We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Beachfront Bali Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Jimbaran Puri
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bustling Beachfront Bali Treat”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Jimbarab Puri bali for just one night at the end of our honeymoon. It's a lovely place and espite us only staying the one night, they still filled the bath with petals and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are comfortable and well-decorated ... the bed even felt like a huge moroccan tent as it had fantastic calico curtains/mosquito nets!

The best thing about the Puri Bali is the beachfront that fronts onto the Jimbaran public beach. This means that you can lpunge on the whitesand beach, get your drinks bought to you, go for a swim ... and perhaps best of all ater sundowners head up the beach to one of the Jimbaran Seafood Warungs. The middle group (south of the hotel) are perhaps the best and we can heartily recommend Waroeng Menega where we had probably the best seafood we had in Bali.

The beach is bustlign during the day and still pretty lively at night and if you're a bit naughty you can wander into one of the otehr hotels for a drink on your way back!

Breakfast was adequate but not the bestw e had in bali ... the staff, as usual were extremely accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    198
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
180
702
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Our Stay at Jimbaran Puri Bali, Indonesia

The hotel was just a short distance from the airport (took only 10-15mins drive), which was a lovely comfort after such a long flight from London.

When we arrived at the hotel we found it very spacious and open. We were shown to our cottage (Number 40!) by a member of staff. As he showed us to our room, he explained to us all the facilities of the hotel. We saw a huge swimming pool and just beyond that a beautiful beach. The gardens were expertly kept and as we found out throughout our stay, looked after everyday.

Our cottage was huge. It had everything that we needed and so much more. We had a bathroom which was bigger than most peoples bedrooms! It had a sunken bath with a huge drench shower. There was his and her sinks (No arguments there then!). For privacy the toilet had it’s own door!

The main room was split into 2 sections, a lounge with low coffee table and sofa, desk and chair. The bed was huge and in the evening, when the room was serviced, it was covered by a mosquito net. The room was serviced twice a day. The room was always spotless!

Outside our cottage, we had our own walled garden. Also, there was an outside shower, which we used coming back from the beach. Was very refreshing after a long day in the sun. We sat out on our decking reading our books and magazines in privacy. It was a very quiet relaxing hotel.

We always walked around barefooted during the day as the grounds were so clean. There was always someone sweeping or washing so it didn’t feel dirty, just spotlessly clean everywhere!

The beach was very open and we chose to sit down on the beach rather than at the swimming-pool. I was able to sunbathe topless on the beach, where this was not allowed around the pool area. The service on the beach was not as frequent as around the swimming-pool, if we wanted a drink we had to go to the bar (Only a short distance walk) but while people were at the swimming-pool they were asked if they needed anything on a more regular basis. Maybe they should have a flag system (which I have seen and used at other hotels), that you use if you want a drink rather than them keep asking you or not in our case.

The sea was not too cold but refreshing all the same. It was quite rough during our stay and we were advised that it was due to the “No Moon”. I’m quite a strong swimmer, so quite familiar to swimming in the sea. Although on a few occasions I was knocked off guard by the strength of the waves. Not a warning - Just be careful - Not really great for children to play by themselves.

Even though the hotel was very open, we didn’t come into contact with any local tradespeople trying to sell us items. If you did want to go to local craft stalls they were just a short walk along the beach behind the seafood restaurants.

The swimming-pool was beautiful. It was a perfect temperature! The pool was quite deep in places, so be careful if you don’t like going out of your depth. There are plenty of places in the swimming-pool that you can just sit and relax - Lots of shelves that are below the water level but allow you to just sit and cool down!

The sunsets were some of the best we have ever seen. They always happened at 6pm which coincided with happy hour. This is when the locals came to the beach too. They played football on the beach which was quite fun to watch while sipping the cocktails that we charged to our room!!

Breakfast was included in our package and was very plentiful. We had an amazing choice. We were always asked how we would like our eggs cooked. You could have them any way you liked, so from day one, I chose to have them different everyday!! My Fiance had pancakes some days and they looked amazing!! So I had them on the last day - As a special treat!

We didn’t have lunch or dinner at the hotel, as we ventured out to the local seafood restaurants just 5 mins walk along the beach (towards the airport) or went into Kuta. There were also some restaurants a little further along the beach with tiled roofs. We were advised that these restaurants were a little more expensive than the thatched roof ones so didn’t really venture that far along the beach to visit them in the evening.

The hotel had Wifi, which we made use of during our stay. We kept in touch with friends and loved ones sending photos’ of the beautiful things around us. The service was quite strong and you could get reception in the lobby and the library as well as on the beach near the bar.

During our stay it was my 30th birthday and as a surprise my work colleagues arranged for me to go to a spa. I went to Anika Spa and would recommend it to anyone. They even came to the hotel to pick us up www.anikaspa.com . It wasn’t very expensive and a great trip out.

We went into Kuta (just a short cab ride away). The hotel would arrange for a cab to get you there, but just go one way as cabs are plentiful in Kuta and cheaper on the return journey. It was a little busier than Jimbaran and we had a choice of restaurants. For my birthday we went to the Hard Rock - We go to them all over the world so it was really nice to keep up the tradition! There is even a Marks and Spencer there! Shopping and stalls are everywhere, so if you fancy a little bit of shopping therapy, Kuta would be a change of pace.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MascallsAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

They forgot to pick us up from the airport which was annoying especially because the local taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was. This irritation was resolved by way of a complimentary massage the next day which was very nice. The hotel is located on a beautiful beach with very calm waters. airport noise is an issue at night especially if you are failing to fall asleep due to jetlag. The pool is beautiful. The beach is very quiet, no hassle from tradesmen trying to sell you fake rolexes but in the evening all the locals gather and play football in front of the hotel which we found charming and entertaining to watch. They are not noisy or disturbung, it actually gives you a nice insight into the life of the happy balinese people. The service by the pool/beach was inadequate as you always have to get up yourself to get to the bar where they try to sell you mineral water as opposed to giving you free iced water from the jug. Breakfast was good, dinner was excellent. Its a shame there is no free shuttle service into town. the restaurants in Kuta are awful, don't go there, instead head to nusa dua where there are plenty of good choices (try bumbu bali). A 5 minute walk on the beach will lead you to plenty of great seafood restaurants which offer great food for excellent value. Overall, its a nice place to relax for a few days but i would not recommend staying longer than 4 nights as i think you would get bored.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gockeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was the 2nd hotel we stayed at during our honeymoon in Bali. It was in perfect contrast of our stay in Ubud where we surrounded by jungle and rice fields to be staying in a perfect beach front location.
The hotel is set in beautiful gardens which are so well looked after. The pool is amazing and the beach is huge with hardy a soul on.
We would highly reccommend going down to the fish huts on the beach in the evenings to watch the sun set and have the best BBQ fish ever!
Food at the hotel is great too, although a little expensive we had 2 meals there which were delicious! Breakfast has everything you could want on offer and kept us going to dinner each evening!
All the staff are lovely and so helpful. We would really recommend staying here for a romantic/relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We recently traveled to Bali for our honeymoon and could not have picked a better hotel for the beach part of our trip! We were upgraded to one of their new villas when we go there and it was truly unbelievable. The grounds are very well kept, everything is super clean and the staff are SO friendly! The food is also very good - highly recommend the breakfast buffet - with great fresh fruit and yummy local and traditional breakfast stuff. The pool and white sand beach are very relaxing. Within walking distance in both directions on the beach are some yummy (and very inexpensive) local restaurants. From what we could see, it seemed this hotel was better kept than some of the other "high end" hotels that are close by. Highly recommend this to anyone - we wish we would have stayed here the whole time instead of moving on to the next hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed four nights and was upgraded to one of the new Villas . .luxury has taken on a new definition. .. .they are amazing. . .like a small house with a pool, not any plunge pool, but a real pool .. cabana, small lawn.

Villas has two large areas .. one a living room and eating/working area for computer and iPod dock.

Second area is a bedroom and one of those bathrooms you see in designer magazines. black stone with tub, glass enclosed shower inside and then one outside. . Large storage area for bags and clothes. . . Odd though the light in the closet which has lattice work sliding doors is as bellman said. . "24 hour light" No way to turn the thing off but there are sliding doors to the sleeping area to keep the light out.

So many light switches that the technically challenged may have some issues but eventually you will figure it all out (maybe!)

Don't know about the old part, but the villas are great accommodations. . .

Breakfast buffet was superb and then they cooked eggs, pancakes, and French toast in the kitchen on order.

Few minor glitches but this is the tropics. . wake-up call never came the last morning for an early flight but I woke up. . .Bar and food service on the beach could improve efficiency. .

These new facilities should take their place among the best in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

This was the most stunning truly 'boutique' place. We had an incredible villa with a little pool that was so plush and spacious. The bathroom was incredible - huge bath, huge shower. Everything was so new and well designed.


It quite possibly was not the hotel's fault, but we were hassled by outsiders. It spooked me out, especially as it was so remote and I didn't feel safe. Looking back it may have just been sales people trying to use tactics to get to the guests (I was asked for in my maiden name which is the name they hotel had put on their card they held up in the airport arrivals - along with the name of the hotel) but I was hassled with phone calls (some of whom claimed to be my sister - I don't have a sister!) and also the hotel staff tried to get me to accept a parcel I wasn't expecting. I wasn't sure if I was being paranoid but after all that we couldn't relax so we reluctantly had to check out.

Apart from this though it was lovely and peaceful. Very nice restaurant although as we were the only people we did feel a bit like in a goldfish bowl. Not paricularly near the beach or anything else and there was a fiercely barking dog on the approach to the hotel (I don't think it was ferocious, just sounded it!). There was some low key building work going on but it didn't disturb us.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.1 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#6 of 57 in Jimbaran
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
0.3 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Jimbaran Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Jimbaran Puri

Property: Belmond Jimbaran Puri
Address: J .lUluwatu | Yoga Perkanthi Lane, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Jimbaran Puri 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Jimbaran Puri is a luxury resort hotel in Jimbaran, Bali with a authentic, unpretentious and supremely romantic style. Located at the beachfront of Jimbaran Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches in Bali, the resort promises uninterrupted breathtaking sea views and is perfect for those looking for a private space to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Jimbaran Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimbaran Puri Bali By Orient-Express Hotel Jimbaran
Puri Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Jimbaran Puri Bali Hotel
Belmond Jimbaran Puri Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing