We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Family Vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 that wanted a vacation that catered to both the children AND the parents. We found exactly what we wanted at the Intercontinental Bali Resort.

The kids' club is truly a place where parents can take their children for a few hours and have the kids enjoy crafts, fishing, kid's yoga, or many other activities. My husband and I were amazed that day after day our children were pleased to put in an appearance at the kids club and have a few hours of alone time. We spoke with another couple that employed the private nanny service but it wasn't something we took advantage of.

Our loft room was very clean, appropriately comfortable, and had its own cappuccino machine (score)! We had 2 bathrooms with plenty of space for a family of 4. The master bathroom was extremely large and provided fantastic amenities. Although our room did not overlook the water, we had a beautiful view of the grounds and enjoyed our location. Many people have commented that they never saw or called their room butler but we'd like to offer that we did utilize the service and found it a great perk.

The many POOLS... the resort has fantastic pools and we found our children never wanted to leave. If I am counting correctly, there were 6 pools in total and plenty of places to rest in either the sun or shade.

I can honestly say we took advantage of every resort amenity and loved it. Breakfast is phenomenal and provides cuisine from several cultures. We rented a resort car to visit the Uluwatu Temple. Our driver kindly walked us through the tour and provided as much information as he could, despite tour guide not being in his job description. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the club.

When looking for constructive criticisms on this vacation, we can only think of 2. During our visit to the temple we felt a bit rushed. Keep in mind we never commented on this or asked for more time to sight see. Our last thought was that we found lunch at the Beach Tiki Bar to be expensive. The menu was the same menu as all other locations of the resort and we were hoping for something a bit more casual.

You cannot go wrong booking a family getaway at this resort. If we return to Bali, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat. This was our first stay at an Intercontinental Resort and we loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SStrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear SStrat,

Thank you for the feedback pertaining to the recent stay at our resort.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the stay with family.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

While we were having sunset drinks at The Intercontinental Jimbaran Bay, I was lucky to take some great photos of the sunset. I also took a brilliant (my words) photo of a honeymoon (I presume) couple frolicking in the surf. The photo of them is in silhouette and I would be very happy to send it to them. So if anyone knows of this couple having a swim at sunset outside The Intercontinental on the 18th July 2013, please message me. There were only a few people on the beach at the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Teresa B,

Thank you for the feedback pertaining to the recent stay at our resort.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is by far the best resort we have stayed in in Bali. Enormous grounds with beautiful established gardens and well thought out design. Lots of options for pools, restaurants etc. As an IHG Ambassador member we received extra special treatment - we were upgraded to a Bukit Suite and enjoyed all the amenities of the lovely Club Lounge. Staff here are unfailingly happy and really well trained. From greeting you by name to remembering your children's juice preferences,they were brilliant. We used the planet Trekkers kids club a couple of times and kids were always happy to go there. It is a fairly relaxed kids club - has its own pool and playground so kids can have fun without always needing to be doing organized activities. We arranged babysitters through the hotel 3 or 4 evenings and they were truly lovely ladies. We can't wait to come back to the Intercontinental Jimbaran!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank booandgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear booandgus,

Thank you for the feedback pertaining to the recent stay at our resort.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been really surprised by some of the negative reviews of this hotel. If you have no children I recommend you pay for the "Club" section of this hotel. I have stayed in the club twice without children and LOVED it. You have your own pool, restaurant etc and you don't even know there is anyone else in the hotel.
This is my 4th visit to the Intercontinental and I know I will be back for a 5th. Highly recommend this hotel if you have children. The service is fantastic, friendly staff, clean, great food and the pool is perfect for big or small children.
I think the beach is a highlight - it's clean and we loved a dip in the ocean every day.
I also loved the kids club - the staff were amazing and the facilities perfect (including its own little pool). We used a babysitter on the odd night and the kids loved them.
We traveled to Uluwatu on scooter from here which was easy and caught a taxi to Seminyak (30 minutes during quiet times but can take an hour during peak times).
We found some great restaurants within walking distance - the hotels can suggest these to you. We also had our laundry done across the road (cheap) and we also had massages, manicures and pedicures across the road (cheap). All the little girls had their hair braided in the salon across the road which was better than the beach.
My only negative (which is tiny) would be the wifi in the room was not great which was annoying when both my husband and I own businesses. Around the pool and hotel it seemed to work perfectly.
For what we wanted and expected this hotel was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool (you will then be close to everything).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel_KJ_Chertouh, General Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Alice2525,

Thank you for the feedback pertaining to the recent stay at our resort.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,


Michel Chertouh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Ignore the website photos. Old, tired and dated. The hotel has not kept up with its apparent 5* rating. The wood is old and scratched, the chalking around the bath poor. The toilet, basin and bath, lackluster.. Turn down service comes at 4pm??? There are kids everywhere. You can't escape them. Even the Melia had a kids free pool. For 5* I should be able to have some peace and quiet.

The prices are exorbitant. I've read the theory is that the Prices are in consideration of other 5* hotels. Well...the IC is not Ayana. It is not 4 seasons. It is not even Jimbaran Puri. 60,000 for a Bintang when it's 20,000 at Balique is insane. That's even more than 5* back home. What exactly am I paying for when the prices are that inflated? And the Indonesian food? Lack thereof and what is there is far too expensive.185000 for a club sandwich??!! That doesn't even include the 20% tax. The prices exploit the poor people who make the food and sell the ingredients because its definitely not absorbed in 5* luxury or 5* service.

Positives? The gym is very good. The steam and sauna is a good addition. The Singaraja lounge whilst a good idea is poorly located at the bottom of a dark stairwell. No wonder no one was there.

Le Meridien was my 1st choice and I should have kept it that way. Jimbaran whilst great, you will not have much choice for food if you decide you can't justify paying for sub par, western food. Stay in Nusa Dua is you want to be south of the Airport.

I paid around $290US pet night. About as dear as 6 senses Con Dao, a true 5* resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berniebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear berniebern,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you had with the condition of our hotel and the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

We value your comments and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at intercontinental after a few days in Ubud and Hong Kong. We had a 7 night stay to conclude our honeymoon and upon arrival we were told that we'd been upgraded to VIP as we were honeymoon guests. However our room was dull, dated and had no view apart from looking at a tree and other rooms opposite. It quickly became evident that although we'd been 'upgraded', this only meant we had been located in the 'club' area of the hotel and it didn't give us any of the offers that come with a 'club membership' - such as free soft drinks during the day (we even had to listen to club members talking about being given free massages). Therefore whilst we were just about allowed to sit with the club members during the day, we did have to pay for our drinks which made us stand out, and hardly made us feel special. A farcical example was on the last day (today) when I asked for two waters. The waiter asked for our room number and he said sorry you can't have it as you aren't club members. I said 'I know, can I just pay for them please'. He sent someone over who waffled on about no water being available for us from the club bar so he would get it from jimbaran bar and it would be free. I said ok fine I just want 2 waters! Five minutes later the barman from jimbaran bar came over and asked me what I wanted. I just said I'll just get the water from my room as it would be quicker and free. He replied with 'yes probably best'. How hard can it be to order two waters on the last day of our honeymoon? Totally ridiculous.

3 days into our stay we were kept awake by a screaming baby next door during the night. We contacted reception to let them know about this. We were awakened by the screaming baby again at 5am. We spoke to reception before breakfast and they promised we would be contacted that day by duty manager. We had no contact. 11pm that night, the baby started screaming again so I got dressed and spoke to reception where I spoke to the duty manager. I was completely reasonable and said I sympathise with the parents of the baby but it doesnt help us on our honeymoon. She had very little to say and didn't seem to care too much. I'm sure if we were 'club members' things would have been different. Customer service severely lacking from a managerial perspective.

There were other issues that we found during our week long stay, but also some positives were the staff were generally friendly and the resort was clean (although getting very dated), the gardens were very well maintained.

If you are on honeymoon, travelling half way across the world like we did and you want to feel slightly special, don't come to this hotel unless you have 'club membership' as you will be disappointed like we have been. (And the fact that I'm writing this and I'm still at the hotel on my honeymoon explains our disappointment)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricwill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Ricwill4,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our customer service and room accommodations did not live up to your expectations. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms are a bit tired, but common areas and grounds are nice. Beach is pretty, but direct view of airport runway not so exotic. Pool area is crowded, like search for a chair kind of crowded. My husband and I don't like to feel like sardines, so not big fans of the main pool area. It seems very kids friendly, so if you have kids, come here. If you are looking for a honeymoon spot or a kid-free trip, definitely don't come here. Tons of kids on the beach, throwing balls and rafts in the pools and etc. screeching kid sounds continually throughout the day....not really my cup of tea. Also, of the 5 times I went to get a towel at the pool during my stay, only 1 time was I able to get one towel. My husband never even got one, so we shared. The reason was that they were waiting for more to come from the laundry. Seriously? It's a beach and pool resort - towels are pretty basic. We would have checked out and left, but both Alilas and the Chedi were full, so we were stuck here. We were staying for free on Club points, and even at free it wasn't worth our time. Breakfast is acceptable but crowded, noisy, and you are given the check to sign while eating!!!! Maybe we are spoiled (likely) but this is more like a 3 star Hilton or Marriott, definitely not a five star in my book. If you are used to Motel 6 or Holiday Inn, this place will impress, but if you're used to Four Seasons, Ritz, or any of the small Leading Hotels of the World, don't stay here, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTrip713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear WorldTrip713,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
4.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,114 reviews
7.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,623 reviews
2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in Jimbaran
3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $148 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 14 hectares of tropical landscape, showcasing a blend of indigenous flora, waterways and statues reflecting the island's heritage, InterContinental Bali Resort is blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking Jimbaran Bay. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers for the children, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Award winning Spa Uluwatu provides healing and beauty treatments. Superb choice of restaurants including Japanese, Italian and Seafood make every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. Club InterContinental offers the height of luxury and exclusivity and has gained the reputation of offering the best Club experience in Bali. It is set in its own private wing and secluded enclave in exquisite gardens and swimming pull. Our Club guests stay in the resorts’ premier accommodation category with an exclusive array of privileges and entitlements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing