We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AYANA Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AYANA Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Jimbaran
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our one bedroom oceanview villa was expensive, but it was worth the price. Extensive grounds are magnificent, food was superb. We are not spa people, but I understand from friends that the spa is great. Only one small problem. The grounds are so big, you need to call your private butler to pick you up in his golf cart and take you from one place to another. You call the butler with a private cell phone in your room. Indonesian cell service can be spotty, and when the cell phone is not working properly, it can be a bit of a hassle to reach your butler. Otherwise, service was impeccable. Used to be the Ritz-Carlton, but the new owners certainly know how to run a quality resort,

Room Tip: There are single rooms in a main building, but for a few hundred dollars more a night, spring for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demandsvalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,320
    637
    240
    73
    76
See reviews for
661
1,695
89
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Normally when in Bali we prefer to avoid the large format resorts, we stayed here for 3 nits and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, we had originally book a normal room, but upon arrival upgraded to a much larger suite, grounds were quite nice, staff cordial and well trained, no complaints from me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Ayana is the African word to describe a beautiful flower, and it certainly doesn't disappoint. This being our second visit to Ayana this year, we always find the staff ultra friendly and welcoming. We felt as if we were long lost family or friends visiting. We were fortunate to meet the majority of team there, from the General Manager, who is a stand-up comic in his past life, the Director of Rooms (yes, Ayana is big enough to warrant a Director for rooms), who we got along with as if a "Brother from Another Mother", and Mr. Mariusz, Sales and Director of the Ayana Residence who made it a point of going above and beyond his call of duty to make our stay a memorable one, right to the friendly staff in Padi, Sami, Sami and Rock Bar whom by the second and third day was calling us by our names. No words really can do this place justice. Need to go and stay there, and if you are fortunate enough, and can afford it, buy a Pied-a-tierre in the new Ayana Residence coming soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear ‘Dax B’
Thank you for your review of AYANA, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and felt right at home here. I have passed on your comments to our staff as they derive great pleasure from such positive feedback. It was a true honour to meet you (no joke) and to introduce you to our new residential project. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘second’ home.

Warm regards
Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Didn't live up to my expectations. I had stayed here last year only for day in resort room and location and hotel seemed lovely so thought would book in again ocean view room.
This room is the same size etc as resort and not worth paying extra.
On arrival thought would make cup of tea but teabags and mat where cups on etc stained. think not changed over from last guest. Also coffee sachets very cheap variety we use in staff room at work. i don't even drink it there as so tasteless. Asked Housekeeping to come and fix teabags and tray and did so asap.Also pillows and top of sheets had crumpled look.
Welcome drink rushed and had to stand at reception and do paperwork and have drink when there were plenty of spare chairs in lobby. Mentioned wasn't feeling well but not told hotel has nurse available
. Found out reading hotel brochure but when i rang had nurse gone home for day so had to wait till next day. Needed antibiotics and would have got better alot quicker if staff had told me this information.Please listen to what your guests are telling you and let them know of hotel services available to them.
You can hear quite loudly in room toilets flushing,people talking and footsteps from room above. Ayana you definitely need to soundproof !
Loved Kisik restaurant ,aquatonic pool and spa. They have available" last day on Bali treatment" which I notice is not on spa internet menu page. Book this , great way to finish your holiday.
Also be aware that there are alot of weddings at Ayana and part of hotel (lower pool area ) closed off and music late into night. They do leave flyer in room telling you this .
I think that if you stayed in villa would be 5 star but don't expect this from resort or ocean room.
It was hard to grade Ayana as did enjoy parts of stay but have to be honest in my review and there are things they need to improve on.

Room Tip: Go for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paigeleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear ‘paigeleaf’
Thank you for your review of AYANA. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to your expectations and I am addressing the issues raised with our Housekeeping team to ensure greater attention-to-detail and immaculate cleanliness, in line with our high standards of hygiene across the resort. We are currently completing a renovation of all standard rooms, which provides a complete makeover including new furniture, décor and bedding, and sound-proof ceilings and walls. I am sorry to hear you were not feeling well during your visit and that our staff did not respond appropriately. We take great pride in our caring service and our staff’s anticipation of guest needs, so I thank you for bringing this issue to my attention to enable use to improve our responsiveness. On a positive note, I’m glad you enjoyed Kisik Restaurant, the Aquatonic Pool and Spa, especially the Last Day package which we are now uploading to our website. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback so we may address these issues and improve the service for all hotel guests.

Warm regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I think people need to realize how special Bali is and Ayana Resort and Spa! The people of Bali are unlike anything I have ever encountered, and I have traveled all over the world and would know! One of the driver's at Ayana was just amazingly helpful and gracious to our group everyday when we were there, and when I didn't have enough time to run around to shop for my souvenirs, Weda went around and picked out what I needed! I mean, they just don't make people like that anymore, and it was my sister's B-day the next day and he showed up w a bouquet of beautiful orchids, roses! Weda, you make that resort rating instead of a Five Star, A TEN!!! We love you Weda! You rock! And so does Ayana Resort and Bali!**********

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were booked at an Ocean Cliff view Villa and although we were expecting the villa to be much closer to the sea I have to admit that our initial disappointment was soon forgotten.
The Villa was enormous with a huge lounge with a large flat screen television, enormous bedroom with a kind of four poster bed, small desk and espresso coffee machine and 2nd flat TV, and beyond the bedroom a separate walk-in wardrobe, separate double wash basins and finally an enormous bathroom with a free standing stone and beautifully carved bath tab and separate shower cubical, with floor to ceiling glass walls looking onto the beautiful garden and beyond.
The villa was enormous, and decorated in the local style. Through the French doors you came out into the garden with a fairly large plunging pool, gazebo, water features and a number of frangipani trees emitting a delicate smell especially in the evening. The villa was very secluded with nice views over the hotel grounds and beyond to the sea.
The hotel grounds are huge with beautiful trees and flowers everywhere.
We had various meals at the restaurants in the complex and at Dava the food excellent, as was at Damar which is much more relaxed and the staff superb. After our first visit they would greet us by name and always with a smile. Visit Damar for a coffee in the afternoon and try Kopi Luwak as a special treat.
We also visited the famous Rock Bar but although a very spectacular location, I think a bar is a bar is a bar. We also found the Spa good but in my opinion slightly “stiff” in atmosphere but very good treatments.
The place is wall to wall with honeymooners and provides 4 or 5 wedding venues but that should not deter you staying here if you are of a greater age than 30 something.
Note of caution though, that the sandy beach of the hotel is about 150 (if not more) steps down the cliffs and believe me it felt like 300 on the way up at 32 degrees. Don’t despair though as there are plenty of swimming pools in the grounds.We did feel though that because of the geography of the place, people with mobility problems would be deprived of some unique features of this resort.
Having said all that, Ayana is a really lovely resort and we would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear ‘OTT12’,

Thank you for reviewing AYANA, I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and returned home with fond memories. I am glad to know that you explored our grounds and found our facilities enjoyable especially your Ocean View Cliff Villa, dining venues, Kubu Beach and the various swimming pools.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I have our honeymoon in Bali. Staying in Ayana make our honeymoon perfect! We fall in love in everything there especially the Rock Bar. A very special experience to have a sip of cocktails on the rock in the sea! The Kubu Beach is also a special attraction in Ayana. We love it! Besides that, having dinner at Kisik Seafood Restaurant in Ayana leaves us sweet memory too. One of the staff from Kisik named Anthony chat with us and found out that we're having our honeymoon in Ayana. Then, we received a card with the wishes from all the staffs in the restaurant. So sweet! Overall, all the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Indeed a worth stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.5 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
7.0 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort
2.0 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa

Property: AYANA Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Karang Mas Estate, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AYANA Resort and Spa Bali is a world-class destination resort located on 90 hectares of cliff-top land perched above Jimbaran Bay, just 10 kilometers from Bali airport. AYANA’s majestic sunsets and ocean-front views are complemented by white-sand beach and shared facilities as Bali’s only integrated resort with RIMBA Jimbaran Bali. With full access to all dining and recreation at both AYANA and RIMBA and complimentary resort shuttle, guests enjoy the most extensive on-site facilities of any resort in Bali. There are 15 restaurants and bars including the famous Rock Bar; exclusive private beach; 11 swimming pools; world-class Spa with Aquatonic Seawater Therapy Pool and Spa on the Rocks treatment; golf-putting and fitness center; and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing