy a nice massage for an affordable price with a breathtaking view. I would recommend to book the massage around 6pm so you can watch the sunset while getting the massage. Renting a scooter for just a couple of $ allows you to visit the nearby Bangan beach which is a wonderful place to watch the sunset, the surfers and have a nice dinner. Also not far from here is the Jimbaran Fish Cafe area next to the beach which I also recommend for dinner or lunch altough it's much more beautiful by night. The staff at Milo's home is very friendly and if you're an animal lover you will enjoy the company of a dog and 3 cat's owned by the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank CarolinaFrancosMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Good:

Bungalows
View

Not good:

No privacy - you hear every word or phonecall from the reception if you get a bungalow close to the entrance.
If you go to the loo - the neighbour definitely will know

Remote location - there is NO possibility (unless you take a scooter and drive for 20 minutes) to get something to eat or drink from somewhere else than the "Restaurant" at the pool: so whats the Problem? They just can not cook - and maybe they don't even want to cook any good at all. No taste, no spices, only 2 indonesian dishes that tasted worse than the canned food we have in europe. The tiny menu really is more like an emergency list before starving. Beer is good - comes in big bottles.
Good thing - we still lost 3 Kilos in 5 days :)

The surrounding is a dirty mess - you will not wanna go for a walk there.

We tried a trip with a driver one day but it's senseless - the traffic around denpasar and the airport is the worst we have ever seen on the planet.

Balangan beach (10 minutes away) - a wooden village on sticks standing in a dirty little river full of garbage floating into the ocean. Waves still looked good.

Only ONE sunlounger at the pool - for 9 bungalows (and at least 18 People when booked out).

Noisy construction work at the pool area - but only if it's nice & sunny - aaaahh!!!

Constant airplane noises if the wind is coming from a certain direction.

The ceiling fan in the bungalow has no power at all - it is 90% decoration. If you hit a hot period... enjoy the baking.

Except from one nice and clever english speaking balinesian girl from the reception no one of the other staff members seemed to care a lot - except for having a chilled out day whithout much moving.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christoph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pros: amazing view, proximity to the spa next door, which has the most picturesque setting, clean rooms, proximity to Balangdan Beach.
Cons: no soap, no hair dryer, no extra towels available for the beach, no A/C, doesn't take credit card, totally uninspiring food with no alternatives closeby, expensive taxi rides to go everywhere even in Jimbaran, construction materials blocking entrance (I found this to be totally unacceptable - what if someone trips?)

For almost $100 a night, I was shocked to find an over-priced glamorous camping experience. Yes, the view is amazing and the setting is extremely relaxing, but I was very disappointed given all the positive reviews. Also Andrea was away for the holidays and her dad was standing in, but he didn't speak any English so our group had a very difficult time communicating our needs and questions. We wish we had a little more local insight on this portion of our trip especially given the fairly remote location.

And this was the only hotel on our entire SE Asia trip that didn't take credit cards. If ATMs were more easily accessible this would have been fine, but that was not the case.

I would only recommend this place for people who only need very basic rooms and are looking to stay put at the resort and the beach closeby. For me the one thing that made my experience here was the amazing spa next door, not anything from the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the room by the cafe - it is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dengmeimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night at the end of our bali trip.. The lumbungs and area are nice but maynot not as stunning as they looked in the pictures. Our lumbung had a strange bathroom in once you've had a shower the water remains in the bathroom meaning that night time trips to the look mean you get wet feet which is a shame and there is nothing in there to push the water down the drain. The pool area is stunning and so nice to chill out. We met the host Audrey later on arrival which was a shame as she was so friendly but she wasn't there when we arrived and we had a frosty welcome from reception lady who did show us to our room quickly but was just a little cold and were were left feeling uncomfortable not knowing anything about the place. We felt so awkward that we went for a walk to a balangan beach via the road which isn't a very nice beach at all and the walk there is also very grim. Infact Milos home is in the middle of no-where with nothing else around at all the nearby hotel is empty and soleless and whilst we went there for lunch and a massage we found the whole area too quiet and remote. We had dinner at milos but found the price so high for what we had and also the standard was one of the worst we'd had during our trip and a sad last meal to our trip. There was only a choice of about 4 things also meaning that we were relieved we only had 1 night there as you'd be stuck after 2 nights. Jimbaran is a 20min taxi ride away but with limited transport options you do have to pay a price to get there and it would be difficult to explain to another how to get back so we avoided it... however after having our last meal at milos we wish we had braved it. Audrey is extremely lovely and its obvious she has good advertising in her native france as pretty much everyone staying at milos were french and speaking french to each other, making us feel that suddenly we weren't in bali anymore and were actually back in europe.. that actually made me sad and maybe that's why my memories of this place aren't that great. Not audreys fault and she was lovely tho. Fab place but very much a wrong location...

Room Tip: There is only one write at the fron that has a direct sea view... the others are all on the side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaybuddy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as i was looking for a beach, but couldnt find it the first day, this place is Very well organized, very quite, its located far away from everything, so if you want to go somewhere you need transport! Wich is not so hard to find in Bali! The huts are good , spacious!
Breakfast could be better, for the price they ask!
A fine experience, however, a bit too pricy compared to bali standards!

Room Tip: They have only 1 room facing the beach, ask for the room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vins1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
3.2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 58 in Jimbaran
497 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#15 of 58 in Jimbaran
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Joya II Biu-Biu
La Joya II Biu-Biu
#7 of 97 in Jimbaran
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
0.3 mi away
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows
#23 of 58 in Jimbaran
490 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milo's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milo's Home

Address: Jl Balangan Pantai, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range: $54 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Milo's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milo's Home Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing