We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly Excellent Hotel, but almost perfect wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AYANA Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Jimbaran
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nearly Excellent Hotel, but almost perfect wedding venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Ayana firstly as our hotel of choice for Bali and then for our wedding venue so i'll separate the review for each bit.

As a hotel, the grounds, the staff and the food are amazing. All our experiences were super-positive. The quality of the many restaurants was very good as was the morning breakfast. The many pools and kids areas means you can generally find the space you want. Unfortunately during our stay the amazing cliff top pool closed down for cleaning which is a bit of a let down. Ideally, you'd try and schedule cleaning outside of peak-times. Most people talk about the price of things at Ayana, and yes most things are expensive when compared to Bali. However, the quality is generally there so we don't really mind paying a price premium as long as the quality and service are good - and it was. Our only complaint was the difference in room value. We were very nicely upgraded to a club room (some nights were part of the wedding package) but if we would have paid for all those nights in the club room, we would have felt a bit ripped off. The standard garden view rooms are very nice and the club rooms offer very little extra amenities or size. The benefits is in using the club room lounge which although nice, doesn't justify the significant increase in cost. The standard room is very nice and that much extra for very little extra would be a bit too much in our opinion. We had several family and friends stay in standard rooms and we didn't really notice much difference between them. Also, considering this is 2011, paying $10 per hour for Internet is ridiculous. Every shack serving food or drinks in Bali is offering free WiFi yet at $300 per night, you don't get it. Overall, those little gripes did little to hamper our excellent experience and we'd definitely stay there again in a standard room.

Wedding.
If you're thinking of getting married at Ayana, we highly recommend it. It was an amazing experience and everything was planned with great precision. We couldn't be happier. We highly recommend Dona as the wedding organizer and she went out of her way to ensure we had a wonderful day. All our guests can't stop raving about it and we definitely were more than happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear ‘MarkDi’
Thank you for your review of AYANA. It was an honour to be chosen as the venue for your special day and I am delighted that it was a memorable, stress-free celebration for you and your guests. Such an important day must not be otherwise! I have passed on your note to Dona and the wedding team, to thank them for their commitment to ensuring a wonderful occasion that you will cherish forever.

Thank you also for your compliments on the hotel facilities and service. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the Ocean Beach Pool closure during your stay. The pool has since reopened but I understand your frustration at not having access to it. It was an unscheduled closure due to a broken glass and we have taken steps to ensure it does not happen again. I am reviewing our room pricing in light of your comments on the difference between our Club-level rooms and suites, and standard rooms. Apart from access to the Club Lounge for complimentary F&B from 7am-11pm daily, our Club-level guests also enjoy other services including unlimited access to the golf-putting course, tennis court, internet access in the Club Lounge, laundry and pressing service, and dedicated check-in and concierge at the Club Lounge. Complimentary WiFi is offered in-room for our Villa guests; because of the steep cost of installing and maintaining high-speed internet for our resort, I apologize that we are unable to offer it complimentary to all guests, which is a policy in line with other 5-star resorts in Bali. WiFi internet is available for Rp75,000/hour or Rp200,000/24 hours.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which is invaluable to enable us to continually improve. I look forward to welcoming you back to AYANA in the future – perhaps for an unforgettable wedding anniversary!

Warm regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    647
    244
    77
    82
See reviews for
671
1,727
93
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Simply amazing!We slept in a club room, but I can suggest better the villas!anyway, the garden, the pools (especially the salt infinity pool, the Ocean beach pool), restaurants and the rock bar are great!
Enjoy the sunset at the rock bar and taste a really good pizza at Sami Sami restaurant!If you like fish, book a table at the Kisik bar&grill with a very nice panoramic view!!!
If you are staying in a hotel room, take a tour to the villas lobby and pools..more intimate but still very nice!!!Take the golf car service to reach the Ayana's private beach : Kuku beach,which is small but very nice too!The spa is rated as the #1 in the world....and actually it is!The service is excellent too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 2 young kids over the weekend. The view from the hotel and our room is absolutely gorgeous and the room is very nice.

However, this is definitely not a family type hotel. The program at the kids club was not as exciting as in Hard Rock or Novotel and all the game consoles were broken. The booking staff at the kids club's reception was constantly on the phone instead of watching the kids.

Also, although the facilities are up to 5-star standard hotel, the service is not. Coffee and toiletries were not supplied regularly and buggies are not free to use for hotel guest. They also charged for internet both LAN in the room and WIFI at the lobby.

Breakfast at Padi is excellent and there are lots of varieties of foods.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yistianty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear ‘Yistianty’
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the views, your room, the cuisine and facilities at AYANA. I am disappointed that you did not find the Kids Club up to 5-star standards and I am reviewing our activities program and service with the Kids Club team. We recently renovated the Kids Club and launched a new activities program focusing on outdoor entertainment, with different activities tailored to children aged 2-5, and those above 5 years old. Activities include our weekly petting zoo, paint-a-pot ceramics (in association with renowned ceramics design house Jenggala), Balinese dress-ups, dancing and cultural games, pool party, tree-planting, kite-making, cookie-making and many other activities which we feel stimulate and entertain our young guests. In addition, we upgraded the facilities with new flat screen TV, X-Box, Wii, trampoline, 'foosball' table football, children's billiards table, additional outdoor furniture and playground equipment, and table tennis.

Regarding your comments on service, we provide housekeeping service to all rooms three times a day which includes replenishing our complimentary coffee and tea amenities, toiletries and bathroom products. The only time this is not done is when guests request privacy. Internet and golf buggy transport are complimentary benefits for our Villa guests. We offer resort-wide internet for Hotel guests for an extra fee (Rp75,000/hour or Rp200,000/day), which is in line with internet rates charged by other five-star resorts in Bali.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which is invaluable to enable us to continuously review our services and facilities to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction. Your patronage is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to AYANA in the future.

Best regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Let me start with the pros 1st:
children friendly, nice swimming pools, lots of activities for the kids, good perfume making program for adults and kids, great view, friendly staff, v cool Rock Bar....it is a must try!
many restaurants to choose from
Now the cons:
we stayed in a v old room for the 1st night, the hair dryer base came off, the shower was leaking, the closet doors can't be closed properly and so the light was on all night long!! Could not get my sleep! They moved us to another room the next day and the water broiler did not work. The mattress was v soft too. Also, the staff training is seriously insufficent....when i asked the bell boy how to operate the air con, he told me he had only been there for 2 weeks and he needed to get back to me on the issue. The hotel guide book said there was an aquarium behind the Low Pool....when i asked the pool guard about this, he has no idea! After I found out the aquarium and told him about it, he said he was just being transferred from the other division?! So they dont tell the hotel staff what is in the guide book??
Honestly speaking, it is a beautiful property but the training of staff and maintenance need to be upgraded ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear ‘MSLau’
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed the children’s facilities, new perfume-making studio, Rock Bar and restaurants on offer at AYANA. I am concerned by your comments about our staff, as our staff take great pride in providing timely, reliable and genuinely caring service in all guest interactions, and I consider them our greatest asset. Having beautiful facilities like the Rock Bar, pools and villas is one part of a luxury resort, but the most important is having staff who go out of their way to make every guest feel not only comfortable, but completely at home and cared for. A beautiful building is just an empty shell without caring, knowledgeable staff, and I am investigating your comments to ensure all staff are up-to-date on our facilities and service standards, even if they are new to our team. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Regarding your room, I apologize for the defects you mentioned, which are not consistent with AYANA’s standards as a world-class 5-star resort. We are currently upgrading all of our room and villa facilities, and we recently renovated 55 standard rooms to enhance the comfort and experience for our guests. I hope you are able to visit us again soon as I am sure that you will enjoy your experience and consider it a ‘love’ relationship only!

Warm regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is the place to go for the most spectaular views and sunset.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I just stay there for one night only, but the services of all staff was very excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnt_bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Almost every year we love to stay in ayana (formerly ritz carlton)..although the location is quite far from kuta,but we love to stay there..why?
When we came there,they welcomed us with warm greetings with beautiful flowers..the room was very clean,quite big for a family,comfort bedlinen and nice furnitures..and for the facilties,they have complete facilties such as sauna,fitness and also swimming pools...The pool near the rock bar was our favourite place..cause we could relax there and saw the beautiful sceneries...
And the other place which we liked so much was kubu beach.We went there in the morning,so we could walk along the clean and white beach..it was a private beach where you could go while you stay in ayana.
And besides the lovely places with lovely flowers everywhere..the food in breakfast was awesome...
We hope we can stay there....it's really a nice place..and also two thumbs up for the service...(Housekeeping )..

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.6 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
6.9 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort BALI
2.0 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa

Property: AYANA Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Karang Mas Estate, Jimbaran 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AYANA Resort and Spa Bali is a world-class destination resort located on 90 hectares of cliff-top land perched above Jimbaran Bay, just 10 kilometers from Bali airport. AYANA’s majestic sunsets and ocean-front views are complemented by white-sand beach and shared facilities as Bali’s only integrated resort with RIMBA Jimbaran Bali. With full access to all dining and recreation at both AYANA and RIMBA and complimentary resort shuttle, guests enjoy the most extensive on-site facilities of any resort in Bali. There are 18 restaurants and bars including the famous Rock Bar; exclusive private beach; 12 swimming pools; world-class Spa with Aquatonic Seawater Therapy Pool and Spa on the Rocks treatment; golf-putting and fitness center; and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing