We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like you are visiting a friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 100 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The reviews on trip advisor on true. This B & B offers a personalized experience in Bali and the hospitality you would hope from a friend. We felt like we had someone "in-the-know" on our side from the second we stepped through the airport doors. Lydia hooked us up with the best deals and fantastic pastries every morning, and Bob went out of his way to provide us with information, cell phones, rides, you name it. No request was too big or too complicated. The rooms are well-equipped, the AC and showers work well, and the rates are very reasonable. This is the perfect place to stay if you want to "feel like a local." It is back in a tiny alley, surrounded by local houses and families. You can hear roosters and children playing next door, but at the same time it is a beautiful and serene spot (see the photos) and we slept very well there. The location makes for a good spot to do driving day-trips from (which is what many people do while in Bali), and a good location for exploring the Bukit (south) peninsula, including Uluwatu and many of the beautiful remote beaches there. However, it is not the kind of place where you can just pop over to the beach for a swim on a whim (you need to arrange for transportation ahead of time), since the road from there is not easy to walk on. All in all, this did not effect our stay - just something to know when you're booking and planning!

Room Tip: Room A is a little quieter than Room B (as it is farther from the breakfast area). We did not try r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beezers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you want the personal touch rather than a large anonymous hotel in Bali, this is the place to stay. Bob and Lydia were extremely generous in their hospitality. The quality of service was excellent. From the warm welcome at the airport to the large well appointed bedroom and bathroom with tea and coffee, a fridge, cold water, TV, DVD player, free Wifi internet, as well as toothbrushes and toothpaste, together with access to Bob's extensive collection of DVDs - the attention to detail made it very special. Bob and Lydia even loaned us mobile phones for local calls and arranged for Wayan to change money for us and Minnie to fetch take-aways, if that is what we fancied in the evening. The breakfasts with Lydia's delicious pastries set us up for the day.

They were so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about Bali and went the extra mile to accommodate all our requests. They made many helpful suggestions on places to visit and arranged these for us either through the use of their car and driver, Jimmy, or booking them for us. Nothing was too much trouble. At the end of a 5 week trip throughout East Asia, they made the whole of our stay hassle free, which is just what we wanted.

We wish them continued success in their venture and hope that their future plans will be realised.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

To Bob and Lydia, my 2 wonderful and awesomely gracious and warm hosts, THANK YOU for making my solo trip such an unforgettable one...so much so that I had misty eyes when it was time to leave. Not only is the room I was given beautiful, well-appointed and huge, the entire compound exudes a warm and cosy feel...literally a home away from home. I had everything I needed throughout my 7 days' stay and more. From setting me up for the tours and chauffeuring me to the places I wished to visit, to the lovely chit-chats and quiet that I was looking for...and yes, right down to coming along on a white water rafting trip with me!...Lydia and Bob ensured that my stay with them was perfect. This place is also so cosy and warm for a good reason...Bob and Lydia treat their employees like family. Mini (hope I've spelt her name right!) celebrated her birthday on one of the days I was there, and Lydia went beyond what an employer would do...and made the lovely lady a birthday cake to celebrate the occasion. It is no wonder that this cosy little compound is so heavenly...away from traffic, in a place that's not yet polluted by over-commercialism.
THANK YOU Bob, Lydia, Mini, Wayan and Jimmy...and little Scruffy...for giving me this wonderful memory I'll never forget. No qualms recommending Aahh Bali to anyone...and I look forward to going back some day!

Room Tip: Room B, where I stayed, is the largest...it has 1 double bed and 1 single bed. However, I've rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matilda_jinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just recently spent 9 nites with Bob, Lydia, Wayan & Minnie based on the strong TA reviews. Our experience exceeded all expectations. From the prompt email replies before arriving right thru to the days well after we had paid the bill.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Bob, Lydia, Jimmy (the driver), cold towels/water at the airport & 15min later arrived at their beautifully constructed villa. Despite our early flight, the room was ready for immediate occupancy and to our delight a full breakfast was offered...great introduction! To make us even more comfortable, local SIM cards were offered & topped up with a simple SMS to Lydia...too easy!

Room A was a very spacious and well laid out guest room. Big four poster bed, sitting area with TV, desk/vanity & large bathroom with shower, tub and outdoor drying area/shower. Unfortunately the outdoor shower head is low and being 6'+ was not good for me. Had I bothered to mention it, Bob would have most likely sorted something to accommodate. Aside from the nearby roosters, the guesthouse neighborhood is near silent making for an excellent sleeping arrangement.

Breakfast was served whenever we liked with no harassment to get done & get out. Being a very early riser myself, every morning I chatted with Lydia while she prepared fresh delicious baked pastries from scratch. The strong Bali coffee & fresh fruit plate were equally as impressive. The first breakfast order I placed was for an egg white omelette with no issue & made perfectly virtually every day I was there.

During our time, the US Masters golf tournament & NHL hockey playoffs had started. Thanks to the lightning fast WIFI connection I was able to stream these events live from N.America with no lapse in the connection. Their internet speed rivals anything you'll find around the globe.

The shared pool area was spotless thanks to Minnie & Wayan's daily cleaning program. This is a great place to chillout with a book & Bintang if you aren't out exploring the island. The water is very refreshing without being cold.

As for accessibility to the surrounding area, it's an easy walk to the main street which has some great restaurants & a Nirmala supermarket within 10min. Do yourself a favor & enjoy a cheap, tasty & proper Indo meal at the Uluwatu II restaurant just past the pizza place. If you're looking to go a bit further you can hire Minnie's motorbike at a ridiculously low 50k IDR/day including helmets. This is a great way to venture across S.Bali. One day I was looking to convert some USD and Lydia arranged for Wayan to take me on her motorbike to the nearest exchange house that offered the best rate. The nite we were heading out to the Uluwatu temple, Bob offered Jimmy to drive us in the van and in return we only paid for fuel & a tip...another example of what a class act these guys are. If you're in need of a metered taxi, Lydia will make the call and someone will show up within minutes.



When it came to daytrips in Central/Northern Bali, we were put in the hands of Dewa. Do not miss out on this experience. Dewa is a young born & raised Balinese who's knowledge of the island & Hindu culture is neverending. He will pick you up @ the guesthouse 10min before your arranged time & navigate your route in a very safe & responsible way, taking all shortcuts to maximize your time. We hired Dewa 5x and told him where we would like to go, he filled in the gaps with local knowledge of other sites along the way. Dewa walked us thru the temples & explained everything as his English is very good. Never once did he bring us to a commission based business so he could earn a few extra rupiah. In addition, his rates are the lowest we found (350k/10hrs & 30k/extra hour).

After discovering that Lydia was a former Grand Hyatt & cruise ship chef, we arranged for a home cooked seafood feast at the guesthouse. In the morning I joined them at the Jimbaran fish market to take pictures while they selected the best quality crab, prawn, squid & clams. That evening we sat down to what was probably the best & most memorable seafood dinner I have ever experienced. Cooked to perfection the Balinese way & complimented with candles not only on the table, but alongside the pool. Great way to end our 9 nite stay.

When we were set to leave, Lydia arranged our transfer across to Gili T. The rate she provided was the local rate with no commission added and was extended to our friends who were staying elsewhere. The same local rate was given to us for a daytrip to Nusa Lembongan. When we returned 6 days later, we were greeted with sandwiches & cold beers. Unfortunately, there was a mistake made with our last nite booking but Bob sorted this out by arranging (and paying!) for one nite at another Jimbaran hotel. This was a smooth move by an awesome couple who know how to take care of their guests. We look forward to returning to Bali and hopefully our friends will have their new property up & running.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter...they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyleeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We chose Aahh BAli because it was pretty central and was hoping that it would be a good landing point to have someone that spoke English as the hosts to help give us the lay of the land. And Bob & Lydia were that and much more. Gracious hosts with great staff and amazing breakfast (beware of the morning pastries, they are addictive). Room was large and comfortable and the pool was a refreshing reprieve. We were fortunate that we were the only guests that week and thus felt like a private villa. It took a little bit to get used to how to get around from there, but quickly sorted out that everything was a quick taxi or driver away (which I'd highly recommend their driver, Dewa). Wasn't brave enough to try the bicycles in Bali traffic.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thanks to Bob and Lydia for a lovely stay at Aah Bali.
We stayed for six nights, and the accommodation is great - a villa centred on a gorgeous pool, perfect for cooling off after exploring. We had room C, which is upstairs and smaller than the others, but still very comfortable.I loved the outdoor shower in particular, and the balcony with a view over the pool.
The location is great, too - nice and close to Jimbaran beach, which is less busy and touristy than Kuta. There are quite a few restaurants and massage places close by. When we wanted to explore further afield, we used a combination of scooters (hired and borrowed from Bob and Lydia), taxis (very cheap), and Aah Bali's driver and vehicle, all good options.
The breakfasts are amazing - Lydia is a trained chef and made amazing pastries every morning. We also loved the movie room, which is set up with comfy couches, an enormous projector and piles of DVD's.
What really sets Aah Bali apart, though, is Bob and Lydia's incredibly generous hospitality - they couldn't do enough to help us with whatever we wanted to do, and even accompanied us to have suits made. This personal touch makes all the difference - far nicer than staying in a hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The moment we arrived we were impressed by Bob and Lydia who were so attentive to our every need. We wanted to go to the beach so they arranged their driver to take us there and pick us up later. Bob offered to give us a SIM card for our stay. In the evening we were keen to eat in a fish restaurant on the beach which was also organised for us. Unfortunately we had to leave at 345am for the airport. Bob and Lydia got up at this time and made us tea, gave us a lovely breakfast to take with us and organised our transport. Just as we were leaving i realised i didn't have enough money for the departure tax and as Bob was worried about our time he made sure we had enough. We loved the place and felt immediately at home. The bedroom was very comfortable with a beautiful outsdie bathroom. This is a great place and I would recommend Aahh Bali highly. We will definately stay here again if we return to Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimbaran
1.5 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#15 of 60 in Jimbaran
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#7 of 60 in Jimbaran
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
BALQUISSE Heritage Hotel
#14 of 60 in Jimbaran
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Astari - Villa and Residence
3.3 mi away
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
8.4 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jl. Uluwatu II, Gg.Tanjung Mekar #9, Jimbaran 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range: $27 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a true taste of Bali in a quiet secluded spot at a reasonable rate that is close to everything, this is where you want to stay. Our unique Balinese architecture gives you a real feel for the art and charm that is Bali. We offer 3 rooms rented separately,our larger ground floor suites offer tall Balinese style ceilings, comfortable draped queen beds, draped double bed,desk, couch, large flat screen TV/DVD player, android TV with 6000+ TV programs and movies, inside and outside showers and large soaking tubs, good sized refrigerators, and more. Our smaller suite is upstairs has all that except no extra bed, couch or tub, but a private porch overlooking the pool and waterfall. We also have a great internationally trained chef on staff for evening meals at competitive rates. Our quiet little place is sure to please and we want your experience in Bali to be one of your best vacations ever, so we try to enhance the experience with all the tips and help we can provide and eliminate as many pitfalls as possible for you. Hospitality is not just our business it is our commitment. In the rooms we provide all the toiletries you'll need, as well as wash cloths, face towels, bath towels and beach towels. Also a kettle and bottled water for your morning coffee or tea (provided). We will pick you up at the airport with an ice cold drink and wash cloth waiting for you in the car and drop you off at no charge with your direct booking and minimum 2 day stay.Our free pick up hours are Monday to Saturday, 7am to 5pm. Off hours will incur a small fee. Breakfast is also included in the direct booking rates with fresh baked pastries daily and a host of breakfast choices. We suggest you get a local sim card for you to stay in touch with each other and your drivers.Sim cards and airtime are super cheap here. We provide some of the best Wi-Fi for free here, as well as free bicycles for your use. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aahh Bali Bed & Breakfast Jimbaran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing