We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AYANA Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$239
$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$149
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$720
AyanaResort.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abi Bali Resort & Villa(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$79
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$154
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Joya, Villa & Bungalows(Jimbaran)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,912)
Filter reviews
3,912 results
Traveler rating
2,734
717
275
92
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,734
717
275
92
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock barayana resortthe cliffocean beach poolkubu beachclub roomdamar terraceaquatonic poolsami samidava restaurantpadi restaurantrecommend ayanaon the rocksritz carltonhotel guestsindian oceanour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,603 - 2,608 of 3,912 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

It's a beautiful resort, room is quite standard but comfortable. Attentive staff and they can help with any booking even with restaurants and spa not on their recommended list. We were quite disappointed by the first hotel we stayed at, and we became very frustrated when we checked into this. They said all the restaurants were fully booked for the night, Dec 31! This resort is isolated and you need to take a taxi if you want to eat outside of the resort. We imagined it would be troublesome to go anywhere on the New Year's eve (traffic is very bad at this time of the year in Bali). Apparently we were not happy and the staff called their restaurants many times to find us a table and finally the manager came and solved the problem. We had our new year eve's dinner by the beach - Kisik Bar and Grill, perfect table and delicious food. The Rock is also great and we really enjoyed the cocktails while watching sunset.
It's true with the other reviews. Groups of people look like taking a tour around the resort. It looks busy even though it's a very big place. Overall, nice resort and good service - staff move faster and work smarter here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itterasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Not a 5 star hotel anymore...Times are tough and it's so very sad to see how the hotels owners and managers have allowed the hotel to slip down from its once well deserved place as one of the best resorts in Asia.Have recommended many friends to this hotel over the years since its opening in '96...(i even got married here),but cannot do so anymore.Service was either very good or totally inept,villa was stocked with bits n bobs of old furniture which was dirty,badly stained and sorely needed replacing.Thatched villa roof had mildew problems,upon complaining housekeeping staff wore pained facial expressions,as if to say "we know,but no-one cares".Room minibar didn't work and was empty,you have to go to a tuck-shop to buy a selection of items which are delivered to your room.TV and TV remote didn't work on check-in.The A/C was on its last legs (had to keep it at 16c to keep the temperature comfortable in daytime !) Bed was comfortable but cleanliness was not up to expectations,mouse and lizard droppings were be left for days on bath surfaces,tables,floor.The food was below average (apart from the Italian food at Padi..which was excellent,although spolied by the sometimes ridiculous schoolboy errors of some,but not all,of the waiting staff)....could go on but why bother,i'll just vote with my feet next time i visit Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpsjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your recent stay at AYANA, which holds so many fond memories from your many holidays in Bali. We very much appreciate your comments, and I am disturbed to hear that you felt the hotel was not up to our usual high standard. I am investigating the reasons for this and we will do everything in our power to ensure these issues are addressed.

I hope you will give us another chance in future, to show you that we are still among the best resorts in Asia.

With warm regards,

Charles de Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We spent 5 nights during our honey moon. All was perfect : from the amazing ocean pool, the kind, professional and discreet staff, beautiful scenery for the breakfast area to the large and elegant suites.

True luxury in every sense of the word !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baptiste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad to hear you had a memorable honeymoon, we love to hear that our efforts to create a truly luxurious experience are paying off! Congratulations on your new marriage, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Charles de Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Went there for a weekend. Room was fantastic. The resort has seven restaurants, 6 pools, it was magnificent. It has the most facinating bar I've ever seen, on top of the beach on the rocks. Wished we could have stayed a week. Staff was incredibly friendly, even at 1 am in the morning when we arrived.
Spa was amazing. Only know one hotel in a similar league (Peninsula Bangkok) besides that it wa the best hotel I've ever stayed in.
Will definitly go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmopolitan1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

This will be our third stay at this property in 10 years -- the other two times under the Ritz Carlton name. We have had a lovely time, thanks to the wonderful service and the fabulous facilities, so please take my criticisms in the spirit in which they are meant, which is to give the reader the pros and cons of choosing this hotel over other very good choices in Bali. Please remember that we paid half the price of a two bedroom villa at the Four Seasons and that my expectations are still that this hotel is of Ritz Carlton calibre -- which it is as far as the service is concerned, but alas no longer due to ongoing maitanence lapses. As always, one gets what one pays for!!!

1) The location: The hotel is located on the isthmus between the main part of Bali and the southern part that houses Nusa Dua and all the big hotels with golf. It is 15 minutes to the airport, 20 minutes to the chic areas of Legian and Seminyak for dinner and shopping. It also is close to the by pass that puts you on the road up to Ubud. It sits on top of a huge cliff, facing north west, so the sunlight is gorgeous beyond belief in the late afternoon. And unlike the other luxury hotels in Jimbaran (Four Seasons, St Regis), the main parts of the hotel are on flat ground without a million steps between different sections of the main part of the hotel. The absolute worst part about the location is the drive from the airport past the abandoned quarry in Jimbaran, but as soon as you reach the entrance to the hotel, one forgets all that.

2) The buildings: The main hotel buildings have very standard rooms with balconies that look over the sea. The villas are why one stays here and they are HUGE. We are in a 2 bedroom villa (Villa 1005) on the edge of the cliff and I am sure it must be over 4000 ft2.... We are traveling with 3 of our sons and I actually booked an additional room, because all are over 6 feet tall and not exactly rollaway size any more, but it was not needed and the staff very kindly allowed us to cancel it when we saw the size of the villa. Their part of the villa has a living area with two heavy chaise lounges that when pulled together, make an 8 ft long bed, which our youngest, Richie has happily slept on. The villa has another living room, master bedroom with a walk in closet, double sink and separate bath/shower room with a chaise and access to an outdoor shower. It is huge. The boys' bedroom has two double canopy beds, a large closet, bath with double sinks, a soaking tub and separate shower. There are two terraces, a very small infiinty edgevpool and a 9X9 ft bale with cushions all leading out to a huge lawn at the cliff's edge. The only drawback to these villas is that they are not private -- if you are interested in nude sunbathing, best take an "ocean view" villa that has a wall for privacy....

The amenities in the rooms are luxurious -- L'Occitaine and very plush towels. The beds and mattresses are firm and comfortable. But look closely and this is no longer a hotel that matches up to the standards of a Ritz Carlton, St. Regis or 4 Seasons..... There is a noticable downgrade in the maitainance of our villa. For instance, daylight can be seen at the edges of the thatched roof, there is mold on the (lovely) etchings on the wall in the bathroom and there are cracked and broken tiles. The most noticable thing for even a casual observer is the dimness of the villa at night: all the light bulbs in the villa have been changed to a low wattage variety so that it is very difficult to find enough light at night to read by. There are also many bulbs and outdoor lights that are broken and have not been replaced -- the telltale wires still hanging from the stonework. The painted trim on the villa needs a new coat of paint and the upholstery and pillows on the sofa in the living room need to be replaced. The saddest thing are the pots of water lillies and other water plants in the water garden that look like they have not been pruned or revitalized in a long time.

Since our last stay, they have built an additional section to the hotel with a separate entrance, restaurant (Dava), and pool for the exclusive use of villa guests. This was a great idea because it makes for a real "boutique" hotel experience within the larger context of a luxury hotel. While the idea is a good one, it's execution leaves a lot to be desired. The building itself is in the shape of a lotus blossom done in white concrete, which is a lovely idea but it has little to do architecturally with the rest of the hotel. Further, the driveway to the villa entrance has a gorgeous tree but none of the other very Balinese things it should have. There is no sense of arriving at a beautiful BALINESE place at the driveway. The building mixes so many materials in such a small space that it is not visually appealing at all. Further, the construction standards are subpar and now with the new operators, it is clear that the work is not going into maintaining what was built. (A few examples: the reflection pool in the main reception lobby has sprung leaks that are fully visible to anyone upon entering, the lighting is dim, there is a platform built for a gamalan group to greet guests on arrival and in three days I have not seen them once, the volcanic rock tiles in the villa pool have corroded and make for a very unpleasant on the feet journey into the hot tub or down the stairs into the pool) ...

3) Facilities: The main pool has two levels and is very user friendly. The lower level has a lovely waterfall, behind which used to be a lovely saltwater reef aquarium, which is still there, but the tank is grimy with algae, not lighted and most of the coral seems to have died. The water slide is fun for little kids and there are some handy lounge chairs for parents to watch the kids. The whole lower main pool opens onto a big grassy lawn so there is plenty of place to run around for kids too. There are two tennis courts. The beach is a golf cart ride away with about 100 very steep steps to get down to it. -- the handrail has not been maitained well and is rotted in places, so really anyone with trouble climbing stairs should not attempt the trip. But for those of us lucky enough to be of sound body and small child free, the beach is quite lovely. There is plenty of shade, lovely sand and a rocky surf. They serve drinks down there and have nice beach towels. but lunch must be ordered an hour in advance, so be prepared for that. There does not appear to be a lifeguard so children must be watched vigilantly as the surf can be difficult for a weak swimmer.

Finally, there is a new rock pool and bar most of the way down the cliff from the main hotel. The rock pool is small, with an infinity edge right above the crashing surf. Very dramatic and beautiful for lounging, but of limited use for swimming... The best part about it is it proximity to the rock bar, which is a very hip well appointed outdoor bar cantilevered over the surf. Sunset is the busy time at the bar, with many outside guests, but not "the beautiful people" the evening we were there. There is a DJ playing pretty standard club music, which lends a beat over and above the pounding surf. It is an AWESOME spot, so I think the concept could be great and would be a big draw for the hotel if they tweaked it a little -- if they improved the food and ambience at the Kisik restaurant, which is near the rock bar -- then outside guests who made the trek from other areas could watch the sun go down at the Rock Bar, walk across to Kisik for a lovely dinner in the sand and then head back to the Rock Bar to dance it off. A better DJ would help too.

Here is a final example of why hotels MUST spend what is needed for upkeep: We just returned from an aborted attempt to eat dinner -- right after we received appetisers, the electricity went off in the entire hotel. Staff was excellent at getting each table extra candles, but we gave up when it was clear the kitchen would have to start from scratch after the lights finally went back on. We walked back to our rooms and will happily order room service later if we get peckish. The problem, apparently, was the hotel's generator, which is a MAJOR issue for maitainance and engineering.

4) Service: totally top notch. From the waiters, to the pool attendants, to the front door staff. This is a group of professional, loyal, well trained people willing to answer our every need. .

5) fFod: Kisik is dreadful, Dava is FABULOUSLY DELICIOUS for breakfast and very good for dinner , the pizzas and food by the pool has all been very good. I think they make the best Nasi Goreng in Bali. We tried Padi tonight, but got blacked out. What we ate was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pfpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews