We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W O W !!! What an experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have recently returned from 12 days of pure indulgence! We literally travel the world extensively, and we can attest that this Intercontinental Bali Resort is pure heaven.

Located along a lengthy white sandy beach on the warm Indian Ocean with acres of lush green grass, swimming pools, palm trees, fountains a staff that just won’t quit - we have now booked our room for next winter (2015).

Bali, just south of the equator, had fantastic weather every day. Laying on the lounges along the beach front enjoying the sun, scenery, swimming and the attentive staff occasionally delivering refreshing ice cold face cloths along with tropical drinks - makes this resort a masterpiece of facility, hospitality and incredible service!!!

As members of the IHG (Intercontinental Hotel Group) we stayed on the Club Floor and enjoyed our own swimming pool and poolside bar reserved for Club members.

We also had access to the Club Lounge where incredible food and drinks were served daily by the friendliest, most hospitable and expertly trained staff we’ve ever encountered.

The staff – right from the moment we arrived were, without exception, exemplary and made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odwayne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Mr. odwayne64,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience pertaining your recent stay with us. I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed our club facilities and our great service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return next winter.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
There are newer reviews for INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We are a family of 4Ad n 2 Ch stay 2nights at 3 Singaraja rooms. Start from beginning to the end, service was excellent. No drama at all.

All our request for 2 interconnecting room and 1 room close by was granted. They even allocate 2 interconnecting room direct in front of Singaraja lounge and 1 other room next to the interconnecting room

However, Singaraja lounge is not comparable to club lounge. They have only couple of sofas and 2 kinds of biscuit and 1 juice. So the value of Singaraja more to the renovated room itself

Room is clean, well maintained. But it's quite old and need to renovate to look more modern.
Lobby also show its age. However the ground is very beautiful. Considering the size, they have a team of good gardeners to maintain all the grounds. They even have ducks which my children playing with.

Staff Service overall is good. But not all staff did greeting when meet. Some yes some not. I don't know why. It seems they need to refresh their customer care training.

Overall it's a pleasant stay but they need to renovate the hotel soon to maintain its 5* level

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeruJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear HeruJakarta,

Thank you for taking your time tor write a review regarding your recent stay in our resort. I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We are continuously enhancing our service and facilities therefore your feedback is advanatgeous for us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Bali

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our third stay at the Intercontinental, all of which were in the Club. It has been four years since we were last here, so we were staying in a duplex room that was being finished off last time we were here.

While Bali immigration remains horrible, even with a new airport, the pick up service was excellent and check in very quick and painless. We did find cleaning issues within a few minutes of moving in to the room - mainly cupboards which hadn't been opened and checked - but for the most part the cleanliness was acceptable. Getting this minor problem fixed was our only real service issue, and something we haven't seen change - reporting problems to Club reception doesn't seem to translate into a housekeeping fix, despite descriptions and even photographs! But the housekeeping manager zoomed straight in when contacted directly and problem gone in 10 minutes. So we'd advise that route if you have a minor room problem.

The Club were very apologetic and a free massage in the spa for the two of us - which was, frankly, amazing! - was more that adequate recompense.

We had been a little concerned about children in the club pool and I guess it still could be a problem and others do seem to have had an issue. Staff didn't really want to intervene, may have other tasks and lack confidence with confronting foreigners, so I would like to see an 'firm but tactful' manager keeping an eye on this. We did have a couple of instances of inflatables, but I'd have to say the worst behaviour was from adults diving in or drinking from glasses in the pool. We never really worked out why and how glasses were chosen - sometimes they were glass, other times plastic. With children (and child-like adults) about, we would like to see 100% plastic all the time to protect pool users, even if it isn't quite such a pleasant cocktail experience!

The huge positive change has been to allow Club users to spend their free cocktail time at the Sunset Bar, Club Pool or Club. This was superb - the Sunset Bar staff were lovely. We used to work our way from beach to inside, sampling all three. Breakfast, snacks, canapés and sweets (at the pool) were all excellent and service was always prompt. Lime Sodas in the Club are particularly good!

We ate from the snack menu a few times - not cheap, but very nice indeed. Splitting a Club Sandwich between two as a snack is more than adequate.

We took the morning bike ride around Jimbaran which was excellent fun and is recommended for getting a sense of how Jimbaran is laid out for any subsequent walks.

For the price, this is still a great experience and we will undoubtedly return at some point.

Room Tip: If you are over 6ft, avoid the duplex rooms - the rainwater shower head is just above that level as...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thompsons-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Thompsons-Abroad,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review regarding your recent stay in our resort. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We appreciate your concern pertaining the kids at the Club InterContinental Pool and you can be rest assured that our team will continue to reinforce the policies to maintain the tranquility at the Club Pool. As an alternate, we have provided appropriate and safe facilities for kids at our kids club and Balinese Bath Pool area.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Bali.

Warm regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Over the last couple of years this has been the fifth time visiting The Club at Intercontinental Bali. Though this being a pricey hotel for individual travellers, the secluded club pool, serenity of the sea view area and individual butler service at the club rooms and suites seemed worth putting out the money again.

While we were lucky to have a room overlooking the club room and the ocean Jimbaran Bay, unfortunately this tuned out to be a punishment. The club area has been taken over by families with screaming children, waking you up in the morning, keeping you awake in the evening and making the whole area uninhabtsble for any discerning traveller all day long.

While little signs posted at the tables around the club pool kindly ask families with the children to use designated facilities elsewhere, nobody cares and management does not implemented its own policies around the area at all. The atmosphere here is messy, screaming and desperate.

Just to prevent any moral tutoring: Nothing wrong with family holidays! Appreciated! But when a club pool is advertised as secluded silent tropical heaven, management may not allow a bunch of desperate families to change it into a screaming childrens playground hell.

Conclusion: Families with many young children are welcome here and I surely recommend the place a lot having stayed here in so many holidays. Individual tracellers and couples looking for some rest in their holidays: STAY AWAY!

For anyone planning a trip to the hotel, check if you really want to put down the extra money asked for the Club at Intercontinental. At least during the main season you will certainly not get the tropical experience you expect, so you can rather book the regular rooms at the hotel with any loss.

If we will ever come back our 6th time, certainly not during any holiday season in Europe or Australia.

Other than that, still a great hotel. But probably not for us!

Sad, lost a treasure ... :-)

Room Tip: Far away from the Club Pool during school holidays, unless you want to spend your holiday in a kinde...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear MichaelBucharest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort.. My team and I are continuously enhance our service and facilities therefore your feedback is very advantageous for us. We are aware of your concern and address it to our team.
Do try our Villa’s on your next visit, which also offers a private Pool, exclusively for your use.
We look forwards to welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit to Bali.
With best regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was staying before at intercontinental and I was always very happy. Good food, good service attentive personal, but this time I had the worst experience ever. As a result I will not visit intercontinental Bali hotel again. As a club customer I expected to retreat in the quite are of the club pool. Unfortunately, the area was transformed into some sort of kinder garden. Screaming children everywhere, jumping, splashing everywhere, nobody cares. The most funny thing is that they also have a sign, that recommends this area as a tranquility zone, where guests come to rest and relax and the families with children should use the main pool area. Too bad, I always had a good history with this hotel, but not anymore. No reason for me, my friends and acquaintances to come here anymore.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandru N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Alexandru N,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. My team and I are continuously enhance our service and facilities therefore your feedback is advatageous for us. We are aware for your concern and address it to our team.
Do try our Villa’s on your next visit, which also offers a private Pool, exclusively for your use.
We look forwards to welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit to Bali.
With best regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I am currently a guest and I'm here to celebrate my birthday.

I'm surprised about how the upkeep isn't as unkept as I thought that it would be. The lounge for guest is somewhat of a joke with only tea, coffee, water, and a piece of fruit as snack. If it's a lounge, I would expect more options for snacks, which I have experienced at other similar hotels. I also left my room for 3 hours this morning and hung my "clean room" sign. As I returned, the room was not cleaned, thus we had no clean towels to shower after the beach.

1) The balcony chairs are very dirty and I wanted to sit outside and read, but cannot.

2) The bed is also too soft, thinking that this hotel hasn't has renovations for the infrastructure. It looks good on the outside, but once in it, things at change a bit.

3) the floor of the bedroom is dirty. I walked barefooted as I came my first day and my feet were dark.

4) pest control is needed ~ I killed 5 Mosquitos my first night.

5) Dead bug carcass stains are around the room.

6) The sink has a leaky faucet.

7) by the pool area, no one cleans up after another guest is done. We noticed dirty towels and garbage is all around. We've had to clean our own benches and get our own towels (which should be included since the place to get the towels is quite far if you're not in that area).

By paying about USD240/night, I expect better quality.

Overall, the service is here, just the upkeep of the hotel isn't.

Room Tip: The name of hotel doesn't matter, but read the reviews carefully.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiec0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear eddiec0419,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay in our resort. My team and I are continuously enance our service and facilities therefore your feedback is very advantageous for us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Bali.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Where should i begin with reviewing possibly the most peaceful and romantic place on the entire planet? My husband and i stayed here for 2 weeks to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Let me mention that i have been to many places and am a frequent traveler and i have never stayed anywhere that even compares to this resort. Upon arrival the staff makes everyone known of your grand arrival by using a gong and then immediately serving you a cold refreshment. My husband and i actually never received our luggage from our long 2 day trip and the staff went above and beyond taking measures to track down the luggage to ensure it arrived as quickly as possible. The 2 concierges that we spoke with Agus & Ria were most helpful in accommodating our needs and bookings for events outside the resort. Every morning when i woke up i looked forward to walking past their desk just to greet them due to their contagious joy. They genuinely enjoy their job and make you feel welcome with ease.

The resort grounds were maintained every day. Such splendor! The staff had the utmost respect for us. If they were landscaping etc and saw us walking by, they immediately stopped what they were doing, greeted us, waited until we walked by before continuing their job. The breakfast had such great variety. I thoroughly enjoyed it.They had someone making fresh juice every morning. The sunset view from this hotel is postcard perfect. It is something you would have to see to believe. The beach in front of the hotel was very clean and the staff are continually cleaning it to make sure no trash is along the sand.

The only small complaint i did have with service here was at the spa. I purchased the Ultimate Escape package which included a Balinese massage, reflexology massage, soak in flower bath, and full body scrub. The scrub and bath were amazing. Unfortunately, the reflexology and Balinese massage were probably the most painful things I've ever experienced in my entire life. My masseuse punched my back. She also pressed down as hard as she could on the pressure points on my feet, which i am an Esthetician so i am fully trained on pressure points and they are meant to be lightly rubbed considering they are a very sensitive and delicate part of the body. I was unable to walk on my feet for the next 2 days due to being in excruciating pain. The next day i had bruises everywhere on my back. It was quite a horrific experience.

On a side note, i thoroughly enjoyed the salon. I had a french manicure done by Lisa. She was absolutely amazing and i highly recommend requesting her if you ever go. Overall, my experience was most definitely a 5 star experience and i will be using this resort when i come back and highly recommend it to everyone know.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool may be loud at night, but have the best view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naiomi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Naiomi85,

Thank you for taking your time to write your experience pertaining your recent stay in our resort. I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
My team and I are contibuously enhance our service and facilities therefore your feedback is very advantageous for us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Bali.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,018 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
7.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,398 reviews
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $213 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing