We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Puri Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puri Bambu
Ranked #3 of 91 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Puri Bambu definitely exceeded our expectations,

Very good value for money, considering the price we paid on Agoda. Staff in all departments were friendly, helpful and accommodating at all times.

Front office and Housekeeping staff go out of their way with special requests, if any.

Again considering the room rate breakfast is great. Dayu and her team are all smiles and even do a great white egg omelette.

The spa albeit small but cosy has well experienced therapists. Yasini was great.

Nice sized swimming pool kept clean at all times.

Just a stone's throw is the Jimbaran bay and a range of seafood restaurants.

We have already booked to return this month.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are the best as they have a nice balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombaybabu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    316
    93
    16
    3
See reviews for
103
301
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked this hotel simply to get a cheap room close to the airport . This hotel turned out to be a real gem. The standard rooms are a good size and very well priced. When we checked in we were upgraded to a superior room . This room was quite spacious with a large bathroom . The restaurant which is upstairs from the reception was a huge area with teak floor and support beams and rustic heavy wooden tables from which there were many fine views. There is a free shuttle which runs to and from kuta square area twice daily. There was also free wifi accessible from selected areas. The Jimbaran seafood area and beach is 150 meters down the road. The staff are also able to arrange private transport at reasonable rates. We found the staff to be friendly and quite efficient at their job and happy to assist with requests . The most surprising thing was the lack of airport noise . We are seriously considering making this hotel a regular stop based on amenities, location, accessibility to transport and cost .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice place to stay a day or two
enroute to Ubud or other destinations
as very close to DPS airport
Very reasonable with nice restaurant and rooms.
(loved the suite with rollaway for the three of us)
Beach a few blocks walk (shorebreak may bother some, but not I)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel itself is fantastic! Its a green oasis, with spacious rooms, good food, fantastic in-house spa service, and excellent staff. We stayed for a week and a half and the hotel made a great base from which to explore Bali.
We liked our big room, even though it didn't have too much natural light, but the way the hotel is laid out its nearly impossible to have too much natural light as there are plants, and trees and greenery everywhere! The only thing I found disappointing were the bathroom amenities - you only get one towel each, there is no blow-dryer, and the shampoo are little hard to open packets, however, everyday you are given a toothbrush and toothpaste, which to me seems unnecessary. Breakfast was ok, enough to get you started for the day and the few times we had dinner at the hotel, it was also pretty good. Service is always with a smile.
I highly recommend the in-house spa service - an hour long massage is only about $9! A very fair and competitive price, even for Bali!
The location of the hotel, however, leaves much to be desired. Its located on a dark, a bit dirty street leading to Jimbaran. Jimbaran beach is great for a seafood dinner, which we highly recommend, but other than that the beach is a big disappointment as it is dirty (this could potentially be down to the fact that it is the rainy season). We ended up taking a taxi to Nusa Dua when we wanted to go to the beach. But if a beach vacation is not what you are coming for, then this is a great hotel from which to explore Bali!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ievag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a wonderful, well organised and well-run hotel representing good value for money. It is in a great location- only 20 mins drive (in traffic) from the airport and is a very relaxing place to touch down after a long flight. The vaulted dining room is particularly special place to eat and drink and while away time with family and friends- gorgeous wood everywhere (hope they replanted the forest). The pool is nice too, the food is good, the internet works and my parents-in-law loved the cosy spa experience in-house. They also organise cars to and from the airport and other places which come on time. Jimbaran is a good spot from which to explore the rest of Bali but is nice and relaxed in itself, although close to the 'action' (if you like that, which I don't).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
949 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I booked a double room including breakfast for 2 nights in Jan 2013 by Agoda; the price was cheaper compared to their published rates but we still paid $67USD/night and in my opinion got a crap room. Room 125 is huge like a shoe box and the air con works great. The bed is large and well dressed - 4 pillows and cool clean cotton linens. Two night tables, 1 small desk and chair, 1 other chair and TV stand. At the end it is a small closet and built in luggage rack. The bathroom is large, almost cavernous, but ONLY 2 bath towels - no face or hand. A few cheapish toiletries but not even a soap dish. There is a huge vanity with one sink that doesn't drain well and a huge walk in shower with good pressure. The PROBLEM is there are only 2 slit windows in the ENTIRE caved room - how dark and depressing is that - especially in Bali. And no apparent reason for it - they could easily have made the entire front of the room windows . One side of the room block is open walkway so there could also have been windows installed along one side but it's just a long dark cave. Rooms 124-126 are the same. The rooms right above us (224-226) at least have windows along the room front but have no balconies, and 225 (twin beds) and 226 (king bed) look right into the restaurant so you'd probably want to keep your drapes closed anyway?? When asked the morning after we checked in the front desk staff offered and showed me room 226 but we felt it really wasn't any advantage to what we had and we'd have to repack then slog our stuff up the stairs for only one more night. Rooms 124, 125, 126 have 2 chairs and small table each on a tiny patio outside their front doors. Speaking of doors - only a push knob lock! Even the remote places we stayed in up in the mountains had dead bolt locks. There is a security guard at the front of the hotel but what about within grounds security? They offer a safety box in the lobby but it is shared and when we left our laptop and camera with them we noticed our stuff never went into a safe but just sat on a shelf behind reception the whole time we were out. Wifi is strong but only available in common areas. We were greeted very nice at check-in and received a nice, refreshing welcome drink. Every time we approached the front desk we were treated very nicely. The pool area is nice and large and prettily landscaped. We were there over a weekend and on the Saturday it appeared to be bring your kids to work day and let them run wild in the pool. Having spent the last days seeing much of the poverty away from the prime tourist places of Bali I feel really split about this. On one hand it's nice that the staff kids are here and can enjoy the pool on a hot January afternoon but on the other hand we're paying relatively a lot of money to stay at this hotel with 'private pool' for our last 2 nights in Bali and don’t really appreciate the noise, splashing and general chaos that went on this particular Saturday afternoon – no idea if this is a re-occurring event. We woke up early one morning and walked to Jimbaran Beach before breakfast - it only took 7 minutes from the hotel. Walking to the main street takes less time but there's not much as far as restaurants but there is a small grocery market right at the corner for water, etc. The included buffet breakfast was good - certainly enough variety for Europeans and Asians. You have to pick up your breakfast voucher at the front desk each morning. The upstairs restaurant is beautiful and in the evening there are two old men playing the gamelan very beautifully. Overall the staff are extremely nice and friendly. And the grounds are pleasant. The hotel laundry is extremely overpriced - there is a local laundry out the hotel door to the right about 2 minutes away and she charges a fraction of the price with a 24 hour turn around (4pm to 4pm). The free shuttle to the airport was right on time at 06:45. The front desk said that if you’re booking with booking.com then airport service is not free – but if you booked with Agoda it’s included. Given the same room, or rooms around ours, I wouldn’t stay here again. Given a room with actual windows and natural light I would consider it dependent on the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 124, 125, 126 are big but only have 2 slit windows so are dark and cavernous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to the airport given we arrived late, and because we understood it to be a good place to stay in relatively quiet and local surroundings. We were not disappointed as it's a very nice hotel with character. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are spacious enough, the food is good, the pool is very pleasant. It's quite close walk to the beach and even to the non-touristy South part of the beach fish restaurants so famous at Jimbaran. I would certainly go back there. Good for a relatively short stay. They have a shuttle to Kuta.Nice massage. Drivers take you to tourist spots from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.5 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
1.2 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#17 of 57 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Jimbaran Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Bambu

Property: Hotel Puri Bambu
Address: Jl Pangeracikan | Kedonganan, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Puri Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bambu Hotel
Puri Bambu Jimbaran
Hotel Puri Bambu Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing