We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional lovely balinese stay”
Review of Mango Tree Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Tree Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional lovely balinese stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

perfect place to stay near beach well 5/10 mins walk to seafood restaurants owner lovely snd helpful.

2 bed villa perfect retreat from the busy roads very peaceful at night too.

Great breakfast bought to our villa lovely fresh breads.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangotreevilla, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Villa Mango Trees. Very happy to hear that you enjoied your stay and hopefully will be able to welcome you back here in Jimbaran.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    32
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from having seven wonderful days at Mango Tree Villas.Before we booked our accommodation, we looked carefully to find the right villa for us in the right area in Bali, and we decided that Mango Tree Villas would suit us well. The villas were just as they were advertised and we were not disappointed with our choice at any stage during our stay. We loved having so much space to relax in! The outdoor area was comfortable and bright and was great at any time of the day or evening. The mosquito coils and the personal spray provided for us were all we needed to enjoy the evening air. During the day, the big pool was lovely to cool off in. Yut, the gardener kept the pool and the gardens in very good condition. The other staff, Ketut and Made, were friendly and helpful and they kept our villa clean. It was so easy to relax and enjoy ourselves at the villas. Inside the villa, we found the airconditioning very quiet and efficient, the bed comfortable with lovely sheets and also, little touches such as beach hats and mats. There was a bed cover in the cupboard if you needed to add that to the bed at night. We found the information file handy because it included a map and restaurant suggestions. We enjoyed walking out to find our dinner because it was exciting to see life flowing around us, the Bali way! (If you wanted to, you could order dinner in.) There were lots of taxis that could bring you home from the restaurants. We found it easier to get dropped off before the little laneways began and to walk the short way back to the villas. During some of the days, we liked being able to walk to the beach and then walk along the bay which we found pretty. Finally, Andrea was very helpful to us by welcoming us warmly on our arrival and later on, checking to see how we were going. Towards the end of our stay, Andrea helped us again by doing an internet flight check in, which meant that we could sit together on our return flight. Thank you to everyone for such a lovely week!

Room Tip: All three villas would be lovely. If you preferred being inside more, the plunge pool villa would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangotreevilla, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Allison and Michael

We trust that you returned well to Perth and would like to thank you very much for having staied with us and also that you took the time to write in details about your stay in Jimbaran at Villa Mango Trees. We do appreciate this as it does help promoting our villas and is the best reference for other future customers.

We wish you all the best and hope that one day you will be back.

kind regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We appreciated the seclusion initially, but after 4 nights the trudge to get out had us using taxis to get anywhere - whose drivers can't find the place of course. Loved the rooms and garden, but would warn of the difficulties in making payments. No credit facilities, no paypal - so massive cash withdrawals plus cumbersome international money transfer for the deposit.
In future, I'd revisit WhiteHouse Jimbaran or go past Ayana to Balangan beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftwood-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangotreevilla, Manager at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Goeff and family,

Thank you very much for your coments on Tripadvisor regarding Villa Mango Trees. We appreciate that you took time to write a few words regarding your stay and hope that your second honeymoon on Bali has been all what you wished for.

Regarding your concerns, may we add a few coments as well. It is true that we do request for the deposit of 50 % a bank transfer. Why? In our opinion, it has been proven to be one of the safest method. In today's time, there is a lot of fraud, with creditcards, online systems like Paypal etc. We do inform all our customers about the procedures and until now did not have complaints. Our clientele is from all over Asia, Europe, America, Canada and Australia. It seems that banks in Australia do charge their customer a fee for the transfer, but then use a middle bank for transfers to Indonesia - we have experienced it several times, they do not inform the customer and sometimes even say that there is no middle bank. But it is confirmed that a middle bank exists, and surprisingly only from Australia, as all other guests do not have the same issues. As we are flexible for the restpayment, which can be paid upon arrival in cash, we think this is fair as there will be no extra fees like Paypal or credit card fees which in Indonesia are added on! So in the end there is not much difference as we calculated that Paypal costs are over 4 % of the total amount, and as mentioned, credit cards charge 3.5 - 5 % too!

Regarding our location, it is explained very well on our official website, we are in the middle of Jimbaran village, surrounded by balinese families. Many customers do appreciate the fact that they have a true balinese experience instead of being surrounded by other villas, hotels, restaurants and shops. But we also admit, that not all tourists want the same and therefore always point out to the fact, that we are in a traditional place, with all pros and cons, and not in a touristy aerea like Kuta or Legian. Taxis are very affordable in Indonesia, so it does really depend on each customer, if he/she prefers to be in a secure and quiet location, and once in a while take a taxi to Kuta, or they want the hustle and bustle of a busy touristy aerea.

We make a point of giving each of our customers at check in a name card with complete address and telephone number, so they can just show this to a taxi driver who does not know the villas. With a street name - on the condition that the driver knows how to read - they normally find their way easily, or at least call the staff for directions.

We do hope that this clarifies your concerns and wish you all the best,

regards

Nicole
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What can I say? The place looks exactly like the photos published on its website! We booked a one bedroom plunge pool villa, and we loved how every detail was well thought of in the villa. All the basic needs were provided (utensils, water, safe deposit box, & even a beach mat), even the gardener and workers cleaned the pool & villa on a daily basis. The garden area of the villa was stupendous, with a small plunge pool, 2 deck chairs, a gazebo like area where we were shaded from the sun, and breakfast prepared there daily. The trees & shrubs were planted in a way that it feels shaded & cool all day as well. The keyword here for this villa is seclusion - You don't feel like you're in a tourist infested area.

We have no complaints at all in regards to the villa - The cleanliness, the staff (meeting us personally - nice touch!), and the facilities.

The outside of the villa could become quite dark at night, but torchlights were provided by the villa in case you need to make a late night excursion. Taxis might not know where the villa is, so what we did was to ask the same taxi come pick us up again later on from where we are. If needed, the staff willingly arranges & settles your transport needs.

Only 2 further suggestions from me to make it better than perfect:
1. We had breads & fruits for every breakfast. It was good, but it would be nice to have an option of a typical Balinese breakfast as well. I understand some guests don't favour the local delicacies, but for the rest of us who want this experience, it would be a nice touch.
2. To & fro airport transfers provided would be nice. The villa arranged for us to be picked up free of charge, but we had to pay for our taxi to the airport (Pre arranged of course). We just thought it would be nice if the villa threw this in as part of the villa rates as well, since we are already paying quite a bit for the villa.

All in all, it's an awesome villa! Not a single complaint about it. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dericjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamangotree, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi Deric

We would like to thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding our villas and that you took time to write a few words. They are going to be very helpful for future customers and we appreciate it. Also happy to hear that you enjoied your stay that much and that staff did take care of you, our main point and aim is to make our guests feel like home away from home.

Actually, if our guests wish to switch from continental breakfast to asian breakfast, we do offer either a nasi goreng or bakmi goreng version, only by advising our employees the day before, changes are no problem.

All the best

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

In addition to being a beautiful property and a great location with easy beach access, the staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They wished me happy birthday without prompting, drove us to Uluwatu and were always smiling.

The beautiful private villas were a highlight of our trip in Bali. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamangotree, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Ben

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so true that people make the place, and with a little help from the employees, your experience is fulfilling, warm and worth remembering.

kind regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Mango Tree for 10 nights and it was a wonderful experience for us. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa and it was absolutely fabulous.

The Good:

Beautiful villa with lush green trees, as beautiful as seen on the pictures

Good size swimming pool and it’s always warm as the sun was above it most of the time

The villa is located conveniently about 5 minutes walk to the Jimbaran Beach where all the nice seafood restaurants are.

It is a small villa complex and unlike the big hotel chain, you walk out of the door and you could see the real Bali – how people live and work. We’ve been to Nusa Dua and as much as there were lovely big hotels, you felt quite indifferent as it could be anywhere in the world.

The staffs were really helpful. They were very polite and efficient. Apart from daily cleaning and breakfast, they also helped to book our taxi and played with our little one.

Owner Andrea was very helpful too. She has been answering our query long before we arrived. The manager Nicole gave us lots of tips on where to eat and travel, sightseeing, airport tax, car rental etc. She even helped us to arrange our babycot for us.

The not so good:

It is a bit dark outside the villa complex and the local dogs might bark at you. I was assured that the dogs only barked and usually caused no problem.

Travelling Tips:

1. If you pre book a taxi, they could charge you minimum price of 250,000 Indonesian Rupiah

2. I was stung by jellyfish whilst swimming in Jimbaran beach, the local was helpful to give me onion and oil to cool it down. Maybe local could give you some tips on whether there are jellyfish in the sea?

3. The seafood restaurants on the beach cook the same way with more or less the same kind of sauces. It is important to see which restaurant have fresher fish before you get into one

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoBoPumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamangotree, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Janice

Thank you so much for your review. It does help other customers to make a decision and give some insight of the local circumstances. Jimbaran is a very traditional village, where typical balinese life is celebrated daily, with all the pros and cons... We are very honest about this, by pointing out to each individual request what to expect as we belief very much that there is no point in promises which are not kept.

the way of life on this tropical island is so much different to other parts of the world and people coming for their first time need some reflecting before setting off in order to know what to expect. AS we always tell our guests, you have to expect the unexpected, be flexible, and negotiations always take place with a smile, you will go far...

Bali with its own share of problems, is still truely unique and can offer you a fantastic holiday experience.

All the best

Adnrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Pros

New nice quality rooms with hardwood or marble floors (1br wood, 2br marble)

Privacy created by gates at entrance to each private villa

Private pool

2br villa has covered kitchen/dining area adjacent to pool, making relaxing and dining by pool enjoyable

Cons

3-4% payment charge assessed on top of lodging fee (3% credit card or 4% paypal, no other options available)

50% nonrefundable deposit payable upon booking

Additional 50% nonrefundable deposit payable 1 month prior to arrival

Villa is located on a dodgy area, back an alley. Entrance to villa compound is not locked. It would be very easy for an outsider to enter compound.

Only thin sheet provided on bed

When servicing room, housekeeping keeps door open, allowing insects to easily enter room

Many mosquitoes and other insects (including worms and leeches) in room (perhaps unavoidable in Bali)

1br villa has no kitchen

Nothing is easily in walking distance from villa. You must have access to car. To get to nearby street vendors, you must walk 10 minutes through alley, past people sitting in alleyway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freqfliereastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpatriadoBali, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Estimated customer

We have read your comments on Villa Mango Trees and would like to add the following.
Payment method: you paid through a travel agent and they offered you the paypalsystem, so it is normal that there are costs, but so it does with bank transfers, it is inevitable that international money transfers come with costs.
Location: It is very well mentioned on the official website, where Villa Mango Trees is located. If you call it dodgy, maybe your choice of location was wrong and you should have stayed in another, more touristic aerea like Kuta, Legian or Semyniak. Where the villas are located, it is a quiet balinese neighborhood location, the access may be a little bit difficult to find and narrow lanes, but on the other side, it is not one of those drive through streets where you get all the noise of the
motorbikes and cars.
Bed linen: It is correct that beds - due to tropical climate, are set up with bedsheets only. However, Duvet covers are available for all villas upon request, so the only thing to do is to inform staff and they will set up.

Mosquitos: We do live in a tropical climate, there are gardens, so Mosquitos are unavoidable. that is why mosquito repellent as well as mosquito coils are provided and the whole aerea is fogged regularly.

Our plunge pool villa has no kitchen, that is very clearly mentioned in our website, the one bedroom and two bedroom villa do have each a kitchen. Maybe that was a misunderstanding between you as a customer and the travel agent.

The beach is in a 6 minutes walking distance, so are the local fruit and vegetable market, some grocery shops, the famous seafood restaurants etc.

It is also true that streets and allies are small in Bali, from former times, when no cars were available. However we do not understand why you are bothered by balinese people sitting outside, it is their way of socializing and seeing what is going on, it is their home in the end, and we all are their guests.

We also were informed that your transfers were ordered double, again, that must be a misunderstanding with your travel agent and to follow up directly with them.

Overall, we are really sorry that you did not like the location, and do believe, that you probably made the wrong choice in staying in Jimbaran, which is a traditional fishermen's village, with all its pro's and contras! With direct bookings, we always do point out this fact as we are aware that not everybody is ready for this teal traditional and though very balinese approach.

best regards

Management Villa Mango Trees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
0.2 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#5 of 57 in Jimbaran
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jimbaran Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ahimsa Beach Resort
Ahimsa Beach Resort
#1 of 116 in Jimbaran
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Villas

Property: Mango Tree Villas
Address: Jalan Pemelisan Agung | Gang Menega Jati 14B, Jimbaran, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Tree Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Tree Villas, situated in the heart of Jimbaran village, capture the very essence of the Balinese lifestyle with a contemporary elegance accent. The one and two bedroom villas, shaded under old mango trees, are an ideal choice for travellers with a sense of adventure, a passion for authentic surroundings and a thirst for new experiences. The villas are a short walk to Jimbaran market and temple, a five minute stroll to the famous Jimbaran beach and 10 minute drive from the airport or to the shopping and entertainment areas of Kuta and Seminyak. The formal Balinese architecture makes use of local materials, such as white Palimanan stone, teak wood, and Paras river stone, together with wooden iron wooden shingle roofs. Location: Jimbaran village is located on the southern tip of the island of Bali on the slopes of Bukit Peninsula. The white sandy beaches of Jimbaran bay are only 15-minute drive from the famous Uluwatu temple, Nusa Dua and Kuta Beach. Jimbaran is a great fishing village with stunning white-sand beach that is considered to be one of the Bali’s most beautiful beaches. The village is admired with families for its gentle tides, dramatic sunsets, brightly painted fishing boats and numerous famous beachfront seafood restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mango Tree Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Villas Bali/Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing