We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 85 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

After reading many great comments of previous travellers of this Hotel on Trip advisor, we've decided to book Jimbaran Cliffs Private & Private Spa for our holiday. It was an amazing experience awaiting us and our room was beautiful and had an amazing view of the sunset over Jimbaran Bay over our private pool. Putu (Operational Manager) and his staff just take care of everything with a smile and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The reception and hospitality that was given was the best we have experienced in any of our travels. The staff could not have been nicer. They care very much about this place and the whole staff seem to sincerely want their guests to have a wonderful time. The place is totally relaxed and was the highlight of our holiday... Lovely private infinity pool, large room and great service. Jimbaran Cliffs is a very unique and special place with personalized attention. I highly recommend this place if you're interested in a short romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. All in all we had a great stay, the spa services which make us felt great like a new person. We absolutely loved Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel and Spa. We love our privacy and therefore the benefits of having our own horizon pool with unbelievable views was an experience which we'll not forget. I would recommend it to anyone wanting relaxing break away. Highly recommended!!!!

P.S. The only concern is the poor internet connection.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    60
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
168
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

After reading many great comments of previous travellers of this Hotel on Trip advisor we've decided to book for 6 nights through Wotif. Somehow there was confusion with the breakfast arrangement. At the time of booking with Wotif the Jimbaran Cliff property detail clearly stated that Ala carte breakfast “is included” for all villas but as it turnout this was not the case as breakfast was not clearly written on our confirmation letter from wotif. We brought this up to the Operation Manager and showed him what was written on Wotif and mentioned that this was a little misleading. Also to mention, at the time of booking there was no option for breakfast to be included additionally. The Operation Manager was not sure what to do or to say but he promised to talk to Peter (The BOSS) and get back to us ASAP. One week passed there was no news from Peter or The Operation Manager however the property details on the Wotif website regarding breakfast has been changed within 24hrs from “is included” to “is available”.
Another thing to mention is if you want to have a view as advertised on the website Quote: “every private courtyard suite enjoys panoramic sunset views over Jimbaran Bay and the Bukit“do not book the Cliff Edge Pool Suite, because you will be surprised by not having one.
In conclusion, the room was specious and clean moreover the staff was friendly and helpful on the other hand lacked of professional appearance and training. The hotel has potential but more room for improvement. In our opinion it is still far away from its “5” Star rating.
Good luck for the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

First let me say that absolutely all the staff at Jimbaran Cliffs are lovely, outgoing, helpfull and make up for any issues we had during our stay. One person in particular was truely outstanding - Putu Juniarta.

The villas are absoluly gorgeous, have a really nice layout, and are are a great size. They are nicely decorated, with what appears to be custom-made furnishings. The only things that simply do not fit with the decor are the paintings - although they are perfectly color-matched to the decor they simply do not work with the comtemporary decor, and would be more suited to an older style room.

The Pool is lovely, overlooking the countryside. The downside to the outdoor area is that there are a couple of houses down the hill which have a direct view of the villas, so you don't have complete privacy. We also had the problem that the pool light was not working our 1st night (we were only staying 1 1/2 days), and it is quite dark without the pool light, so felt a little nervous walking up and down the couple of steps to the lanai.

The Villas are only about 6 months old so everything is still sparkling. Having said that there are a few minor things that take away from what would be a perfect escape. The real problem is all the "minor" issues mount up to be an overall major detraction from what is otherwise a fantastic place

1. Clothes airer was toataly rusted - Replaced the next day with a cheap aluminum one (Unlike every other accomodation where they use solid wood ones)
2. The "bin" in the bathroom is a tiny cheap plastic one (Other hotels only use proper basketware)
3. The air-conditioner is simply of an insuffucient horse-power (1 HP) to cool the room properly. It is quite cool right on the bed (as the air conditionner is right above it), but when you do anything away from they bed you find it is quite warm in the room. As long as you sit and do nothing it is just okay.
4.There is a beautiful kitchen, with a full sized fridge, and a gas gooking hob, but absolutely no pots and pans, making the hob simply a useless object.
5. The roof in the batroom ends before the tub, so if you have a bath you get rained on. Even though most bathrooms in Bali are open (which is lovely) they are designed so that the tub is under cover.
6. During our stay the international channels were not working, so the only channel we could watch in english was Al Jezira news. Luckily we had some of our own dvd's so we could watch them as the room did have a dvd player.
7. During our stay it was particularly windy, and the umbrella kept falling into the garden, or against the glass door. I informed the staff of this several times, but nothing was done. A heavy storm then came through and blew the umbrella over gain, and then the wind simply took it, and it flew up - never to be seen again - so no umbrella the next day. Had they simply closed the umbrella it is likely it would have stiil been there to use the next day.
8. The fabric on the Chaise louges is already tearing (Probably from sun damage, and being of a cheap quality
9. After the first few hours we were no longer able to connect to the wi-fi from our room as they were having some sort of problem with it.
10. Unlike any other accomdation in Bali (Expensive Villas or Cheap Hotels) breakfast IS NOT INCLUDED!!

After having the pool light not working our first night (the final thing that made us request some sort of compenstaion), I asked the front desk to ask the owner to comp us a meal after all the issues we encountered. The owner came to our room, and after explaining how "efficient" the air conditioner was, and how the lights are kept to a minimum outdoors for privacy, and that even though it is dark the pool is totally safe, (the pool safety was not our issue - it was the fact that we felt unsafe walking as you can't see well without the pool light), he eventually gave in and gave us $14 usd credit towards breakfast (which didn't even cover the cost and we paid about 20,000 rp - $2.20 usd). That is just such a pidly thing to do - its not for the $2.20 we had to pay - it's the principle.

The owner also offered a room change (as was offered earlier by staff), to a room with a pool light that worked - the catch - that room did not have the premium view for which we paid an extra $25.00 usd per night over the room they were offering. Was he willing to refund the difference - certainly not.

When we actually recieved our breakfast it was tiny. Omelette looked like it was either made with 1 egg or 2 miniature eggs, a tiny piece of bacon (about 2 1/2cm by 3 1/2cm), a tiny hash brown, 1/2 a small tomato, any totally undercooked sausages. There was a "breadbasket" which contained 2 slices of toast, 1 small croissant, and 1 small danish which is supposed to be for 2 People!(Just enough for 1 person) Every other place we ever stayed in Bali has either breakfast buffets, or far more generous servings, to say nothing of the fact that breakfast is always included in the price of your room.

Although I would definately stay here again at the rate I got from Wotif ($133.00 USD per night), I certainly would not pay $390.00 AUD - which is what the hotel charges through their own website, as you can get a private villa with 2-3 bedrooms, a chauffeur, cook, and cleaning staff for less than that in bali.

When starting a new hotel, and want to charge premium prices, and a customer has issues, the owner should go that extra mile to build a great reputation, not quibble about comping a meal, explaining how good the air-conditioner is, and skimping on breafast, not only by not including including it, but by them being tiny.

Also keep in mind that these villas are NOT in Jumabaran, they are in an area between Jimabaran and Nusa Dua called Mumbul. They are off the beaten track up a long hilly road, away from the main road (which is not a tourist area anyway). Though the villa's website implies that you have the convinience of an at-call driver, it is only available with additional charges for each trip. You are much better off calling for a "BlueBird Taxi" - (the only trustworthy taxis), it will be much cheaper that using the hotels driver. Just have the desk call BlueBird for you. You can also pick up a cheap sim for your moblie (Mentari) and call yourself.

Overall - the place is gorgeous - would definately recommend staying there as long as you get a good rate.

Hopefully all the minor things will be dealt with, and the owner being an Australian, should deal with these things as they would be dealt with in Australia - Allways give your guest that little bit extra - when issues crop up - ask what can you do - as opposed to waiting for your guest to ask for some sort of compensation and making your guest feel like you are doing them a big favour by giving them a $14 credit

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa-T-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

On our way to Jakarta we wanted a place to totally "chill out" and Jimbaran Cliffs certainly didn't disappoint us. From the privacy of our own totally luxurious room (complete with large plunge pool and giant outdoor day bed) to the exceptional hospitality and friendliness of the staff to the romantic secluded location, this place had it all! So much so we booked another 6 nights stay on our way home!
We simply could not fault this small intimate resort. Nothing was too much trouble and everything we wanted was available. The only downside to the entire holiday was a patch of rough weather for a couple of days (over which they obviously had no control) and we simply chilled with some DVD's in our room and enjoyed room service while the storm blew over.
The meals were great and very affordable, drinks in the bar watching the sun set were amazing and the massages on site were so popular with my wife she simply had to have one every day and she was full of praise for the excellent masseuse and range of services offered.
Often we read reviews and look at photos online and think OK, if it's half that good we will be happy, but on this occassion it was all true - in fact it was much better than we expected.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holymanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

It started out a little rocky when our driver didn't know where to take us. We ended up going up a small unsealed road, which was a little scary. But at the end of the road was an amazing experience awaiting us, Our room was beautiful and had an amazing view of the sunset over Jimbaran Bay over our private pool. The staff were amazing, they supplied us a driver to take us wherever and whenever we wanted to go. I would recommend this place to everyone. Just be aware it is not in Jimbaran Bay, it is half way between Jimbaran and Nusa Dua, but with a driver taking you everywhere does it really matter for this price!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetootravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kununurra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Rang from Australia Spoke to Peter, the owner, great to talk to someone who fully understood what we were looking for in our holiday, stayed for 9 nights just wish it could have been longer, Close enough to the biz if you want it but far enought away to relax without worry. Hotel brilliant, Food brilliant, staff couldnt do enought to ensure everything was in order. Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel has restored our faith in Bali Holidays we will be back as often as possible. We made a purchase in Bali and had problems when we got back to Australia, I rang Peter to ask if he knew the phone number to contact the shop, they went out of their way to locate the shop and send us all the details to contact them. that is definately what you call after stay service. Thank you Peter and all your staff

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

After reading other reviews , I took my wife to Jimbaran Cliffs for a week to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! I took the Luxury package (at minimal extra charge) which includes Breakfast and unlimited Driver access. (recommended).
It was perfect! Putu (Operations Manger) and his staff just take care of everything with a smile and nothing is too much trouble for the staff and drivers. Just tell them where you want to go and when you want to come back.
Peter (owner) and Putu recommended and organised a surprise (for my wife anyway) Anniversary dinner in our Villa complete with a flower filled private pool ,candles and waiter for the night! Very special! Its Bali relax enjoy!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CozfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
4.0 mi away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
2.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
#15 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alindra Villa
Alindra Villa
#16 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
Abi Bali Resort & Villa
#22 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.1 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa

Property: Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Gedong Sari no. 888, Mumbul, Jimbaran 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel and Spa is a centrally located very private hotel. Ideal place to relax and enjoy the privacy of your own courtyard complete with infinity pool and curtained sun bed over the pool. Ask about our new luxury plus package.Enjoy the peace and tranquility of being surrounded by Balinese farmland with spectacular sunset views across the Bukit valley and Jimbaran Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel Jimbaran
Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel And Spa
Jimbaran Cliffs Private Hotel & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing