We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuning experience with a uniques chic touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Me and my wife host our weeding at Villa Balquisse, more precisely at villa Shaba (which is a private villa under the same management). Our guests stay at Villa Balquisse and the overall feedback was pretty amazing.

Villa Shaba is pretty much the most amazing Villa in Bali, the price is great for what you get ...everything!! We live in Bali and we have seen many Vilas here in the island, and the taste, the detail, the colors, the lighting and the staff are just too good to be real.

Our wedding was a intimate event that was extremely well hosted by the villa Shaba and Balquisse. The decoration was well beyond what we have dreamed with and all the details were just remarkable. All our guest were stunned by all thjing.

The staff is great and always ready ..... its a like a family and we left there friends for ever.

And the best is the price, its too good to be real. You enjoy a great experience in a extremely tasteful boutique Hotel for a great rate.

The location is also great, 2 min from Jimbaran Beach, one of the best beaches in all Bali. Very close to many restaurants and shopping area.

If you are looking for privacy and a intimate location here is the place for you, to enjoy Bali the right way.

No matter what the purpose in Bali its a must!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJCSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 520 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

It is an amazing spot, extremely tastefully furnished, lovely pool and garden, very friendly staff and delicious kitchen. Worth the money!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faddyfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Beautifull setting, the rooms were amazing, we were there off-season so we practically had the place to ourselves. The service was great, good food and nice, and easy to reach!

All in all perfect place to start our holliday!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balinees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

As the previous reviewer (A&MForrest) already described, we experienced more or less the same. (They have an ipod system now, compared to that review)
With no doubt the place is beautifull, i think a must see. We stayed there one night and it was enough for us. I am not sure if that is the lack of service, or the poor food served at their restaurant, or just that is was enough.

For us it seemed like they took more care of the villa then of the guests.

If they just improved a few things, they place would be perfect.
1. Get a real cook in the restaurant. For me the food was... bahhh
2. Do something about the service.
3. Change the entrance to the villa. (now you enter via a carpark)

Actually those two things were our big minuses for this place, people wo book this place are permitted to have these expectations, because you pay a lot of money for this place.
Still we enjoyed this place because of its beauty.

We loved the spa here, it is also very beautifull and very reasonable priced, compared to the rest. Also the treatment was as i expected.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo_Hartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Obviously from reading the other reviews this hotel does have some good rooms. Ours was not one of them! Our bathroom smelled as though someone had forgotten to change the kitty litter for weeks! When we mentioned it to them, they said they knew there was a problem and were working on it - but that didn't help us. We had to keep the bathroom door closed and the hotel room door open at all times.

The roof leaked in the bathroom every time it rained and the mould in the bathroom was overwhelming because of it. They kept leaving out towels to absorb the leaks from the roof, but it just made the smell of the bathroom worse and left the room sopping wet. While the architecture is very european in style, it does not suit the indonesian climate. There were tiny windows which could not be opened and dark rooms which had to have the lights on all day. Very closed-in and oppressive.

There was also a family of rats living in the ceiling! We stayed there three nights and spotted them four times. It does not make for a relaxing nights sleep when you have seen a rat less than two metres from your pillow. We also mentioned this and they said they would look into it - we never heard back.

There is definitely no direct access to the beach, we too had to make the 20 min trek on the road with no streetlights at night with small children - I don't recommend it.

The restaurant food was incredibly average. We ate out whenever possible. The afternoon tea was stale cake and we never saw the fruit sticks, or the free flowing water by the pool! There happened to be a bee infestation whilst we were there and we spent every morning trying to eat our breakfast before the bees could. Obviously this is not their fault, and the kitchen staff were very apologetic.

The spa, in contrast, was amazing. The best massage I have ever had! The girls are incredibly friendly and made us feel relaxed in seconds. My daughter loved the kids massage and had three in the short time we were there. I highly recommend the spa! From the decor to the staff - it was fabulous!

My advice with this hotel, is definitely make sure you are getting what you think you are - before you pay! There are obviously two sides to this hotel and we got the dud one! Having said that the staff were helpful and efficient at their jobs - our room was serviced as soon as we left it, and they always came around in the afternoon to spray the mosquitos and light the coils.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WearyTravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Villa Balquisse last month. Our deluxe room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. We had a bath in the middle of our room and the bed was enormous! The staff at the hotel are so helpful and kind. We thought it was great value and were a little nervous prior to reading the other reviews on here but our nervousness was completely unfounded. However, we did see a few of the other standard rooms and I do think it is probably worth paying the additional money and upgrading to deluxe. Whilst the other rooms were lovely, our room was luxurious.

The only thing we wouldn't recommend is eating at the hotel. The food was quite mediocre. The breakfast in the morning was lovely though. Would definitely recommend to friends.

The hotel is a 10 min walk to the beach but the hotel give you lifts. It doesn't matter very much walking to the beach. the mark up for staying on the beach is not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We rented a 3 bedroom villa at the Balquisse for 3 nights over Easter weekend. The villa was huge with 3 separate blocks of bedrooms set off to the side of a large pool and a comfortable sheltered lounge area. The whole of the Balquisse was very quiet as it is set back from the main road through Jimbaran and it’s perfect for relaxing
The design of the rooms is interesting, each one was different and decorated in beautiful fabrics and furniture. We had problems with the aircon in a couple of rooms but it was fixed quite quickly.

Breakfast and other food in the restaurant was excellent, food was interesting, the meals were put together well and the service was great.

The spa also had a wonderful atmosphere and the spa treatments were good.

Would love the chance to visit this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
2.2 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.7 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 62 in Jimbaran
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
0.1 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
2.1 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in Jimbaran
3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 18x | Gang Gigit Sari, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#12 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $123 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in the heart of Jimbaran and nestled in a coconut groove. BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel is a mansion dating back in the 60s. Entirely renovated over the years by its owner and interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari, BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel has this shabby-chic vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing