We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again in Bali - again at Bawang Merah”

Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran
Ranked #57 of 248 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Indonesian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dining on the beach! Scenic view, delicious food, and romantic sunsets at this beachfront restaurant at the northern section of Jimbaran Bay. Have a seat on the shady sea terrace or at a private beach table over-viewing Jimbaran Bay and the picturesque fishing boats. Enjoy fresh seafood or non-seafood such as Bali duck, chicken, beef, or vegetarian. Daily Balinese dance between 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. Use the free pick-up and drop-back service (if you commit to spending IDR800,000 per couple).
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Again in Bali - again at Bawang Merah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Totally different from other places at Jimbaran bay my favourite seafood restaurant here got lots of space, a very neat setup and a clean environment. Great sambals, delicious seafood, well-mixed cocktails. Also great place for business meals. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    35
    24
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quiet spot on the beach away from the hussle of Kuta and Jimbaran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved the atmosphere here. Very quiet and beautiful location, away from the hassle and bustle of Kuta and Jimbaran and so on. Food was tasty and very nicely presented. Majority of the dishes are traditional Indonesian and the price is well set. The Manager was lovely and very accommodating as we had 3 children at the table varying in ages from 5 to 15. Definitely a nice place to stop by, one evening, for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photographiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining close to the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

When visiting Bali we frequently come here to have a relaxed end of the day, away from the crowds of southern Jimbaran. Comfy rattan chairs in the sand close to the water, breathtaking view, well mixed cocktails and tasty seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OsakaRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

On a recent trip to Bali we found Bawang Merah Beach Front restaurant to be the low light of our whole trip. It was recommended by our resort desk. Our first impression was dirty and unappealing. The food was overpriced and poorly prepared. We ate at 5* restaurants for less. Being seafood lovers we were very disappointed. The female front of house/owner was very rude and unhelpful. We definitely won't go back. The only plus was the pick up. The view was fabulous ( but free from every restaurant)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisBrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GedeSubawa, Manager at Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Following your reservation request we sent our car to collect you for free at your remote hotel. Upon arrival you decided to go somewhere else (“to meet my friends in another restaurant” you said). We politely asked you to pay IDR100.000 (US$10) to compensate our efforts since our free transfer service is - of course - only for guests who dine at our place. You were very upset and refused to pay. You decided to stay instead, but with a long face... You ordered a small fish and afterwards we complimentary took you back to your hotel. Now you post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP IN BALI - AUTHENTIC FISHING VILLAGE AT YOUR FINGERTIPS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

A must stop in bali - Jimbaran is located just south of the airport and you can watch airplans land and take off. Jimbaran is is the fishing port of the south - eat at a restaurant and pick the seafood out - if you deicde to eat a fish look at the eyes to make sure they are clear and thus fresh
Make sure you try the bbw clams balinese style with the red sauce - making my mouth water now...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaFlamaBlanca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran also viewed

 

Been to Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing