We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place”
Review of Rock Bar

Rock Bar
Ranked #15 of 262 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on natural rocks 14 meters above the Indian Ocean at the base of AYANA Resort and Spa BALI's towering cliffs, this innovative open-top Bali bar is the island's most glam sunset and after-dark destination. Soak up the chic ambiance and superstar views as the rhythm of the spot-lit ocean merges with the funky tunes vibing from the DJ booth carved into the cliff-face. Discover Rock Bar's love affair with the sea Rock Bar's new 'Rock Bar Seafood Dinner' invites you to stay after sunset, enjoying premier Mediterranean cuisine beneath the stars. For your dining pleasure, our chefs hand select the freshest deep sea fish and shellfish to create mouth-watering dishes that include king prawns, sardines, calamari, swordfish and lobster. Rock Bar's intimate after-dark experience begins every evening at 7pm, complemented by soothing nu-disco inspired tunes and artisan crafted cocktails prepared with delicious tropical fruit juices and spices. Rock Bar's expansive setting welcomes romantic evenings for two as well as lively private events for up to 880. DRESS CODE Smart attire is required at ALL times. No singlets, board-shorts, alcohol-branded attire will be permitted. In adherence to security measures, backpacks are also not allowed at Rock Bar. We thank you for your cooperation and understanding.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Its just location, location, location.... The place is breathtakingly beautiful.... We were a group of 15 adults, just went there for drinks. Unfortunately there is pretty much nothing to eat on the menu. As I am off drinks, all I did was have water. But i just soaked up the sight. Just watching the sunset gave me a high. Obviously its priced high... But one evening of splurging was what we were in the mood of. Highly recommend it as a one time one drink thingy. Of course we ran a bill of millions of rupiah.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheetalLadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,894
    1,037
    485
    198
    183
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View, but underwhelming...”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

1. If you are staying in Seminyak, you'll take a cab out to Ayana Resort that'll set you back 120,000 IR both ways.
2. No boardshorts or tanktops, or else you'll need to buy something from the clothing stores upstairs.
3. Expect to pay 165,000 per cocktail.. Pretty high prices considering that places like Ku De Ta serve cocktails for around 120,000. Cocktails are extremely watered down. In fact, I sent my drink back TWICE and asked my server to put more alcohol in my long island iced tea, only to have them put more Coke in it, and they gave me extra Coke on the side as a chaser in case my drink was "too strong". Great, but.. I didn't pay 160,000 for a fancy Coke... I guess they didn't get the message and by the third time I did not want to give them too much of a hard time.
4. Tried to ask and see if they had other cocktails like Dark and Stormy or the Moscow Mule, hoping they would, but it seems the bartenders and wait staff are quite inflexible - you can only order stuff off the menu. For these prices I'd expect the bartenders to be knowledgeable about how to make drinks, not read instructions off some recipe book.
4. Food was so so, most of it was just fried snacks which were nothing out of the ordinary.
5. Crowd was 80% Mainland Chinese
6. View was amazing, but you don't get to sit at the nice bar they show you in the pictures.. Non hotel guests get to sit to the side, which wasn't bad, but, wasn't what you expected given all the hype.
7. Inefficient bottleneck at the tram - which only fits 8 people at a time.
8. Servers and staff were generally very nice, but also aggressive in getting you to order your next round of drinks (i.e. multiple staff would come over and ask for another order)

Taxi Service to and from Seminyak: 240,000
Collared shirt from Ayana Store: 450,000
3 watered down cocktails,1 Bintang, 1 Fried Calamari & 1 Edamame Bean: 850,000

Would I go back? Probably not. Ku De Ta & Potatohead are much better bets - better cocktails (with alcohol!!) with a much better looking crowd.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZZIDODABASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pretty view”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

the view overlooking the bar from atop was simply stunning however we waited for an hour just to get a spot and no reservations could be made. when we were finally seated it started raining cats and dogs causing us not only an excruciatingly long wait but also a call off on the night. so no drinks for us as we headed elsewhere in the pouring rain. not our day i guess.

p/s: the usherer was super hospitable and kept us in good company so plus points for that!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineLimHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Magnificent view”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My friend had recommended the Rock Bar having stayed at the Ayana Resort before.

Our private driver drove us there and the resort is simply beautiful, with the infinity pool. We joined the queue to the Rock Bar when it started to drizzle. The staff provided guests with umbrellas, and fortunately the elevator arrived and brought us down to the Rock Bar.

We were seated and ordered cocktails and finger food. The view is amazing though we did not watch the sunset due to the clouds.

We had a great time enjoying our cocktails and the view. We will visit the Rock Bar again when we visit Bali, and would recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmelineOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place, but...”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you're looking for romantic, cozy and modern place to spend with your partner, so Rock Bar is the place. Located above the rock hills and perfect beach with white sand on the bottom, makes you wants to come back here again and again, IF the service as smooth as the view. most of the staff serve bit arrogant. That time i only ordered for an apple mojito which taste plain with high price. Over all, i enjoy the night but they should improve the service quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bar also viewed

 
Jimbaran, Bali
Jimbaran, Bali
 

Been to Rock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing