We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Rehearsal Dinner Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balique Restaurant

Balique Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 246 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Description: Balique is an original eatery found in the relaxed fishing village of Jimbaran, in stunning southern Bali, now home to outstanding world-class resorts and villas. This traditional seaside village and Balique suit each other harmoniously, as Balique pays homage to all the best of the Indonesian archipelago under its whirring fan-open style roof, in both the style and cuisine stakes. If you appreciate an authentic step into the past in stunning surroundings teemed with objets d’art, as well as a delicious menu, fabulous cocktails as well as an extensive affordable wine list – you have arrived home.And for sure, the warm décor along with the charming team of staff will make sure you completely feel at home here – welcome to the amazing world that is Balique and allow yourself to forget the fast, modern world outside, and be at peace in a bygone era of pure sensuality.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Rehearsal Dinner Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I couldn't rave more about this place. I recently got married in Bali and had 64 attendees, whom of which I invited to my rehearsal dinner in this most amazing location. Sandra was the dream manager who helped me out with just about everything to make this a night to remember. I couldn't have chosen a better menu, which included everything from lobster bisque, chicken sate, shrimp, filet, and a huge favorite coconut panacotta. Everybody was impressed and full by the the time the speeches and slideshow began. The staff was very helpful and we just loved their overalls that they wore. The decor was more than impressive and I can't wait to get our photos back from the professional photographer. When I return to Bali from America, I will definitely make this place a MUST REVISIT on my list. Thank you Balique for all of your efforts to making this one of my dream nights!!! I recommend this place to just about everybody who wants great food, service, quality, ambience, and a special place to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CamellaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    381
    130
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an unpretentious restaurant that has some good food at reasonable prices. It is not your stuffy fine dining, kind of place but the food is pretty good and the place has a friendly vibe. I liked the hundreds of fans on the high roof and the nice light fittings. When you look around you realize that so much of the decor has been chosen with care and a decorators eye. I ate there three times and on one occasion I thought the service was way too slow, but perhaps I need to slow down more myself and get into holiday mode a bit more quickly. I can say they did the best mie goreng with satay chicken I have had anywhere in Bali.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTravellerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went to Balique twice when in Bali and loved it. Its a charming place close to the Intercontinental which serves both Balinese and Western food. The place has an unhurried feel to it, inline with its location in a relatively quiet part of Bali. The seating is comfortable and the management encourages you to lounge around for as long as you like.

Would definitely recommend it if you plan to stay around Jimbaran.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nogoodsnleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best restaurant in jimbaran! lovely furniture, amazing food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

i have been to balique twice and loved it there. the roomdecor/furniture is special,pretty and chosen with love. the atmosphere is beautiful, cozy and relaxing. but most important for a restaurant is the food, i know. my veggie plate was excellent and my boyfriends filet mignon just as good. for me one of the best restaurants in south bali. p.s. you should check the ladies restroom :)!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank germantravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Escape the Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

With the traffic the way it is these days, getting anywhere within 10km of the Airport is difficult, so it was a pleasure to find Balique just outside the hotel grounds.

An eclectic design motif adds to the pleasure, as well as screening guests from the (almost) continuous road noise.

Comfortable seating, pleasant feel, good lighting ascents provide a relaxing interior. Food was well presented, of good quality and generally trrue to the menu description. Our tagine was well spiced, if a little watery, and the salmon was well flavoured and interesting.

A thorough, if not extensive, drinks list is also available.

Prices are Bali standard. Our meal for 2 including entree and main + wine (available by the glass) came to approx. $60 AUD. Whilst not cheap it was significantly less than our hotel across the road. BTW what does the government do with the 11% tax? It certainly isn't spending it on infrastructure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robbwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balique Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Balique Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing