We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganesha Cafe

Ganesha Cafe
Ranked #178 of 246 Restaurants in Jimbaran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Phone: Email:
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am really surprised that this restaurant has quite alot of negative reviews as i really enjoyed my visit here. I came here for a sunset meal and arrived at about 5pm which i suggest you do as it gets busy quite quickly from this point onwards.
The sunset and Jimbaran is a beautiful setting for you to enjoy your dinner and would definitely recommend you do this if you in Bali.
Quite a few people have complained about the prices but i think seafood general cost that bit more and it is really fresh, and i would think if I was to have the same meal back home it would cost so much more.
The food we ordered was really tasty, we ordered the tiger prawns, crab and a red snapper, all grilled with the Balinese sauce which had a good kick to it if you like spicy food.
The tables looked like they needed abit of work, there was alot of wear and tear, maybe table cloths like the other restaurants would help.
Would visit again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joojoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    160
    173
    79
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

On reading some of the negative reviews I was wondering if I went to the same place. I found our bill and it is the correct place. We went as a party of 12, booked in advance, on 22 May 2014 for sunset meal. The beach was clean, wait staff were attentive and most helpful in explaining the menu and ordering suggestions. We purchased grilled mud crab and squid. Also tasted other plates from our party. Nobody had a complaint regarding the food, service or price. I personally wasn't keen on the deep fried portion of squid but that is a personal taste. All had more than enough food and were very pleased with the evening.
The bill for the squid, crab and 3 drinks was only 552,000 IDR (approx. AUD $55) including the tax! Would certainly visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive with average seafood and terrible drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

In fact, me and my friends planned to go to the Lia Cafe, which had better reviews! However, our driver dropped us off at Ganesha Cafe, so we just gave it a shot!
We went there at around 5:30pm, the sunset view was spectacular! Jimbaran Beach is a nice place to have dinner to enjoy the beach and the view. I suggest you to go there at around 5pm , since you would have more time to take photos of the beautiful view.
In terms of food quality, the grill pawns and garlic mussels were delicious, other than that, the deep frying squids were horrible. It was dry, hard to chew and no favor at all, while the baked oysters were so small and I could not taste a thing (and there were many sands in the oysters) !!The snapper was okay, nothing special about it....
And the quality of the drinks......horrible. Zombie was fine, but other than that, long island ice tea, blue Hawaii (looks green?!), gin tonic and young coconut were disaster! and the drinks were expensive !!!
However, I would still recommend you to try seafood once in Jimbaran....it felt nice when you sit on the beach and chat with your friends with the sound from the ocean and the nice sunset.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belleparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything is bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd trip to bali and jimbaran. Cant remember the name of the restaurant that we first came so the taxi driver recommended us to this place instead. At the moment we step in, the customer service was terrible. The guy who took our order was not approachable nor friendly. The way he treat us was as tho we are poor scums having dinner there. Right after he took our drinks order, he just told us to go 'OVER THERE' pointing to the restaurant, to weigh our seafood choice and left us at our table. The best thing was, when we came back there were some other customers seated there. All they say was OH SORRY and swap us to another table. There's 15% tax and svc charge but the svc was 0%! We even waited for our meal for almost 1 hr. None of the staffs even came to check on us, if our meals have been served. They just walk blindly and have their own choice of tourist they will talk to. And not to forget, the prices was really expensive for two. About 700,000 idr total for 700+g fish, 800+g prawns & 600+g of squids. Thats totally terrible! Im never coming there anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Zoolaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
1 review
“Very nice, Extremely expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

was taken by our very nice driver from our hotel to the best seafood in bali, beautiful setup on the beach but could have used more lighting. 1,280,000 rp for a crayfish which equates to about $128 AUD which is the most expensive crayfish I've ever heard of, also got a fish and 6 king prawns bill came to a total of 2,500,000rp!!!! almost $250 AUD after taking my girlfriend out to a lot of really nice restaurants in bali we can usual have a very nice meal for no more than 500,000rp $50 AUD. would definitely try one of the surrounding places next time. also service was worse than all of the cheaper places we have tried. good food but the price put a dampener on a lovely evening

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesha Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ganesha Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing