We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to five-star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to five-star rating”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

A genuine bit of Bali paradise, this resort has almost everything one could wish for as an adult or couple with children. Too much peace and quiet for the adventurous teenager, but for us it was perfect and relaxing. Both pools and beach are worth a visit or ten.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Niels C,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Bali Resort.


Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,669
    915
    209
    71
    51
See reviews for
1,173
1,800
129
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second trip to Bali intercontinental and it was as good as the first time around. We stayed at the club suite and I highly recommend choosing this option as the service is really good. The afternoon tea is very nice and we hardly had lunch as the breakfast and free afternoon tea was more than enough. The highlight was the very nice live music in the evenings. It was a great way to spend the evening. The food was good and we only went to the restaurants on the beach once as they are a total rip off. Next time we will skip them completely. We usually dont like going to the same hotel more than once as we like to try different ones , but this one is the exception. I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: stay at the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank persson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear persson28,

Thank you for your great feedback!

It is very rewarding to know that we met your expectations on every aspect of your stay, especially regarding the club suite and the atmosphere. Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived on the 20th of January. This is probably our 6th or 7th visit there. I have lost track at this stage. The reasons why we keep returning are still there. The intercontinental is absolutely fabulous. There is no other word for it. We first went there when my son was 8 yrs old and now at 16 he still adores it. As does my daughter for whom it is her 3rd visit there. The design of the resort is very thoughtful. Every step you take is greeted by attractive local arts and crafts. Each vista is a pleasure and there is very little to mar the eye. Everywhere you look you can see that great care has been taken in creating a perfect ambience just for your pleasure and relaxation. The staff are courteous and discreet, polite and respectful. For a working mother of 2 children it is absolute bliss for every daily need to be looked after. No job seems to be too big or small for the staff there. As described by all over reviewers the grounds are immaculate. The gardens and pools are thoughtfully laid out so there is something for everyone. Small children love the shallow pools. The warm balinese pool offers peace and shade. The main large pool next to cabanas and bar lets you mingle with other guests. This is where my daughter met her new best friend and spent the next 6 days with.
The rooms are starting to show a bit of wear and tear which is to be expected but are still spacious clean and a cool oasis away from the humidity. In all there is very little to complain about .... however these are just a few minor points that maybe the hotel manager would like to consider.!
As frequently returning guests, this was not acknowledged. Not that we expected to be treated like rock stars but some form of recognition may have been nice. After all we have shown a reasonable degree of loyalty?
We used to eat at the fish shacks next to hotel but stopped one year after getting ripped off one time too many. Don't get me wrong. The food there is great but I hate being taken for a fool. We used to select a meal package and just enjoy our evening there. On quite a few occasions where the package states 1kg squid, 1.5kg fish etc. I would point out that there was barely 300g of squid on the plate. The staff would argue til blue in the face that it was 1 kg. Having worked within the food industry for over 15 years, I know what 1 kg of squid looks like and there fore found it quite offensive to be blatantly ripped off this way. Anyway, I digress. Because of this we then decided to eat at the resorts 'Jimbaran Gardens' restaurant most evenings. And this was great however the menu now is practically exactly the same now as it was 8 years ago. The childrens pizza was very good value. I often had it for lunch or dinner as it was actually adult size. Note to chefs, a change of menu with daily specials would be nice. We ended up eating in Balique most nights.
Another small point. Some of the soft furnishings are in desperate need of re-upholstering. Although some had been replaced in the main cabana quite a few looked a bit shabby. I am hoping this will be done before our next visit. The awning in the womens section of the spa should have been retired a long long time ago.
The bathroom amenities in rooms are not ideal. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower gel are in refillable unsealed bottles. I would not choose to use them but luckily brought my own with me.
But these are fairly minor points. Of the 10,000 things the resort has got right these are only little blips that can be easily rectified.
On the plus point the gym equipment has been updated which is great and the spa and sauna is included in price of accommodation. Some hotels will charge for the use of the sauna. Which seems a bit cheeky when you're paying a premium anyway.
The breakfast is still wonderful with lots of choices for all nationalities. A tip, wait for the cook to make the waffles and pancakes fresh which they are happy to do.
All in all it was another successful holiday back at the intercontinental. We're looking forward to our next visit already. Maybe this time they will remember us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear caneat,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with your family at InterContinental Bali Resort, we are honored that you chose to share this special occasion with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience so that we may continually enhance our services for all guests. We highly value your feedback and will liaise with the various departments in the hotel to address the points that you raised.

Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just stayed 10 days at this resort. Truly can claim to be a resort. Stayed in a Club Room Duplex.

- Club rooms come with a 24 hour butler. Our butler - Budi - was absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Came around the resort to track us down just to make sure we're happy. He really is an asset to this hotel. Even came to apologise for taking his day off!

- Free wifi internet throughout the resort. Good speed too.

- All staff incredibly friendly and (mostly) spoke impeccable English. Weekend staff English appeared a little less proficient (maybe my imagination) but all tried very hard to please.

- Club facilities are wonderful. Breakfast (free) either in room, club lounge (menu) or buffet. We tried them all!

- Club rooms also got high tea in afternoon and free cocktails and drinks 4.30-7.30pm either in Club lounge or Club pool. Had far too many Mojito's!

- Lots of swimming pools - great for kids with fountains etc. One exclusively for club rooms. Kids not "encouraged" apparently at club pool but sometimes more kids then adults there.

- Never had to struggle to find a lounger next to the pool. Also didn't seem to suffer from the "get up at 6am, reserve pool lounger, go back to bed for hours" syndrome. Maybe it's the demographic of people staying there. Mostly Australian, Russian and Asian. Always plenty of pool towels around.

- Food at Italian restaurant excellent quality. Prices reasonable - happy to pay for hygiene and safety! Same for Jimbaran Gardens restaurant - enjoyed the seafood pizza and fresh fish. As mentioned by others Balique just outside hotel for a change which is also very good.

- Seafood restaurants on the beach either side of hotel. Someone we met got quite ill after eating at one - "Bali belly". Luckily hotel has in-house doctor and clinic. Try to eat at one which is busy (so they turn over the stock quickly).

- Duplex room great. 2 story. 2 toilets (handy). Impeccably cleaned every day. Has dining room table and nice balcony. Of course watch out for mosquitoes though. Always plenty of bottled water in room.

- Kids club good. Good security - only parents (and our butler) authorised to collect child from kids club. Parents both had photos taken which is checked each time if the staff didn't recognise you. Has security door and have to be buzzed in after checking who it is. Did the turtle release program - released a 1 month old turtle into the sea at sunset. Quite moving really.

- Nice bar on the beach. Has limited snack menu but great setting for the wonderful sunsets Jimbaran has.

Overall was a very relaxing and restful holiday. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Club rooms upgrade strongly recommended. Duplex also worth having if travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Comoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Comoman1,

It was a pleasure to host you and your family at InterContinental Bali Resort and I'm pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay. We are extremely proud of our family of 1000-plus staff and it is particularly rewarding to hear you talk so highly of them. They really think of visitors as honored guests to their island home, and consider it a great privilege to be at your service. We all look forward to seeing you again next time.

Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was here for a short relaxing trip and enjoyed the stay to the fullest. The rooms are pretty good, the staff are very courteous and ever ready to help. Excellent restaurants serving seafood and authentic Indonesian cuisines.

The hotel beach and the pool area are excellent and a great place to relax. Spa treatments are a must.

Room Tip: Club rooms are a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhrendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Subhrendu,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the InterContinental Bali Resort!

It is great to know that you were satisfied with our services and standards, special thanks for the kind words about the members of staff, the food and the pools.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Intercontinental, the grounds were large and absolutely stunning, the breakfasts were good, the dinners at the beachfront and pool side restaurants amazing, service impeccable, the gelati to die for and better than any in Australia. There were so many pools to choose from, seats and day beds everywhere, right on the beach, a great choice.

The Singaraja rooms we stayed in were clean, very spacious, and comfortable though the hotel and the rooms were a little dated, and this really showed in the bathroom showerhead which was rusty and around the door frames and skirting boards which were scuffed and tired.

There were seafood restaurants not affiliated to and on either side of the resort, if you walked out on to the beach and turned left for example, the restaurants were a short 5 minute walk away.

Location wise, we were close to everything including the airport, Nusa Dua and Kuta. Sanur and Ubud and all the more Northern sights were obviously not as close to hand, but we used an exceptional driver and the extra 10 minute distance either way made little difference, except in peak hour traffic.

Use of the internet had to be paid for unless you were using it to check in for a flight which was free.

The resort stores were lovely, and ladies set up mini markets through the hotel walkways on some evenings so that you didn't ever need to leave the hotel grounds if you didn't want to.

The streets outside of the hotel were truly representative of a third world country, in stark contrast to the landscaped roads leading into the Nusa Dua area. Not a problem for us, but it might be for those expecting anything like Nusa Dua.

Security was fantastic and we felt safe at all times. The hotel hosted dinner dance shows which added an extra dimension to our stay and as I said earlier, meant that you didn't have to leave the hotel to experience some of Bali.

In one of the rooms we had booked the phone wasn't working, but this was later fixed. There are no alarm clocks provided unless requested, but when requested they were sent up to our rooms. As we were travelling as a family, we were given two rooms next to each other on request which was appreciated.

When we checked in we offered the receptionist the documents given to us by our travel agent. Unbeknown to us they needed something further, and they called the room 6 times in the space of half an hour looking for me and disturbing my husband, because I had gone to the pool and he didn't know where to find this particular document. We felt that was completely unnecessary and unreasonable, ie to hound someone 6 times in such a short space of time when we were staying there a whole week, and had just arrived after a long flight and gone through the check in process.

A hotel driver took us on a couple of short tours and though overpriced compared to other drivers, his service was impeccable and we were happy to pay a small premium.

The grounds had ducks and fish ponds to feed and see, a small delight for us as adults and I'm sure for those travelling with children.

There were no mosquitoes which suggests they fumigated the gardens regularly but unlike other hotels we have stayed in in Bali we didn't even know when this was done, which was a good thing! Another hotel we stayed in fumigated with smoke and we got caught out in our rooms not being able to breathe or see to find our way out, that was quite an (unpleasant) experience but that was not an issue here.

The airconditioning worked beautifully and the bed was reasonably comfortable. In terms of issues, the pillows were uncomfortable and one smelt terrible though I'm sure if we had asked for new ones they would have been provided, the venetian timber doors leading to the balcony didn't work properly and working out the bedside lights was not as easy as it should have been but these issues were minor and didn't impact on our overall stay considerably.

We would recommend the Intercontinental and would return again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Markerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Markerina,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, this is what makes our position in customer service so rewarding. I am so glad you had a relaxing time and allowed yourself to adjust to the slower pace of Bali. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We consider it a privilege that you chose to stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have just returned tonight after 6 days staying at the Intercontinental Bali with my sister and her family ( 7 of us in total). This was my second time staying at this hotel. What a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff, brilliant food and amenities. Highly recommend booking as a Club guest, so many extras included and well worth the money. The kids club was fantastic as well with so many interesting things for the kids to do and learn about. The releasing of the turtles was a very special activity enjoyed by our 3 children (cost extra). Will be going back and staying here again as soon as I can.

Room Tip: pool or ocean view are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen060862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane D, Manager at INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear karen060862,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Bali Resort in the near future.

Warm regards

Stephane Duchenne
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,642 reviews
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,589 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Property: INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing