We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, Yum, Yummy!”
Review of Balique Restaurant

Balique Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 257 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, European, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Balique is an original eatery found in the relaxed fishing village of Jimbaran, in stunning southern Bali, now home to outstanding world-class resorts and villas. This traditional seaside village and Balique suit each other harmoniously, as Balique pays homage to all the best of the Indonesian archipelago under its whirring fan-open style roof, in both the style and cuisine stakes. If you appreciate an authentic step into the past in stunning surroundings teemed with objets d’art, as well as a delicious menu, fabulous cocktails as well as an extensive affordable wine list – you have arrived home.And for sure, the warm décor along with the charming team of staff will make sure you completely feel at home here – welcome to the amazing world that is Balique and allow yourself to forget the fast, modern world outside, and be at peace in a bygone era of pure sensuality.
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yummy!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We wanted a change from the wonderful Balinese food and Balique fit the bill perfectly. The restaurant looks amazing and I am in love with the giant light fixtures in the center of the ceiling.

Our hotel had made reservations for us and we were seated immediately when we arrived. The menu has a mix of Western food and there is a child menu available. The staff was very fast and very nice. We chose the filet which was very well priced ($20). The food was amazing. The ambiance inside this restaurant is great, the food is great, and the prices are great too.

Actually, we enjoyed it so much, we went back the next day! Highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MoFlappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    411
    139
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere with good food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went here for dinner after reading many suggestions on TripAdvisor. We were lucky at the time as we had not made any reservation but managed to seat on the last available table. The atmosphere of the restaurant is really nice. It was raining a bit a the time so the air was just right, but I can imagine on dryer season or in hot day it can be pretty hot there. I could really appreciate the effort to build the place as you find many unique decorations inside.

The restaurant was very busy and only few staff available. However once we managed to get attention of one of the waiters, he really served us well. We ordered nasi goreng and mie goreng, both local dishes. We enjoyed our food and the taste and quality suited the price. The remarks were only they felt a little oily and also considered small to most customers I guess.

At the end of the meal, we really liked the place and recommended another friend who came to Jimbaran looking for good place to eat. Would come back again to try other menu they have.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good chill out place, great cocktails”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited there after dinner for quick relaxing drinks. The place is good mixed of antique decorations and beautiful clean restrooms. We enjoyed our cocktails and free shrimp ships there. We ordered French fired but it was too oily fired.

Overall, we love the place, relaxing one.

Helpful?
Thank MinieNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
935 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having read the reviews on TA I was very disappointed with the restaurant. We had almost been built up with too much excitement and then the bubble burst.
I didn't find the environment upto much.
Service was poor and slow. They only had 1 menu for 5 of us to look at, fortunately, we looked at it in the afternoon previously and had mostly decided.
Can't poor beer, they never tipped the glass sideways.
My Tom Yam soup was fine but leg of lamb was not really as described. Would have be better calling it a stew. Naan bread and couscous was cold on delivery which they reluctantly took away to microwave!!!
On returning the the hotel i was unwell
I wouldn't recommend it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Incredible !!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was one of our best meal in Bali.
Lovely host, informative, courteous and professional waiter. The athmosphere is vintage chic and very detailed decoration.
We loved the filet mignon with green pepper sauce !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balique Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Balique Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing