We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive!”
Review of Jimbaran Bay

Jimbaran Bay
Ranked #138 of 257 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Miri, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Before trip, have more or less decided not to patronise the seafood restaurants here after reading reviews from tripadvisor and feedback from friends and relatives who had first hand experience.
However, on recommendation of driver cum guide, decided to give it a try since the restaurant owner is his friend. Verdict: Food nothing to shout about and expensive! No sunset since we had our dinner late after watching kecak performances at Uluwatu. Did not order set menu but picked 2 different fishes(red snapper & garoupa) cooked different style, half kilo king prawns and 2 fried chicken thighs. Together with rice, a coconut and big bottle spring water for 4 of us cost 906,000idr, inclusive of 21% service tax. For honeymoon couples should be ok. After all partner is paying for the romantic occasion!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrClementLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    47
    12
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time...”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'm reading other people's reviews & I'm not sure if we're reviewing the same restaurant (although the restaurant name & the pictures add up).
Yes, you get to sit on the beach...but that's about the nicest part.
The food was disgusting.
We had a group of 14 & we all felt like suckers because no one thought anything of it other than it was bad.
Way over priced compared to other restaurants in Bali.
Service wasn't great either & a bit confusing with either ordering at the table or having to order it yourself in the front entry (it was weird).
Bathrooms were disgusting too.
All around terrible...worse place we ate at in Bali.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It was lovely sitting right on the beach eating fresh seafood and chicken satays washed down with cold bintangs. Jimbaran Bay is a beautiful setting to watch the sunset. An absolute must when in Bali.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roleystone, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and awesome seafood”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Amazing location, sitting out on tables on the beach especially at sunset. Unless you know the driver well they will take you to one of the newer restaurants where they drive in and drop you off and get a commission, which can be ok but ask to go to one of the older restaurants up the end where they can't drive in. They have to park in a car park and the end one's are only accessible by walking in. Have tried a few and the food and service was always great, the toilets though are shared and very basic, but worth the adventure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood and entertainment!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Unfortunately I cant tell you which restaurant we ate at, as there are so many along this stretch of beach, but they all seem to serve amazing seafood. There were tradtional fire dancers, fireworks, and moving singers that all added to an entertaining evening by the water. My advice though is to wear thongs, as the tables and chairs are in the sand!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ramjets5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimbaran Bay also viewed

 
 

Been to Jimbaran Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing