We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balique Magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balique Restaurant

Balique Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 248 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Description: Balique is an original eatery found in the relaxed fishing village of Jimbaran, in stunning southern Bali, now home to outstanding world-class resorts and villas. This traditional seaside village and Balique suit each other harmoniously, as Balique pays homage to all the best of the Indonesian archipelago under its whirring fan-open style roof, in both the style and cuisine stakes. If you appreciate an authentic step into the past in stunning surroundings teemed with objets d’art, as well as a delicious menu, fabulous cocktails as well as an extensive affordable wine list – you have arrived home.And for sure, the warm décor along with the charming team of staff will make sure you completely feel at home here – welcome to the amazing world that is Balique and allow yourself to forget the fast, modern world outside, and be at peace in a bygone era of pure sensuality.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Balique Magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The setting is amazing. A shabby chic eclectic mix of tables , lighting, and other odd assortments housed in a revamped Indonesian/dutch house with tables surrounding a central lounge area, for cocktails or general relaxing pre or post your meal.
We were looked after by a real character / mine host Mandela , the best and most professional I have seen in Bali . A well priced menu, with Indonesian specials, seafood, Pasta's , slow cooked beef, great selection of salads. Huge cocktail list, didn't see the wine list, but the cellar on display was impressive.
we shared a salt & pepper Calimari to start, then the local Nasi Campur, with lots of Tempe in it, and Shnapper wrapped in Banana leaf slightly spiced , and melt in your mouth flavour.
Certainly ticks all the boxes for a special night out without breaking the bank.Total bill including including 2 drinks was about $27,
If you are staying in this part of Bali, Balique should be on your card for at least one night,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    384
    130
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we discovered Balique on our last night here. Having spent 3 nights in Jimbaran and being disappointed with all our meals, Balique was a tasty well prepared surprise.
The manager deserves praise for the way she overlooks everything!
A great experience, value for money and most importantly tasty food. Would return gladly and can highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zorica_235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous decor, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went to Balique twice, first for drinks, the second time for food. I was unimpressed both times. The place feels fantastic as you walk in, the style a cross between caribbean plantation and a Parisian conservatory - beautiful pale blue chaises for lounging with a cocktail, and vintage style lanterns hanging from the rafters. However, this, for me, is where the enchantment ends. I ordered a cocktail - described as mango martini with a hint of chili. Regrettably, this was completely undrinkable - like drinking saccharine chili sauce. Dinner the next time (to give them a chance to redeem themselves) was worse. I will add that my companions were very pleased with their meals, but my salad (prawns, avocado, pomello and papaya) was vile. The prawns tasted rubbery and gelatinous, the avocado was completely absent, and the pomello - while zingy - made up for about 70% of the actual salad. After this we ordered gelato - my three companions being italian, and all of us gelato fans! They did not have first flavour we selected, so we made another choice. However, when we tasted it, it was not the flavour we had selected. I would not usually care that someone had delivered vanilla ice cream instead of hazelnut, or indeed that they did not have all the flavours they advertised, but it was just one more thing which irked me. I would be unlikely to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RexDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to eat...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

If you want fast service , you are in the wrong place . Slow and easy and set your expectations right and you would enjoy eating at the place.

Food wise , the nasi campur is good except the beef rendang. I would prefer the melt in your mouth type . The rest of the menu are generally good . It would be better if they had more "local" selection.

Helpful?
Thank JaegerLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An extraordinary place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent vacation in Jimbaran Puri Bali and we were looking for a restaurant different from the hotel restaurant and also from those on the beach. Based on the advices on tripadvisor we decided to go to Balique restaurant. We were enchanted by the decoration and all the family loved it we went back 3 times during our stay. We liked the service, the quality of food and the choices local and also more international. Go there you will not regret it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viva_badabing_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balique Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Balique Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing