We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good times”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jimbaran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was in bali for 2 months and and spent the first month in kuta just doing a few surf trips which went down well but i wanted to take things to the next level and that was where nick and dee came in.The house is a cool place with a pool table and surf movies being played all day long and a fridge full of beer! And as for the surf trips just make sure you have some big cojones because if you want to get barreld you will! And not to forget the food that dee cooks which was all awesome - you will never go hungry!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Arrived in Bali with my surf crazed man.....slightly crazed myself(!!!)...and randomly found Wave Guru's Homestay on our first morning there. How lucky we were. Nick is totally focused on getting his guests to the best surf spots each morning, the earlier the better and is always in the know about potential swell and hot breaks. Dee (who incidentally has the same name as me so can only be amazing!) lived up to her name and was gracious, kind, generous and a bloody good cook. Rooms were clean and spacious. House was welcoming and super chilled with everything you could possibly need on a surf trip.

If you want to surf Bali, and I really mean surf, this is the place to stay.

Come as guests, leave as friends!

Cheers Nick and Dee oh and little Max xxx

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had an awesome time at Nick and Dee's.
* Early knock on the door * - 5:30am, jumped in the van, and dependent upon the conditions headed to where Nick had sussed out where the best waves would be. Back for an awesome breakfast, a game of pool, then a siesta with the breeze blowing through the windows of awesome open spaced rooms, freshly cleaned room and bed made whilst out surfing.
*afternoon knock on the door* - in the van again and off for an afternoon session. Again, to where the waves would be.
Back from a great session, or some beers by the beach, followed by a bbq.
If not a nice home cooked meal, a few beers in at Kuta, or dinner at a seafood restaurant.

After the morning surf Putu (a local surf guide that works with Nick) would take us to kuta beach for a local breakfast. Awesome food, super cheap, the "best tea in the world" :) and chatting with the local stall owners, eating their local cooked cuisine, watching the tourists go by. If you wanted to stay at the beach instead of going back to the house to chill you could and they would pick us up later. Another alternative was hiring a moto and having that at the house to come and go as you please. Really cheap, but you have to be confident knowing your way on Kuta streets! otherwise sit back and let Putu and Nick take you around.


My Bro and I decided we wanted to head to Lombok. Nick and Dee gave us great advice and pretty much provided us the services of a travel agent - booked our airfares, rang their mate in Lombok and lined us up with accommodation. Service above and beyond.

Their house was really nice, out of town so great to get out of the madness of kuta. We were there to surf, so other than one sleep in (after Nick took us out in Kuta!!) we were up everyday and out in the water.

Guests have all of upstairs to themselves, but after meeting Nick and Dee they welcomed us downstairs to hang out and chat with them also. It was nice to feel like you had a family home to stay in. (particularly after some kuta madness :)

If you want to land in Bali, stay in a beautiful Balinese home, with an awesome family, home cooked meals, personalised alarm service to take you to waves - this is your spot. One thing I would mention is come ready to surf and ready to handle some awesome waves, varying conditions and the crowds when it is pumping - altho Nick and Putu always take you early, to the best conditions to beat the crowds - don't come here to learn to surf - Nick is figuring out the best conditions for each day to score you uncrowded barrels - this is a "surf home stay", so if you are looking to learn to surf I would recommend elsewhere. If you are looking for some sick waves, indo barrels, plenty of ice cold bintang, and a cool crew to hang with - come here!
Oh yeah, and bring your pool game too - because Putu rips!! :)

Room Tip: if you are a couple, tell Nick and Dee and they will give you a double, otherwise for mates or famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was in Bali for 2 months and stayed with Nick and Dee at Wave Guru on and off for my whole trip, they always made me feel more welcome when I returned. I was even confident to leave some of my belongings there between visits which they were kind enough to look after for me so I could travel a little lighter. The accomodation was clean and comfortable with nice big secure rooms. The location is perfect if you don't want to be smack bang in the middle of Kuta, with easy access by moto if you want to get out and about by yourself and the house has a huge communal area, flat screen TV and pool table if you don't. The cook of the house kept us well fed with a variety of local and western food, there was also a legendary seafood BBQ cooked by Putu and Nick himself once a week. The seafood was always fresh and plentiful and served ice cold beer....perfect after a hard day surfing. The surf trips were great - the full service from the wake up knock on the door first thing in the morning to get ready to hit the surf wherever the best waves of the day are - this is where Nick's 10+ years expereience surfing Bali ensures you get your money worth.

Having stayed at a number of places during my 2 mth surfing trip in Bali - Wave Guru is my number 1 pick. Nick and Dee are gracious and friendly hosts and if you are after a genuine surfing experience with clean, comfortable accomodation where you can tap into some local knowledge whether about surfing or how not to get ripped off at the markets, Wave Guru is second to none when it comes to a value for money experience.i will be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flashie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Before arriving at Nick and Dee's place I had the impression that it was more like a hostel partly because the prices were so comparatively low. So wrong! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there is an abundance of room as well in the common space which includes a pool table, a big screen tv, a nice couch, a dinner table, and a wrap-around veranda where you can chew on Nick's basil plant (Not a sexual reference.)

Also, Dee is constantly adding to her delicious repetoire of traditional as well as innovative culinary masterpieces. After eating out a few times in Bali I had a hard time finding a place that could measure up to Dee and the staff in terms of taste and value. But it is fun to grab a nasi goreng and an Indo coffee with Putu (the surf guide) from a street vendor either pre or post surf.

The surf. Nick has been living in the area for over a decade, speaks fluent Indonesian, and is respected by the locals for the lengths he has gone to in order to understand, preserve, and respect their culture. That being said, if you're a friend of Nick then you need not worry. Nick and/or Putu will get you on a wave that's right for you no matter what your surfing level might be.

Last, I had initially planned to spend only one week at Nick and Dee's place and then spend another week elsewhere but after the awesome reception I received at Wave Guru I had no desire to leave. When I go back to Bali I'll definitely be staying with Nick and Dee. They feel like my surrogate family.

One more note. I am not trying to provoke an online quibble but I have a hard time believing that Surfbum82 actually stayed at Wave Guru. If you look at the majority of the reviews you will see that they are positive. I feel the need to defend genuinely good people like Nick and Dee from such a nasty, skewed, and in my opinion false evaluation.

Happy travels,

D.R. Roberts

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eurythroM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our original plan was to stay for 4-5 days at Wave Guru but because we had it so good there we extended our stay for the whole time we were in Bali bar a few days we went to Nusa Lembongan island.

Nick and Dee were amazing hosts with Nick and Putu sorting out the wave hunting for us and Dee cooking us amazing meals. All that's left to do was surf, eat, chill, sleep and simply enjoy our holiday. Not only did they sort out an awesome surf spot everyday, Nick worked as our alarm clock too!! haha.. woke us up early on the dot, got our coffees ready, boards & gear all packed and we just had to bring ourselves to the car and surf. Once we're all surfed out, we'd just chill in the lounge, hang out and had the choice of playing pool, watch an endless collection of movies/surf dvds and a nice selection of lunch menu. Or if you wanted to go somewhere, they'd arrange a ride for you or take you there with one of their readily available cars - or if you're stuck with what to do or where to go just talk to Nick, Dee or Putu for suggestions on some activities around the island.

It was also real neat how they arranged separate trips everyday for different levels of surfing so we had a choice of the gnarly reef breaks or mellow fun waves which was my preference. With Nick and Putu having all the local knowledge of the spots i.e. where to take off, rips, etc., it made my surf experience way better. Nothing beats local knowledge!

I honestly can't ask for a better experience. Heading back to Bali in August this year and will certainly be coming back, can't wait!! The Wave Guru crew made our travel experience easy, hassle free, cheap and got me the waves of my life. Not to mention one of the best surf sessions on my birthday at Balangan. Still to date.. the best birthday present ever!!

Thanks guys, you rock! See you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crissilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The 'guru' took us to well known, blown out, crowded waves that we could have easily found by ourselves. The couple running the house were moody, unfriendly and un-trustworthy. A week at the 'surf camp' after a month of travel around Bali and Lombok ended up costing more than the rest of the entire trip due to exorbitant hidden charges. The actual house is isolated - being located within the grounds of a cemetary; no where near a beach, shops or restaurants, therefore you are completely reliant on these devious people for everything. Basically just to get out the front door and into town is going to cost you more than scooter hire and a room for a couple of days. Unless you want crappy surf, intense boredom and a huge bill for your troubles do not stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Surfbum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavegurubali, General Manager at Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear travelers,

We pride ourselves on our business and the services that we offer to our guests, inviting each and everyone into the Guru camp, our home and family to ensure they have the BEST stay possible. And whilst we continuously ask for feedback so that we can make best better, after hundreds of happy guests we were greatly shocked and saddened to read this one isolated review.
Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion but it is clear that the only intention behind this ‘review’ was to hurt the Wave Guru team on a personal level. So, we would just like to clarify a few of the points mentioned and for you to hear our side of the story. Thanks also to some of our AWESOME guests who were cool enough to come to our defense after seeing this review as a Facebook post (thanks guys!).
The ‘rip-off’: The guests (who came to our camp through the recommendation of other guests) chose to share a fan room for $20 a night with breakfast INCLUDED – so a costs of only $10 each per night. At the time, we charged separate for surf trips with the promise no waves, no pay. We took these guests for a host of wicked surf trips all over Bali - and they happily came along, only complaining when they were leaving that they thought all trips were included in their $10 a day accommodation and food costs…!? Even still, we didn’t want them leaving on a bad note so to appease offered them half price surf trips and to take them to the airport and pay their departure tax at the end of their stay. We even took them out for a day trip to Water Bom Water Park for free.
Location: We aren’t in a graveyard☺ Our positioning means that we are centrally located to over 50 awesome and diverse breaks - and with Wave Guru spies at each - whatever the weather, we can ensure to get you to the BEST surf break of the day.
Getting around: The local shops are only a ten minute walk away - and we offer free use of the Guru scooter and free lifts to town whenever we are heading out. At worst, a cab to Kuta only costs Aus$6 – and an air-conditioned bus 30cents.
The breaks: WE NEVER SURF BLOWN OUT CROWDED WAVES. Period.
We realize that you can’t please everyone all of the time, but we will continue to bust a gut to endeavor to! Thanks to all of our guests – past, present, returning and future. We love having you as part of the Guru team and giving you the best taste of surfing and hospilitality that Bali has to offer.
See you in the barrel!
Peace out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
0.5 mi away
Ellie's
Ellie's
#34 of 54 in Nusa Dua
394 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
5.9 mi away
Bombora Surf Camp
Bombora Surf Camp
#17 of 66 in Pecatu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Padang Padang Surf Camp
3.8 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 58 in Jimbaran
3,704 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jimbaran Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp

Address: Jl. Giri Puspa blok D. no. 12 Taman Griya, Jimbaran 8036, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome surf guiding and surf homestay! We have 11 years finding the best waves in Bali. Don't come all the way to Bali and get dropped!! We introduce you to the locals so they won't drop in! We will also find you the best suited waves to your ability. We will block, snake, drop (other people) and we will even push you on waves. Anything to make your Bali surf holiday awesome..Surf guiding now..Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Villa is open for the complete surf holiday . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wave Guru Bali Surf Camp Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing