We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort for a relaxing family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Intercontinental Jimbaran in late July 2011 for 8 days with our two children, ages 9 and 6. We loved our stay at the Intercontinental resort. Beautiful grounds and excellent service all around. I would recommend the Club Rooms - the club wing is well maintained/located and there are a number of great benefits that come with the Club Room including the Club-only pool (very quiet and relaxing compared to the main pool which is quite loud and crowded), free cocktails and snacks every day from 4:30 until 7:30 by the club pool, and free use of Planet Trekkers club for kids. We also enjoyed having breakfast in the Club lounge - it is the same great breakfast buffet as the main hotel, but in a much quieter area with better service.

If you are planning to stay for more than a few days, I would recommend that you sign up for the Intercontinental Priority Club (the free loyalty program). You can then purchase Ambassador level status in the program for US$200. For this amount you get a certificate for 1 free weekend night at any Intercontinental resort, and a free automatic room upgrade at any Intercontinental hotel. We did this and were upgraded from a Club Queen room to a Club Duplex Suite, which was great for us and our 2 kids. We also received 7 days of free WiFi as Ambassadors. Be sure to get Ambassador status well before your trip - it took 6 weeks to receive the free weekend night certificate in the mail, but it came in time for us to use for this trip. For the $200 that we spent we got back about $700 in value.

We found the resort to be very family friendly, and our kids loved the vacation there. The crescent-shaped beach that stretches south from Denpasar is lovely. I have read complaints about the beach but I had none. The beach was spotless and trash-free for our visit. Sometimes the waves can be large and rough, which is not safe for small children who venture out further than the edge of the water. And when the surf is rough, it stirs up sand and the water is not clear. But on the days when the surf is calm, the water is a beautiful, crystal clear blue-green.

The food at the resort is quite expensive, but that is to be expected at upscale resorts. The barbeque restaurants on the beach about 200 yards south of the hotel are an inexpensive and delicious option. But beware that you will smell like smoke after eating at any of them. Also be aware of theft - we left a small bag unattended for about 1 minute and it was stolen, but this is something that could happen anywhere on Bali. There are tons of great restaurant in Kuta and Seminyak if you choose to venture out that way, and there are a few upscale restaurants further south in Jimbaran near the Four Seasons Resort.

As for the children's club, Planet Trekkers doesn't look like much (small trampoline, shallow wading pool, 2 computers, some videos, and lots of crafts) but our kids really enjoyed it. They spent at least half a day there every day, which gave my wife and I lots of free time.

Some information that might be helpful:
The Club Duplex Suite has two levels, with a King Size bed in a 2nd floor loft. It is a big, comfortable room, but there is no door separating the loft from the common area downstairs. The hotel gave us an extra day bed downstairs so that each child had their own bed. There is no room for a rollaway upstairs near the king bed. The lack of separation between the sleeping areas did not present a problem for us, but if you have very young children who need absolute silence and dark to sleep, it might not be optimal.

Jimbaran is lovely and relatively quiet, but the heavy traffic makes it very slow to drive anywhere in Bali, including the nearby towns of Kuta and Seminyak. If you want to spend most of your time in areas other than Jimbaran, be prepared to spend lots of time in a car.

As far as weather, late July was fabulous. Daytime temperatures were about 28C with a cool breeze. Nighttime was cool and comfortable. Out of 8 days, it was cloudy/rainy for about 1 1/2 days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
There are newer reviews for INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel surprised me- large but attractive grounds. While completely full during our stay, the pools and beach were well managed: plenty of towels and loungers. Food is fine- but expensive(nothing daring but pleasant). Consider the Club Rooms- the tea and cocktails are nice perks and rooms are notably nicer than the adequate classic rooms. But note- kids may run rampant during high holiday times, especially during poolside cocktails.
I enjoyed the sunset bar on the beach - especially at dinner.
The onsite Ripcurl School is good for Boogie Boarding but not ideal for surfing- due to the waves.
The hotel staff are unfailingly kind- a real asset.
The location is not ideal for outside shopping or dining- but the beach is quite nice.(seafood on the beach is nice and the Four Seasons is near)
Wi fi can be spotty- I could never get it to work outside my room. annoying.

Planet Trekkers is looking pretty tired- this needs updating!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel/resort is the most amazing property we have ever stayed at. Upgrade to the Club, the experience is worth it. All the restaurants are great, walk out of the resort and turn right and head to the Chocolate Cafe, YUM is all I can say. The beach is the best in Bali and very safe for the children to swim and best of all is manned by a life saver from the Resort. This was my 7th visit to Bali, and I will now be a regular at the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, very quiet, really clean and very roomy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were in the Club room and was fantastic, pillow and mattress was very comfortable, resturants in the complex were great, cocktail list was good, very friendly and the club room entitlements were terrific deals, cocktails, beer, wine, spirit for 3 hours and afternoon tea for 2 hours all free and breakfast for 4 hours free, good choice. Would stay again, very relaxing.

Room Tip: go club rooms very good value
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perthfunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I loved this hotel!

The people were friendly and helpful

The club lounge was fantastic and the food was great!

The pools were sooooooooooo big and the rooms were just amazing

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

the rooms: large and clean with an amazing bathroom.
the breakfast buffet: i loved their yogurts, tropical fruits, and indo/asian dishes.
the pools: the main pool was biggest hotel pool i've ever seen. you can actually go swimming in it.
the beach: it was warm and clear although i have to say, hawaii's waters are prettier.

our rooms were in the in the perimeter of the hotel grounds which made for a long, humid walk to the lobby, restaurants, and pools. however, i don't mind walking so it didn't really matter to me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It is the worst resort and it is not consistent with the intercontinental brand. Our recently stay there ruined our anniversary trip. The internet in our room didn’t work and we couldn’t check-in for our flight, and the departure lounge was disgustingly dirty. Upon arriving at the airport for our overnight flight home we were told that our flight had been rescheduled to 3 hours earlier and our flight had already left. There were no other flights going out that night and we had to buy expensive tickets back to Seoul for the next day, and consequently we both had to miss a day of work and did not sleep for almost two nights. It was a difficult situation and very stressful for us both, but it only got worse from that point. When I tried calling the butler service at the resort to have them arrange a car to drive us back to the hotel (airport transit was supposed to be free), we were quoted a high pick-up. Then when we got back to the resort at around 3am, we just wanted the cheapest room available, but the front desk agent quoted us a price higher than what we paid the night before, and much higher than what was advertised on the Intercontinental Bali website for that night. We were told we couldn't have the rate advertised on the internet. Then, we had to negotiate 3 times over the course of an hour just to get the same rate we had the night before.
We tried to reach out to the guest relations team once we got home, but that experience was also horrible. We had to contact them several times and did not receive a reply until a week later at which point they wrote “With regards to the room rate, I am very sorry to inform you that we do not consider of renting the accommodation depending out hour of use. We usually charge an accommodation for a full night when it is used overnight. We apologize if that way caused you inconvenience” and they offered us an upgrade if we return to Bali (which we won’t because it was a once in a lifetime trip). The response to our issue has been horrible and only made our experience worse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Agnieszka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
2.1 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
4.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,018 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
7.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,398 reviews
2.0 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range: $213 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing