We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bali-style central architecture but older/more common hotel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The InterContinental Bali gets guests to feel and experience some aspect of "Bali" culture the moment you step in to the hotel. This is because of the large traditionally inspired lobby (albeit not air-conditioned), but mainly because of the stone carvings and statues surrounding the bridge and swimming pool areas which look fantastic at night.

The room and furniture though, are rather dated in general The air conditioning in our room for example, was not enough to remove the tropical heat from the room at night. Good thing they also had a ceiling fan in-room that helped cool things down. They did provide modern amenities in the room like a flat-screen TV among other things.

For a big hotel and supposedly one of the best in the areas, I therefore felt that the hotel best played up their architecture and design, and not so much the actual room quality themselves.

Aside from that though, their service was quite good in general. Breakfast spread was quite decent and it is overall not a bad choice for a hotel in Bali.

p.s. Personally I am not a fan of open-air non-airconditioned hotel lobbies and room corridors so I did not enjoy that aspect of the hotel...but I believe many guests actually enjoy the warm tropical air.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the left side of the hotel facing the gardens and ponds, you might just catch s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Chirp333,

Thank you for your review and the feedback. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Do try our Club Rooms and Suite Collection on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
There are newer reviews for INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

This luxury resort does not disappoint. The grounds, landscaping, rooms, constant supply of fruit in room, competent staff, fabulous buffet breakfasts, everything is wonderful! The beach is cleaned by machines in the mornings. The art works in the lobby and various buildings are incredible. We could have stayed at the resort and never leave!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Marie M,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very nice hotel but it is very big and doesn't have that personal touch.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in December. The hotel was fully booked so plenty of people around. When we arrived we were greeted with a welcome drink, the staff were very friendly, and we were shown to our room. The room is fairly big, the bed large and comfortable, clean. The bathroom is nice, with bathtub and shower, again, very clean. The TV is big but is limited on channels (English channels at least). The balcony was a little disappointing, it was small with no privacy (we were on the ground floor).

Breakfast was good, but pricey for Bali. There were flies hanging around the fruit so hopefully they will cover them eventually.

The grounds are probably the best part of this hotel. They're very big and well pruned. The main pool is huge! Plenty of space for kids and adults and there are lots of sunbeds around - however, not enough so get out early to grab a space!

The hotel is on the beach, unfortunately the beach isn't great, it's on a steep slope so not comfortable for walking or sunbathing. At the time we were there the beach was covered in rubbish that had been washed up from the sea, apparently this was due to it being the rainy season. The beach right outside the hotel was cleaned everyday but if you walked either side you'd notice the difference.

There were a choice of restaurants in the hotel, we actually only ate there for breakfast, which was very good, but pricey for Bali standards. We opted to try the fish restaurants along the beach front to the left of the hotel as you walk onto the beach. These restaurants don't look much, especially in the day, but in the evening they are packed, the food is delicious!!! Lobster, prawns, squid, fish BBQ'd and served with rice and veg. The hotel serve the same but at 3 x the price. Hence why we opted for the restaurants outside the resort. Not as civilised, as your feet get covered in sand, but well worth it for the taste and cost.

Staff were friendly here, especially the staff in the coffee area outside room 4113. But overall, just didn't have that personal touch. Probably because they were super busy with the hotel at full capacity.

I don't particularly like the area of Jimbaran, there is traffic everywhere so it takes hours to get anywhere!

Overall this hotel is very nice and luxurious but quite over priced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte-Rose86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Charlotte-Rose86,

Thank you for your review and detailed feedback.

We try and ensure that the beach outside the resort is kept immaculate and clean. Infact Jimbaran Beach is one of the most pristine beach in Bali.

We do have special seafood and cultural performance dinner, twice a week, every Wednesday and Saturday at Taman Gita, which a great value for money, with a true Balinese experience. I would recommend you to try the same on your next visit.

Our Club Rooms and Suites come with a personalized Butler service. Recommend trying them on your next stay with us.

Thank you once again for bring it to my attention and I look forward to welcoming you on your return to Bali.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

from the luxurious room, the great location, superb restaurants, attentive, caring service, wonderful shops and fabulous spa. We felt pampered and relaxed and were so well cared for, from check in to check out. The property is large, but feels intimate in the way that it is laid out. The swimming pools are inviting and the beach chairs and covered bales are so comfortable. There is something here for anyone, of any age. The location couldn't be better. We are now Intercontinental devotees.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Susan S,

Thank you for your review and the feedback. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Do try our Club Rooms and Suite Collection on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you've ever treated yourself to this fine chain of hotels, this one in Jimbaran won't disappoint you. It blends the fine features of a first class hotel with the local culture and decoration as well as can be done. Rooms are nice with good A/C, wood floors, balcony, and spacious. Staff is the best! We spent our days before and after our wedding here and cherish every moment. Nearby you can find beachfront seafood grills, small restaurants, and most anything you need. Price is reasonable for what is provided and the location. It has been there for some time and may have some wear and tear showing in the rooms, but the staff will quickly fix anything found wrong. They treated us like a King and Queen for our special week!

Room Tip: Club room is nice if you would take advantage of the drinks and extras. All are peaceful and enjoyab...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear David W,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were the guests of friends at The Intercontinental Resort in Jimbaran for a day.

Management and staff were outstanding, the grounds, bars and restaurants were very good and the hotel, although 35 years old, is very well maintained.

Our friend is an Ambassador Club Royal member so we were afforded outstanding amenities which may not be available to all guests. These included access to the Club areas of the hotel, free cocktails and mini bar and superlative service.

The atmosphere of the hotel reminded my wife and I of the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok which is our favourite.

If staying at the Intercontinental, it is worth joining their loyalty club to access the club areas. Also, while as a couple the standard rooms are OK, I would definitely request a suite if travelling with children.

We will certainly consider staying at the Intercontinental on our next trip to Bali.

Room Tip: Join the IHG Rewards Club prior to your stay.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Michael L,

Thank you for your review and feedback. You may be interested to book on our website for the best prices, guaranteed. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,
Michel Chertouh - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife daughter and I had a wonderful stay at the Intercon Bali when we visited there last year for Chinese New Year. The room was fabulous, staff friendly and food delicious. It is on the beach so you have easy access to the beach. This is a resort we will definitely return to and highly recommend for couples and families. Thank you Intercon Bali for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Join the Ambassador programme and receive an upgrade as part of the benefit. I always choose a club...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVEinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear DAVEinSingapore,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your second stay at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next family vacation in Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,008 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
7.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,396 reviews
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $215 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing