We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to improve on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Astari - Villa and Residence
Ranked #2 of 98 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at a one-bedroom villa (Villa is called Kedondong) for 3 nights from 15 to 18 March. Our stay was generally pleasant.

Location:
- Near the Jimbaran Bay seafood area
- A little hard to find as there aren't any visable signages, only a small sign indicating to turn left into the small alley if you're coming from the airport

Pros:
- Reliable and fast wifi in villa
- There was direct access from the pool to the shower area, which I appreciated because it meant we didn't have to walk dripping wet into the bedroom area.
- Bottled water provided (4 bottles a day for 2 people)
- Quiet place with lots of privacy
- Bed was quite comfy

Cons:
- Mosquitoes!!!!! We lit several mosquito coils throughout our stay but we still got bitten
- General upkeep: you could see that there were water stains on the tap and some of the furniture and towels had small stains, but still acceptable overall if you're not fussy
- Water pressure from the shower head was inconsistent, and the water kept going from warm to cold and back to warm again. Quite annoying while taking a shower. On our last day, there was only a small trickle coming out from all the taps! This was attributed to maintenance work down on the next villa when we called to check
- The staff, while generally helpful, can't understand English very well. It was very difficult trying to communicate our needs to the staff. But they did help us rent a scooter and arrange for our spa session (be prepared to wait for half an hour at least as their therapists are not in-house but from elsewhere). We also told them to help us arrange to send us to the airport the night before we left, but they either didn't understand or forgot. Luckily they got us a taxi to the airport which cost 70,000 rupiahs, compared to the USD15 that we would have to pay if we took their pick-up service.
- There are 4 types of breakfast available every day - Western, Continental, Indonesian and Healthy. Breakfast is delivered to the villa. Food is not fantastic, but acceptable if you are just looking to fill your tummy. Our breakfast on the first day came half an hour late and this resulted in a very hurried breakfast as we had a driver waiting for us.
- There's a resident rooster somewhere and it'll start crowing at around 4am. Might disrupt your sleep if you're a light sleeper

I think there are lots of areas for improvement especially when it comes to communicating with the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hahaheehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for The Astari - Villa and Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 314 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had decided to stay here for a night before going on our long flight home and found a reasonably priced one bedroom villa with private pool.
The villa and the pool were really nice, spacious and with all the amenties we expected for a villa with this price tag. The pool was wonderful! High walls give you privacy.

Those were the good things, otherwise the hotel didn't really leave a good impression at all.
The sheets were very dirty, with blood in plain view. All the outside furniture was dirty, in the villa and at the main pool in the hotel area.
The staff was super slow and doesn't speak much english. They are in serious need of more staff and the hotel should retrain their existing staff. They forgot we ordered breakfast even though we had filled their order form and let us wait for 40 minutes.
In the afternoon we ordered their "Pool special of the day". The only staff who was there for service - the reception guy - didn't even know about the special, even though he could see the sign from his desk. Preparation of the meal took another 40 minutes. I had a look at the kitchen, the chef was incapable of preparing two fast food meals quickly and dirty dished were all over the place. He really needs help. There was no service staff at the pool area. If you needed something you had to go to the reception desk in your swimsuit.

The only person we met at the hotel who seemed to speak good english and had decent training was the manager. She apologized in a proper manner and was really nice. I do hope she can turn this place around eventually.
At a place that advertises to be "up-scale" and has prices to match, we expected much more than they delivered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Checked in late last night, pick up from airport was flawless check-in fast and pleasant. Room is lovely, beds a super comfortable and the pool area a dream, and I haven't finished a whole day here yet. I'll follow up my review at the end of my stay, but I can only see my stay getting better.... You will be pleasantly surprise if you stay here, the best place to just relax

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A bit out of the way, but a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and look out on the pool - the staff is polite, attentive and courteous. They can arrange airport pick up/drop off and drivers for the day; as well as recommendations for places to eat and visit.

You can order breakfast either the night before, or the morning of - where it can be enjoyed in the restaurant area, on your front deck/veranda area or in your room. (If you order the night before, don't forget to let folks know when you get up and are ready to eat!)

The Indonesian friend rice is SO tasty - don't be afraid to order dinner here if your day has been long, the chef is very good.

Room Tip: The bottom room all open up onto the pool - perfect if you love to swim in the Bali heat.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's an excellent place considering of the affordable price. Though it is inside the lane, but it only takes about 3 minutes by car to the Muaya beach, and when you walk out you see luxurious hotels like Four Seasons or so.

The room is extremely nice, with spacious bathroom, kitchen area and lovely small balcony. Also the swimming pool is very good, you can see the flowers around the pool dropping in the water.

Stuffs are friendly and helpful, however, the service can be very SLOW. We have waited for about 30 minutes to enjoy the SPA, and it took us more than 40 minutes to get the breakfast! But the breakfast is nice, with plenty of choices.

SPA place is without air conditioner, and it can be very HOT actually.

The residence provide free shuttle car to the beach, however it is not always reliable because they only have one car. Sometimes you have to wait 1 hour or more if the car depart for airport or etc.

Last but not least, the WIFI is fast and reliable here. Feeling so grateful because wifi in Bali is not reliable all the time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VenaMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Astari was the perfect escape for us after 4 days in the hustle and bustle of Legian/Kuta. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. It seemed, for the most part, like we were the only guests at the hotel at times because we had the pool to ourselves. It was perfect. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very helpful. They arranged shuttles for us going anywhere we wanted to go at a reasonable price. I would definitely come back to the Astari again.

The only recommendation I would make would be to provide guests with more information about the local area. We got a hotel shuttle to the Rock Bar at 5pm one day which meant we were far too late to get it. It might have been nice for the hotel to suggest we head there earlier. A very minor issue though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed six nights at Astari in Nov 2013. It is a very quite, pleasant and relaxing place. We had a suite room (207) in upper floor overlooking the pool and the garden. The hotel is reasonably new and the room was very spacious, clean, modern and tastefully furnished. Bathroom was excellent with hot water with good pressure. The balcony was big enough and great place to sit in the evening. The staff was absolutely great, helpful and friendly. We had a mechanical issue with our rental car and the lady at the reception talked to the rental people (in Bahasa Indonesia) to explain the problem. There were sets of breakfast menus (I think there were three) and could be selected/ordered night before and will be served as room service or at the small restaurant at the pool. The breakfast was average.

The hotel offered a free shuttle service to specific places in Jimbaran area at specific times. It will be a good idea to have a rental car or scooter if you want to be more flexible with your trips to restaurants or beach in and around Jimbaran. Other option is getting a taxi. It takes about 15-20 minutes to/from Airport by car depending on the traffic. Hotel also provide airport pick-up/drop off at a price of USD15 (one way).

The room had a small kitchenette with a kitchen sink, small refrigerator and enough cupboards. What we missed was a microwave and some plates/cutlery.

We had a great, relaxing time there really enjoyed our stay at Astari.

Room Tip: The location of the Astari Villa and resorts marked in the TripAdvisor interactive map (Browse nearb...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.8 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
#25 of 57 in Jimbaran
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
2.6 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#15 of 57 in Jimbaran
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#14 of 57 in Jimbaran
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astari - Villa and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astari - Villa and Residence

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range: $39 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Astari - Villa and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Astari Villa and Residence Welcome to My Home away From Home, The Astari Villa & Residence is located in Jimbaran hills , 5 minutes drive to Golden white sandy of Jimbaran sunset Beach and the popular beach front seafood restaurant, only 20 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai Airport. Nestled in a strategic spot at Jimbaran, an area at the southern part of Bali known mainly for its beaches, cuisine and cultural enchantments, the Astari is endowed with a thick tropical environment green trees swaying in the breeze, and warm smiling people. Featuring two floor Balinese blend with Nature designed Residence , have Ten large Deluxe room, Four Suites with Terrace and Balcony, four Private pool villas, Large Swimming Pool stretch in front the residence, ASRI Resto & Bar, and the LESTARI Spa. Enhance the Balinese experience with the Genuine welcome from The Astari Family member, do morning jogging along the quite street to Jimbaran beach, sunbathing on pool deck while reading books or enjoy cocktails and Beer from our Bar, enjoy the Body treatment from well trained therapist at Lestari Spa and having meal at our ASRI Resto. Explore the jewel of Jimbaran , visit Garuda Wisnu Kencana cultural park, New Kuta Golf, Jimbaran sunset BBQ and sea food restaurant, Padang-Padang beach and the Kuta lifestyle only minutes drive from The Astari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Astari - Villa and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astari - Villa And Residence Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing