We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Restaurant”

Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran
Ranked #36 of 257 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Indonesian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dining on the beach! Scenic view, delicious food, and romantic sunsets at this beachfront restaurant at the northern section of Jimbaran Bay. Have a seat on the shady sea terrace or at a private beach table over-viewing Jimbaran Bay and the picturesque fishing boats. Enjoy fresh seafood or non-seafood such as Bali duck, chicken, beef, or vegetarian. Daily Balinese dance between 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. Use the free pick-up and drop-back service (if you commit to spending IDR800,000 per couple).
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre Restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had early dinner for two today, 5 Feb 2014, at Bawang Merah and were deeply disappointed. The food we had, consisting of grilled snapper and chicken (mains, they only offer set menus) were tasteless as they were thickly sauced. Sadly, the sauces didn't impress either. The sets cost IDR 200,000 each and this is definitely expensive in comparison with established tourist Bali restaurant prices. The restaurant building is run down, tired looking, and lacks maintenance. And the toilets are a shame! The only boasts they can made are good waiting services and a beachfront location. But then the beach, sand and sea views pale in comparison with those at South Kuta, Seminyak and Lovina. Definitely not worth a visit, especially for those familiar with Indonesian food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaporePKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GedeSubawa, Manager at Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it will contribute to the overall improvement of our products and service to meet our guest’s satisfaction. Sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our place.

About the building, it was built not more than 2.5 years ago, so it’s quite new, the style is traditional, on the seashore, maybe rustic but certainly not run down. Currently we handle many high executives and reputable agencies and companys, they all feel very well at our place.

IDR200.000 (US$17) for a Balinese Rijstafel with starter, main course and dessert – rarely anyone of our guests has a problem with price or taste, also some other restaurants sell more expensive. Again very sorry that we can’t make you happy but we keep trying hard to make everybody happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    37
    24
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic birthday”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We celebrated my wifes birthday, the restaurant arranged a delicious cake, the roaming beach band played happy birthday and an old lady fired up a fire work for us. Food is exquisite, selection is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We sat on the beach for dinner, romantic and magnificent, and were well looked after by the staff. Tried their seafood basket with lobster, lovely presented and delicous, one of the best meals we had in Bali. Would definitely recommend a visit. It's a special location away from the hustle and bustle of Jimbaran centre.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSingapore2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food poisoning central”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked online following reviews. Agreed to the 500k rp spend which included hotel pick up / drop off. Car was was early, driver polite and car spotlessly clean. Drive there took us via the local tip which was a little concerning. Only 2 others in the restaurant when we arrived and immediately noticed that the restaurant is far removed from all other Jimbaran beach restaurants on the other side of the jetty on its' own.
On being seated, the first thing I spotted was a big rat running across the terrace. That should have been the signal to leave but we decided to stay.
Ordered garlic bread whilst we chose our food. The bread was sweet and had never touched garlic. We left it after one bite. I ordered seafood spring rolls and calamari fritti. Spring rolls were hot and tasty. Calamari was cold and sent back. Thought we'd play it safe and order nasi goreng and the seafood version, being a local dish. Both were hot and tasty but we didn't eat much of either as the rat sighting put us off and made us want to leave. Spent up to the 500k rp in drinks so we could leave then when we went to get the bill, was given a bill for nearly 900k rp !!! If I hadn't been so familiar with the currency AND sober etc, I might have just paid it, but my bill should have been 500k rp. They did recalculate and apologise but I did feel as though it wasn't a genuine mistake.
The next morning both of us started with severe diarrhoea. Since returning home, my son was hospitalised with Campylobacter Gastroenteritis (food poisoning) which I know was from this restaurant.
I would not recommend this unless you have an iron stomach and are prepared to take a risk. My poor son has never been so ill. There are so many other restaurants on the beach that would make for a better choice. The view didn't even make it worthwhile.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GedeSubawa, Manager at Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Very sorry to hear of your boy’s illness and I do hope he has fully recovered.

In the following let me explain why I cannot accept your accusation that he got ill because of our food.

You had drinks and food also before and after your visit at our restaurant. None of our other guests that day or the days after got sick. All our staff, the management and owners eat at the restaurant every day, we have served more than 25.000 guests past 2.5 years, no one ever got ill. You also immediately could read it here, just look up all reviews, no complaints. We freshly prepare all meals and care about hygienic standards. On a regular basis the government controls our kitchen and environment, they test food and water, all results negative, no issues. Safe.

After your feedback we commissioned food tests, no issues were reported and all results of food items that were checked came back negative.

Now during rainy season some of our guests arrive sick with diarrhoea and stomach aches and we treat them with turmeric honey lemon (freshly prepared at our bar), the guests feel better already after 30-60 minutes.

During that day of your visit it was heavily raining and windy. Some small animals were looking for shelter and food at our terrace, also squirrels coming down from the coconut trees, they love to steal fruits and cakes from the offerings on our shrines facing the beach. Sometimes you can spot them. Certainly not a rat as you say.

On a personal side note, I very much appreciate thoughtful and constructive comments while I am shocked by the sarcasm (“food poisoning central”) you express against our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Scenic view, delicious food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner here with a beautiful table over-looking the beach. The service was great throughout the meal and the lobster thermidor was awesome. Our kids loved to explore the beach. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran also viewed

 

Been to Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing